Skip to content

The OT: Friday the 13th Weekend

May 24, 2017
by

rED is guaranteeing that The Blankman is going to play this more than anyone else. I will guarantee that watching The Blankman BEAM his game while he plays with randoms, who are by definition, unpredictable and stupid, may well be one of the greatest entertainment events of the year. It will be an actual horror event beyond the imaginations of John Carpenter and Sean Cunningham. There will be no acting involved. Be warned, however, to turn the volume down. In fact, feel free to turn it right off because no matter where you are, you will be able to hear him playing. You won’t even need to open your windows.

(The videos I have embedded here are some of the more informative and recent videos. The first step to surviving is “Know your enemy!”)

44 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2017 7:17 am

  2. RoBBins permalink*
    May 24, 2017 12:39 pm

    “Be warned, however, to turn the volume down. In fact, feel free to turn it right off because no matter where you are, you will be able to hear him playing.”

    LMAO. I imagined Blank screaming and yelling at the randoms for being such dumbasses, and got quite a good laugh out of it. Thank you for that, Suns.

    • May 25, 2017 5:24 am

      Well, let’s put it this way, and I am only half joking here, if Kenny and I are rushing to get into the car, and I have the keys and I drop them on accident, I’m leaving them there and running straight into the arms of Jason. His mask and machete isn’t nearly as scary as Kenny’s wrath! Take me quick, Jason!

  3. May 25, 2017 2:29 pm

    Big Beam Announcement… well, I guess “MIXER” announcement.

    http://www.ign.com/articles/2017/05/25/microsoft-streaming-service-renamed-new-features-added

    BEAM was the perfect name =/

    Big new features (there are others):

    — Co-Streaming
    — the mobile Create app for mobile broadcasting
    — the addition of Channel One
    — a new page on the Xbox dashboard
    — 4K Streaming
    — Deeper game interaction (players change game weather, spawn enemies as examples given).

    At least they didn’t drop this during E3. It’s going to take a while to get use to Mixer though. “Hey guys, I am going to start my mixer in a second”. I think they should have created a larger “Mixer” entity, and had BEAM be a service provided by Mixer… IDK. Just seems like a stupid name change IMO. Also, the LOGO and branding is awful. Seems like Microsoft bought a good service and changed it just for the sake of killing off any remaining independence of the original company.

    I’m still going to call it BEAM.

    • May 25, 2017 3:08 pm

      First, I agree 100%. Completely. I was saying the exact same thing: “I’m still calling it BEAM.” In fact, I loved writing the name even when talking about it. I love using it as a verb, “I’m Beaming”. Even the font/logo was great.

      “Mixer” should have been the name for a group of services within the BEAM brand.

      They specifically made it sound like Tumblr or Grinder, as if it is some hook-up service. So, really, as I say my thoughts out loud, I realize that they are doing exactly what they wanted and it is serving the exact purpose they have for the tech. It just isn’t what I want from it.

      It reminds me of all I have ever hated about “Kinect”.

      On a related note, even after Peter Moore moved to EA, and now to some soccer team, I still respect and love the guy. Phil Spencer continues to disappoint after a brilliant take over from Mattrick. If he doesn’t lay a golden egg (and I am open to what that could be) at E3, he becomes a one hit wonder. (I will say the triage of discontinuing the Kinect took balls and great will, but what has he done for Xbox lately?)

      “Mixer” as if I am going to wave my butt in the air and offer a drink on my back.

    • May 25, 2017 3:17 pm

      And what about mention of editing tools, for post stream files?

      The worst, is that nobody is asking who can afford to pay providers for 4K streaming up or down. It is a service that only a fraction of the top 1 percent of the heaviest viewers can afford.

    • May 25, 2017 5:27 pm

      At very least, the co-streaming and mobile app tech is cool. The technology is still interesting and they may indeed continue to improve the service. It is just an odd marketing decision is all.

  4. May 25, 2017 5:28 pm

    Also, to keep us happy until PUBG:

    http://www.gameinformer.com/b/news/archive/2017/05/25/the-culling-comes-to-xbox-one-game-preview-june-2.aspx?utm_content=buffer9840f&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

    It’s another battle royale game in early access NEXT WEEK

    EDIT: Looks kinda poo-ish. May be worth a trial run to see it has any value. Only 16 players per game sooo…. pretty much free for all deathmatch?

    • May 25, 2017 6:19 pm

      Zos, it was The Culling news followed by the Mixer that set me off. The Preview Program is great, and perhaps one of the best decisions/paths that Microsoft has made in the past 2 years. However, when even their executives can’t keep their hands off a game (i.e., Battlegrounds), why are they pimping lesser content.

    • May 25, 2017 6:39 pm

      OK, this co-stream is actually pretty dope:

      https://mixer.com/MAGNETRON

      About “The Culling” , they should pimp anything they can get their hand on. They need to create an open platform like Steam. They can’t all be good games, but they need any developer interaction they can get. Also, even crappy looking stuff can grow into big successful stuff historically on PC.

      If smaller Indy devs see M$ representing the little guys, that will get more people in that direction. We just have to be smart consumers, and the new return policy also protects us. I bet that decision was partially in anticipation for more indie titles.

      They are literally using UPBG as the demo for this new streaming tech right now. It is coming to Xbox, they are probably just saving the big announcement for E3. I still don’t think it will be Xbox console exclusive though.

    • May 25, 2017 6:40 pm

      Especially with saving streams, this multi-perspective stream is super cool.

    • May 25, 2017 10:08 pm

      Zos, yes, I agree again. Be grateful for every XboxID game, every little piece of gaming code that comes our way, and hope that they have a cool BG related announcement at E3. As for multiple streams, I have tried to watch even just two basketball games at the same time, and I wasn’t able to enjoy either, at all. I guess it might be a brain training type thing, but as yet, I am not ready for it. Watching a squad play the same game from on four different streams should actually be very cool. I am concerned about bandwidth and quality, however. Either it is streamed in 4K so they all retain high fidelity (in which case, even I may have to upgrade my service), or it is four streams at 480p, in which case I cannot imagine them being pretty enough to enjoy. Even watching you BEAM your game, I felt like I wasn’t seeing nearly as pretty an image as you were.

      I look forward to watching for myself. I see this MagnetRon guy has already shut down his stream. I couldn’t find any saved streams yet. Also, seeing the 5.99 at the top is scary. I hope this doesn’t immediately become a “premium” service. These gamers got to reach NBA type status/quality before I will dish out money to watch any of them. I literally couldn’t stand to watch more than a minute or two of Mr. Pewdiepie, for example.

      EDIT: DOH! His saved streams just loaded. Checking them out now. Nope-couldn’t watch a Mix with multiple streams.

    • May 25, 2017 10:24 pm

      When loading 4 streams on a 1080p Screen, 480P is about the max (Standard) resolution you can support anywhere just due to the amount of pixels you have to spread. Regardless of resolution, there is always compression to get the services to work. Same thing with HD or UHD Netflix compared to digital download or optical disc. I think Beam doesn’t stream by default at max quality. Both as a broadcaster and as a receiver, we will have to play around. But it will be a long while until a broadcaster game play looks the same as in front of monitor.

      Regarding the 5.99, that is the normal subscription service. That was on mag’s stream before the switch to the new service.

      PS: Will be BEAMING soon 🙂

    • May 25, 2017 10:41 pm

      I found a 3 Beam Mix but at work here, only one of the streams was smooth. The other two were were like powerpoint slide shows. This will all be polished I am sure. And definitely being able to see several player perspectives of the same match is cool. Watching 4 completely different games would be hard on the brain (for me, at least).

      Will be looking for your BEAM.

      Gotcha!

  5. May 25, 2017 10:48 pm

    Kenny slayed me with his “We’re just mixin’ it up.” LMAO! With Mixers like that, I would imagine it won’t take long for people to fully jump in.

    Hey, I am looking forward to testing this Mixer stuff up with some friendly F13 Beams. Being able to watch rED, Blank, and Zos together should be great! It has been a while since I have been so “ready” to go home from work. Can’t wait.

    • Blankman permalink*
      May 25, 2017 11:13 pm

      LOL, Zos suggested that I write that in the chat when you were watching his Beam. 😂

  6. RoBBins permalink*
    May 26, 2017 11:51 am

    Downloading F13 as I type this! I couldn’t resist after watching countless hours of it on Twitch the last 2 days. Apparently either Microsoft f’ed up, or Gun Media did, and the game isn’t up on the store for everyone just yet, but certain regions already have it.

    For those of you who are getting it but dont see it in the store, search up my GT (unless you have me added) ‘RoBBins0096’ –> See full profile –> Achievements –> Friday the 13th –> Scroll all the way to ‘Info’ in the top left of screen –> Click ‘See in store’ –> Purchase and play!

    • May 26, 2017 12:31 pm

      Awesome, thanks Robbins, we should be on tonight

  7. RoBBins permalink*
    May 26, 2017 12:37 pm

    @zosofan Also, I’m an idiot. If you go to the Friday the 13th twitter and scroll down a few tweets, they have an actual link straight to the store for the game.

    I’ll most likely be on later tonight (11pm-ish EST). Hopefully I can jump into some games with you guys. It’s been a while! Didn’t have any time right now to play so I just checked out the customization stuff. Can’t wait to unlock all the Jason skins!

    • RoBBins permalink*
      May 26, 2017 3:02 pm

      PS: Their servers are being annihilated by tons of people trying to join matches at once, and they’ve been down for a couple hours now. Hopefully it gets resolved by tonight!

  8. May 26, 2017 4:23 pm

    FYI: If you are level 10 or higher on Mixer, you get a free subscription to a channel (normally 5.99 a month). I believe the channel you support does actually get paid (vs you just getting the content for free) so we should test out on each other’s accounts! LOL

    EDIT: NVM, requirements here to become a partner (needed for subs similar to twitch)

    https://watchbeam.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/210159253-How-do-I-become-a-partner-Partnership-Requirements-

    I’m LVL 39

    • May 26, 2017 6:00 pm

      I’m 26 and Cornie is 45. There are some goodies, though, even for level 10s. Gonna research.

  9. May 26, 2017 7:19 pm

    Looks like they are finally up and running. If it happens that they go down again, especially with a wtf? kind of unknown bug, I suggest that Zos stream BG and we enjoy that tonight. Eventually Gun Media/Crystal Lake or whatever the eff their name is, will figure it out. No point, however, in wasting a whole evening banging heads against the wall.

  10. May 27, 2017 7:07 am

  11. May 29, 2017 1:01 am

    Woke up wanting to search for Strats articles. Two things I realized yesterday, even if I do make it to the top 10 often, and I think I can, I will have a disproportionate number of not-1s. I will definitely have more trouble than most closing the deal. When push comes to shove, even when I get the jump on people, I will die first, often.

    But I don’t care. That push for #3, including the 10 minutes of camping, was F.U.N.. ….and I wasn’t even playing. LOL

    EDIT: OT I had several opportunities to watch the Far Cry trailer, but every time I go to look at it, I realize it is Ubisoft. And my interest simply evaporates.

    • May 29, 2017 5:28 am

      The mantling is going to be so sick

    • May 29, 2017 5:28 am

      Sorry all, it’s 2:30 and I just woke up. Passed out on couch with a head ache

  12. rEDChief55 permalink*
    May 29, 2017 6:48 pm

    F13th database errors and Blank and being “done with this game” after trying the servers :

    • May 29, 2017 8:04 pm

      1000 Likes, but very much an understatement of The Blankman.

      “Fuck this game.”
      “That’s it, I’m done.”
      Literally booting it up again while he finishes his sentence.

      It was far more amusing than any footage I saw of Jason, except for the one where he took The Blankman’s head clean off.

      EDIT: Adding this for clarification.
      So much fun! Love you, Kenny! Never, ever change!

    • Blankman permalink*
      May 29, 2017 10:10 pm

      LOL I’ve already shared this with Zos & rED, but Suns needs to see this vid as well. LMAO

    • May 29, 2017 10:18 pm

      Bwahahahahaha! Thanks!! Reminds me of old favorite (which when I did a search, was completed by autofill).

  13. May 29, 2017 8:30 pm

    Watch to the end.

  14. May 29, 2017 8:32 pm

    And back to Mixer, aside from being broken so that one can’t even stream half of the time, they do have a great advertising campaign going on now. “If you didn’t stream it, it didn’t happen”.

  15. May 29, 2017 10:36 pm

    Here is the Battlegrounds squad play vid I was talking about on the weekend. Nothing particularly special, just solid play.

  16. May 29, 2017 11:43 pm

    Not only Dat Response, but Dat Transparency and Dat Turn around.

  17. May 30, 2017 11:02 am

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/11464/intel-announces-skylakex-bringing-18core-hcc-silicon-to-consumers-for-1999

    18-core (36 – hyperthreaded). The rest of the i9 chips are super sick too.

    Well, time to build a new PC. :p

    • RoBBins permalink*
      May 30, 2017 12:20 pm

      I now wish I had the money for a new build :p

    • May 30, 2017 4:24 pm

      I love that the impression it made on you was significant enough for you to embed a gif.

      In the specs comparison list, they basically have the numbers listed for the other chips and then for the i9s it is just TBD which means, “Rips Your Clothes Clean Off”.

      These new processors would be completely incompatible with my current ASUS H97 Pro motherboard, right? (Not that I am going to dish out 2000, that is TWO THOUSAND, dollars for a processor, but….)

  18. Herandar permalink
    May 31, 2017 10:38 am

    Can I fit one in the $400 HP laptop my mother-in-law bought before she died three years ago? Because that is my gaming rig. (It’s all of my computing rigs, natch.)

  19. Blankman permalink*
    June 2, 2017 7:44 pm

    Despite the terrible launch issues with F13 (update patch finally released today), here’s a decent article comparing F13 & DbD. Perhaps this will help make your decision, Suns. Again, no pressure to purchase either game. I just thought that you’d like a by the books comparison: http://www.gamerevolution.com/features/333469-one-week-friday-13th-game-already-better-dead-daylight

    I think that we’ll only be adopting one of these slasher/survival games- F13. The update has already made many improvements even though there are still issues. However, the amount of different ways to survive definitely outshadow DbD, and I’ve watched a ton of vids from both games. I think the game that will suffer the most when the player count eventually dwindles will be DbD because it only had a multiplayer mode while F13 has a single-player component coming in October.

    • June 3, 2017 8:29 am

      Thanks for the heads-up! Very interesting read and has taken any interest I had In DbD away. Will not even be giving the game a second look, now. (Whew, dodged a bullet – I didn’t even know about the extra cost for DLC!)

      I wrote a long post, but have deleted it. It isn’t necessary. Let me just say thanks for understanding and not putting on the pressure because I don’t want to buy F13 right now. Glad that, even as broken as it is, you are still getting a lot of pleasure out of it. : )

  20. Blankman permalink*
    June 19, 2017 4:07 pm

Leave a Reply

