Skip to content

The OT: How MS Wins E3 (and future market share)

May 31, 2017
by

We have been discussing for weeks now, how Microsoft needs games.  They need to secure exclusives, or at least timed exclusive content.  We have been scratching our heads, hoping against all current information and logic that Microsoft is suddenly going to pull these amazing games out of their butts and make the Xbox popular again.  New hardware doesn’t cut it, no matter how awesome it is.  Undoubtedly, the Scorpio is gorgeous even at a $500 “premium” price tag.  Still, if you are trying to play your favorite game and are stuck waiting for lobbies to fill, which never will, who wants it?  Not me.

So, yesterday, in my restless, not-feeling-well delirium, depressed that we still don’t have access to the (very) Early Access Battlegrounds, aka PUBG, I found my eyes wandering and I started searching for graphics cards.  After an hour or so of checking specs, prices, and my existing equipment, before I went the extra step to see whether or not controllers are even supported yet, I realized, nah, I don’t want to go down that road.

Then, this morning, I watched the trailer for Survive The Nights.  Admittedly, it looks a little too hardcore for me, but still it had me wishing I had access to the PC library.  And it dawned on me.  That is how Microsoft wins the “console” war and E3.  They make the Scorpio play any game that would play on Windows 10.  In other words, as I have mentioned before, allow us to toggle between the Xbox closed garden, and the Window 10 world.  That is all they have to do.  Us gamers will figure out the details.  We don’t need any more costly and risky exclusives.  No more looking over the fence at the hot babe tanning on her porch, or the awesome Porsche in the front driveway.  No more BBQs where a ton of food has to be thrown out because no one showed up.  24/7 games, at prices that the free market determines, communities that last for years, not weeks, and some of the best features and support that only Xbox provides.

I am not even saying that Microsoft has to make Steam, Origin, UPlay et al work on their machine.  Just the Windows 10 store and then court the developers to put their games there just as they do in those other “stores”.

That is how they have everyone in the room cheering their praises.  That is how they get millions of people to buy their system.

 

EDIT:  This post has received no recognition, either positive or negative, and I suspect that is because everyone assumes Microsoft won’t do it.  Not an unreasonable assumption.

So, I have been thinking more about this, and I realized, if MS is genuine about their “Done with generations” stuff and truly moving towards hardware refreshes a la Apple’s iPhone model, then allow me to highlight this opportunity.  Why not sell yet a third SKU that has two HDs, one with Xbox OS and one with Windows 10?  The price could be higher than that of the Scorpio to cover costs.  The power button takes the gamer to the bootstrap and allows them to choose which HD (OS) for that session, the other drive then being left “off”.  This would prevent any “virus” transference from the Win 10 drive to the Xbox closed garden.  And it would allow the customer to use the power of the Scorpio for both PC and Xbox gaming.  For 750, which would more than cover the extra drive and also gain MS another license for Win10 sale.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2017 8:48 pm

    Shit’s gettin’ comical.

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 1, 2017 12:53 am

      I want to ask F13’s dev, Illfonic, “Are you morons trying to kill your game?!?” 🤔

    • June 1, 2017 1:42 am

      All this time I thought that Adam Sessler was a big part of that team. I looked it up and realized that if he was, it was only on as a consultant. Yeah, missteps. Massive missteps. There were many things they could have done, including not rushing it, or shipping it in the Game Preview/Early Access programs, etc.

  2. June 1, 2017 1:57 am

    heads up from the latest PA comic/blog

    Hulu has almost the entire HBO library available and there is a mounting library of content I haven’t seen yet (and of course, I ton I would enjoy watching again). I am inching closer to discontinuing Netflix for a time, and switching to a Hulu subscription until I have picked its bones clean, and can move back to Netflix. (The only thing stopping me from doing it yesterday, is S3E8 of Better Call Saul. Darn tootin’ you better call Saul, ‘s’all good, man.).

  3. June 1, 2017 5:23 pm

    Afternoon! Link Dump!



  4. June 2, 2017 11:08 am

    Haven’t had time to post thoughts, so may have to wait for party chat lol. Summary, I believe your thought is in-line with Microsoft’s vision.

    Just recently they have provided (there are others):

    — Xbox native OS integration in windows.
    — Xbox One works has a full dev kit (allowing app development in addition to games. Full scale windows desktop apps can run on Xbox, and the tools even give the developer automatic ideas of how the build would look on the scale of the Xbox).
    — Universal App Development.
    — Tools to automatically convert legacy software to run on the windows store and new PCs (and by extension Xbox).

    The biggest jump would be allowing users to use a keyboard and mouse and essentially boot windows. This is likely going to be a more difficult sell, because beyond enthusiasts I don’t see the wide market for it (yet). Without this however, there will also be the requirement of game pad support. BUT this is something almost every major PC release these days has.

    Microsoft has already done a lot to blur the lines between Xbox/PC. Mostly however, this has been at the benefit of the Windows PC experience. I am not expecting huge news about this at E3 (there will probably be some new bullet points to be added), but the groundwork is there. Obviously, from a technical perspective pulling this off would be very difficult. However, the same could be said for backwards compatibility, which was a surprise announcement.

    • June 2, 2017 5:13 pm

      Thanks, Zos. Will be on early in the evening, and then away later in the evening. Hope we can connect.

      In the meantime, it is just such a waste having these awesome, graphics capable machines limited to only what people bring to the Xbox. If I could use “1 graphics card” for two eco systems, it would be so much cheaper. That is ultimately what it is boiling down to. Again, the only reason I even want access to the PC games, is because of the long-lasting, robust communities. That is even more important than the awesome library.

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 2, 2017 7:52 pm

      I’ve been completely swamped because the school year is drawing to an end. Too many to simply jot down. Like Zos, I will share my thoughts in party chat.

Leave a Reply

