Skip to content

The OT: The Son

May 5, 2017
by

Right around the time Johann was born, with the release of Rare’s Goldeneye, it became a hope of mine that I would be able to play full four-player split-screen just with my own progeny. That dream came true and then some, though I am in the waning years of that experience. So it is that now, every time I jump on, one of my favorite things to do is ask Zos how Ethan is. I’ve been there and it is an exciting time, raisin’ a young boy. There isn’t a detail I don’t find interesting and I am vicariously thoroughly enjoying this stage in Zos’ parenting. Learning this week that the Rocket League Racers will be released in June, I wonder to what extent Ethan’s collection of Hot Wheels will grow, including these familiar, yet alien machines for those universal and ageless orange tracks of speed, daring, and destruction.

Anyway, it is time to start a new thread, and this morning I came across a trailer on AMC’s new series called The Son. Anyone seen it? Art of the Title has interviewed the creators and written an article on the opening titles, which are truly a work of cinematic editing art. The trailer for the series is on YouTube, here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2017 5:04 am

    Dunkirk.
    But, I think I will skip that, and go for The Hunter’s Prayer instead. I have to say, the “protector” role is so much more interesting than the “avenger/revenge-r” role.

    And in Basketball, the Spurs/Rockets and Celtics/Wizards series are as great as the other two series are boring. In the first Warriors/Jazz game, Curry was looser than a fatman’s pants on a 5 year-old. It was frustrating to watch, even with the win. And apparently, the “Raptors” (who thought of that stupid name, anyway) are so soft, LeBron has taken to shooting with his left hand. Shit’s ridiculous.

    P.S. Pop is finally showing me the kind of coaching that must have gotten him his rep. Amazing. The Spurs wins in their current series is ALL thanks to him. His coaching is as good as Doc’s first game against the Jazz was bad. LOL!

    P.S.S. When did Mr. Snipes get out of jail? Love me some sci-fi. And speaking of which, there will be a bit of a splash here when the full Blade Runner 2049 trailer drops. It might not even be as good for the original as Prometheus was for Alien, but I don’t care. I want to see it badly.

  2. Herandar permalink
    May 8, 2017 1:57 pm

    “When did Mr. Snipes get out of jail?”

    Per Wikipedia, April 2, 2013 marked the end of his three year sentence.

  3. May 8, 2017 4:59 pm

    Thank you, Herandar, helping those too lazy to google (me!) LOL

    And, as promised,

    Hold your discussion, if you can. I am writing up a stand alone for this one. We have to dedicate a whole thread to it.

Leave a Reply

