Skip to content

Microsoft E3 2017 Press Conference

June 11, 2017
by

There has already been enough news filling up the previous thread that we are justified in starting a fresh one.

Mixer E3 Expo Page Hit the jump for the schedule of all the conferences.


22 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2017 5:44 pm

    Well, I want to hear the details of the “Xbox Exclusive” for PUBG, but that is one of the biggest things that they needed to do for this E3. Very, very excited about that announcement. And I will be able to play it even without an One X.

    • June 11, 2017 7:28 pm

      ^^ The end says “Xbox One Exclusive” not timed or anything.

      ^^Looks insane.

      ^^ Persistant online (dayz style) coop

      Good of most Here:

      http://www.icxm.net/x/microsoft-e3-press-conference-june-11-2017-icxm.html

      Biggest (to me) tidbits:

      -Xbox One X
      -Console is smaller than the Xbox One Slim.
      -$499 is the price.
      -Nov 7 Release Date
      -Original Xbox games coming to backwards compatibility.
      -Not seeing pre-order options in place yet.

      -My thoughts:

      Microsoft brought a lot of exclusive games, which is what they had to do (there was no other option). Some smaller, but there were a lot of notable titles. I think every game announced was Xbox One/Win 10. Xbox One X is very sleek (small!) and the games look as good as expected. $499 was the absolute cap that they could charge for the console. I think this confirms that their strategy is NOT to get a XOX in every single home, but rather attract developers to build the portfolio for the whole ecosystem. No idea what to expect at PC Gaming Show, but I doubt anything very significant. Probably Player Unknown demoing the Windows 10 build of BG.

      I am thinking we will see a price drop on PS4 Pro during their conference. We will also see a HUGE 3rd party presence, which will likely provide a hard to beat line up of games (which are also coming to xbox as well). Nothing that can be done for that in the foreseeable future. Their first party will be strong as always too, but Xbox narrowed the gap significantly.

      Random Thoughts:

      -Crackdown is apparently on the floor and playable. Almost no emphasis on it, I expect it to not be in great shape at launch or big delay.
      -There was a large amount of demo time dedicated to Assassin’s Creed Origins and LOTR. Both could be fine games (esp LOTR), and they looked visually impressive, but they are games that appear on PS4 as well. Microsoft should have shifted their live demo time to other exclusive games IMO (see crackdown).
      – Black Desert is a big PC MMO. Should be very cool on Xbox.
      – I am going to buy it, but I don’t think the urgency will be there for a lot of people. Especially if Sony has a strong lineup, and games that look great in their own right (see their strong first party engines/teams).

    • June 11, 2017 8:14 pm

      Zos, thanks for the summary, links, and impressions. Agreed about everything. I don’t need a ton of games for my system, just the ones I want to play, and that is what MS has. That is good. If I were a Sony fan, my heart would be dashed against the rocks right now.

      Here is the Xbox YouTube Channel for quick jumping to the video you want to see.

      https://www.youtube.com/user/xbox/videos

    • June 11, 2017 9:01 pm

      Did you see the Anthem gameplay?

    • June 11, 2017 11:15 pm

      I just watched it now, at your urging. Wow! It is incredible, and the idea of having people put on the suits, so that they can choose what “class” they will play is great! I look forward to learning more.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      June 12, 2017 12:23 pm

      Was just about to finally buy this on PC. Glad I didn’t pull the trigger, now. Will wait for release on Xbone.

  2. June 11, 2017 11:46 pm

    Cool:

  3. June 12, 2017 1:00 am

    http://www.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-one-x

    This is the best looking console I have ever seen. I’m trying to find the pic I saw with Major Nelson holding it. With one hand. It’s tiny.

  4. Blankman permalink*
    June 12, 2017 1:02 am

    I agree with Zos that MS wasted precious time with Shadow of War 2 & Assassin’s Creed:Origins although that was probably worked into the marketing rights contracts that Zos suggested during party chat.

    MS didn’t even need to hand over any marketing rights dollars to EA for Anthem because Sony already has Activision/Bungie’s Destiny 2, but you know they did anyway. LOL Anthem looks jaw dropping gorgeous, but I need to contain my hype for it until we know more. It’s definitely EA’s response to Activision’s Destiny franchise. Even though Bioware pooched Mass Effect:Andromeda, I think that it was mostly due to EA’s meddling & its longtime producer, Casey Hudson, leaving. Regardless, Bioware still has a lot of talented people to make Anthem into something special. Exosuits, monsters, protecting humanity, RPG elements, & open world are right up my alley. Again, I must maintain my enthusiasm for the game. 🀣

    Crackdown 3 missed the mark by not showing an actual demo. I think that it maybe in trouble. Sea of Thieves… You all know my disdain for pirates. Just stop talking about the damn game already & just release it is the consensus that both rED & I share. State of Decay 2 looked better than I thought it would. I’m neither here or there with the game. Metro:Exodus looked great as well & I really dug the previous two games. I don’t know if I’m up for diving back into that destroyed world again. Been there, done that.πŸ€”

    After watching Bethesda’s briefing, Wolfenstein II looks pretty darn good. Missed opportunity for MS not to grab IO-I & the Hitman IP. If Sony locks that up, it’ll be a true loss for me because I’m a huge Hitman fan. In a nutshell, I’m interested in PUBG, Cuphead, & Anthem. That’s pretty much it so far.

    • June 12, 2017 7:24 am

      I haven’t played any Metro so it was new to me, at least as new as it could be having already played Gears 4. I have moved it down my list a bit. If you aren’t even interested, I certainly have no need to look at it further.

      On the other hand, Deep Rock Galactic looks pretty cool to me no matter what anyone else thinks. I am a sucker for the settings/art styles of Astroneer/Subnautica type games.

      As for Anthem, Bioware did an incredible job with Mass Effect MP. If the art design for that game, (almost similar to Destiny, and Marathon – long and lanky) hadn’t been in the circle of styles I abhor, I almost certainly would have played it more. I will be watching Anthem very closely.

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 12, 2017 9:45 am

      Don’t misunderstand me about Metro:Exodus, Suns. The franchise is amazing, and the redux versions were both a steal & great experience. Right now, my desire is for co-op play. Hence, games like PUBG & Anthem are high on my list. Wolfenstein II & Metro:Exodus are still on my list, but they take a backseat because of the single-player aspect; for now.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      June 12, 2017 11:42 am

      Hopefully Anthem has that addicting factor to it that The Division had. We put plenty of days into that game. Need another game like that very soon, and hopefully this is that game.

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 12, 2017 1:22 pm

      The Dead Space exo-suits look really appeals to this geek. The RPG customization coupled with the co-op based exploration just add fuel to the fire. I’m hoping this is Bioware of old & not the one that spit out ME:Andromeda.

    • June 12, 2017 6:54 pm

      Woah, Anthem is Fall 2018. That is a long way off.

      Yes, the Mech suits are beautifully woven into the narrative, as I think the players will be able to choose which one they use on a given mission. Kind of like Titanfall, but with the story in between the action. Love the art.

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 12, 2017 7:16 pm

      You just realized that, Suns? Let’s hope that Anthem doesn’t get delayed. After all, ME:Andromeda suffered from multiple delays & look how that game turned out. 😬

  5. June 12, 2017 2:17 am

    Seems conclusive? Plus, Mike really likes the game lol

    • Herandar permalink
      June 12, 2017 12:15 pm

      That looks like a SpeedRunners shirt. On that note, SpeedRunners might be the best non-old AAA title yet offered by the GWG program. Strongly recommend everyone give it a couple of hours to get past the learning curve.

    • June 12, 2017 3:51 pm

      I’ve heard! Will check it out!

  6. Herandar permalink
    June 12, 2017 7:46 am

    Feel free to complete this haiku:

    Hype ruins things

    • Herandar permalink
      June 12, 2017 7:47 am

      Second line:

      I’m older but not wiser

    • June 12, 2017 4:40 pm

      Caught in snare again.

      or

      The cake is a lie

      or

      Nothing left but tears

      or

      Do it to myself

      or

      Fault is all my own.

      or

      Rage against machine

      or

      Could’ve, shouldn’t have.

      or

      Prices go down, wait!

      And thanks for the heads-up on Speed Runner, have it downloaded.

  7. June 15, 2017 11:42 pm

Leave a Reply

