Skip to content

The OT: CoD:WWII

April 26, 2017
by

I am Gandalf standing at the bridge of Khazad-dum, “Thou shalt not pass!”

AHHHHhhhhhhhhh!!!!

29 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2017 7:33 pm

    I’ll prob buy as long as they don’t screw it up totally.

    Also this: https://forzamotorsport.net/en-us/news/FH3_Hot_Wheels_Announce

    Been playing a lot of hot wheels with Ethan, so this is definitely on my list to get at some point.

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 26, 2017 9:12 pm

      Count me out. I absolutely cannot stand the CoD franchise. More power to you & rED if you guys pick it up. I’m very anxious for a fresh, new experience like the survival horror games that we recently mentioned. I just want all of us to experience something other than the usual kind of games that we’ve played. Heck, F13 is out next month (May 26) & DBD if the following month (June 20). We only need to get one of them.

  2. April 27, 2017 12:11 am

    Holy moly, squad mode in “PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds” is epic!

    • April 27, 2017 12:34 am

      Links or it didn’t happen.

      And that Forza announcement is very cool!

    • April 27, 2017 1:03 am

      Sorry, was watching giant bomb play squad mode on a 2 hr vid they have. Tons of epic moments just in their first public session. Lol I’ll link it in tmr, they have streaming issues (their site) for the first 30 min or so

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 27, 2017 1:11 am

      Since Phil has confirmed that keyboard & mouse will be supported on the Scorpio, it makes perfect sense to lock games like Battlegrounds up because of the Play Anywhere initiative. Sony can’t even offer the Win 10/Xbox crossplay ability. It’s so fast to convert from PC to the Xbox platform that it’s a no brainer.

  3. RoBBins permalink*
    April 27, 2017 10:56 am

    Boots-on-the-ground gameplay, WWII setting, return of Nazi Zombies. Already have it pre-ordered.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      April 27, 2017 12:32 pm

      Absolutely hated Advanced Warfare and Infinite Warfare, but I’ve always said since after Black Ops 2 that if/when they go back to traditional Call of Duty that i’d buy it regardless of the developer.

    • April 27, 2017 12:46 pm

      I feel you^^^, plus with the dead space team in control interested to see how they do the campaign + coop

  4. April 27, 2017 3:07 pm

    I have never played the Nazi Zombies modes in any of the CoD games. Seeing as how this is actually set during the (brief) reign of the Nazis, I am curious to know how fun it might be. And RoBBins, if I could play those game like you do, I would be all over them as well. Who doesn’t enjoy getting a 15 kill streak, and then being given some death strike from above to finish the job?

    And Phil gave a new interview to the Guardian regarding the Scorpio and creating a subscription service for games (“Netflix of games”). Haven’t read it the articles yet, but should be interesting. DOH! There are two articles (more clicks!).

    https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2017/apr/27/project-scorpio-xbox-chief-microsoft-plans-console?CMP=share_btn_tw

    https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2017/apr/27/xbox-chief-netflix-video-games-episodes-subscription-downloads-phil-spencer

    And Bill Simmons just wrote about the greatness of Chris Paul.

    By the way, listening to Mr. Simmons talk with Sports Gambling Mogul Haralabos Voulgaris, I was released from my injury and luck dilemma. Voulgaris considers “Durability” a “Skill” (33:45). But of course! We are gamers, why didn’t I think of that sooner. It is like one of their Character Attributes! It isn’t “Unlucky” to get injured all the time, it is part of who a player is – like their ability to shoot 3s, or guard the paint. It isn’t unlucky that some players cannot play whatever well, that is who they are. So it is with injuries!


    (I queued it up to the spot. A great 3 minute listen. EDIT: Hilarious – the two of them are racking their brains trying to think of the NBA player who is always getting injured. Derrick Rose doesn’t even come to mind!!! THAT is how far gone he is! He doesn’t even come to mind! BWAhahahahaha! )

    Blake Griffin has apparently been injured 11 times! Also, apparently, Griffin himself wrote that he wants to be more careful to extend his career. That is the “new” Griffin that we have been seeing of late. Drop his ass like Mr. Glass. Don’t need him any more. I love my favorite players, but I will always put winning above being nice. If I am a firefighter, I don’t stop putting out a fire so that I can give the cat some milk.

    Jeanie Buss is kind of a personal hero to me now.

  5. April 28, 2017 4:03 am

    Hugely disappointed that the Grizzlies didn’t make it past the Spurs. The Warriors lost twice to Memphis and only won once. Came to appreciate Fiz and his team through the “Take That For Data” incident. They can sleep well tonight. They played their hearts out.

    Similarly, I would have liked to have seen the Bucks make it past Toronto.

    For the most part, things are progressing as predicted.

  6. April 28, 2017 10:54 am

    I didn’t expect this: http://www.ign.com/articles/2017/04/28/new-nintendo-2ds-xl-announced

    The switch has continued to sell very well, so it will be interesting to see how they differentiate the two platforms (beyond two screens and performance).

  7. April 28, 2017 6:44 pm

    Someone on Twitter is suggesting to Phil Spencer that he should get exclusivity to Battlegrounds.

    Seriously, if Phil isn’t working really hard on just that move, I lose some respect for him. The future for this game is at least as bright as the future of Rocket League, which initially appeals to far fewer gamers. Maybe Phil can’t make it happen, but if he isn’t do all he can to make it so, he has his head up his ass.

    I made a page for Battlegrounds.

  8. April 28, 2017 6:52 pm

    And if you haven’t yet “Follow”ed Gaming Memes, you really need to. One of the best Twitter feeds out there.

  9. April 28, 2017 8:14 pm

    Only in Conan: a post from the Conan Exiles Steam forum.

    Missed Connection

    I was the large breasted red head with long hair. You were the bald short skinny well hung darkly tanned fellow. We met at the exit of the Dregs. I had just exited. You startled me and I decapitated you. Though we barely met, I feel maybe there was more to be shared between us. Find me.

    http://steamcommunity.com/app/440900/discussions/8/1318836262655979994/

  10. April 29, 2017 4:33 am

    The Clippers have the best owner in the league, in any league.

  11. April 30, 2017 6:49 pm

    There were more highlights of Mr. Ballmer preceding today’s game.

    They lost. I watched a little, but had to go to work. When I got there, the suspense was killing me, so I checked. Looks like they went down pretty deep, pretty quick. Glad I didn’t watch the whole thing.

    This is LOLs Chris Paul…Pissed (off) Paul

    EDIT: I just keep adding to this post as I learn more about tonight’s BB.

    And with the Celtics tying a franchise record for most threes in a game, I am reminded of the exchange in The Wire:

    Dennis ‘Cutty’ Wise: The game done changed…
    Slim Charles: Game’s the same, just got more fierce.

    Did Isaiah not get the memo? Mouth guard, brutha!

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 30, 2017 11:14 pm

      Heartbreaking. Nuff said.

  12. May 2, 2017 6:40 am

    71 – 39 Houston over the Spurs, beginning minutes of the 3rd!! They are definitely not out for the series, but so much for “clown ball” Mr. Popovich.

    EDIT: Holy crap! The Spurs are just getting SCHOOLED!

    I have too much respect for the old style and for Pop’s titles, but dang. Feelin’ like a new generation, here. Could be that the tables turn next game if the 3s don’t drop.

    EDIT2: Looks like some of the Spurs are ready to go straight from the court, into a pair of Depends and a little nap. Maybe bring their walkers to the next game.

    EDIT3: People are gonna start feelin’ pretty foolish they voted Westbrook over Harden for the meaningless MVP.

  13. May 2, 2017 6:45 am

    I laughed so hard I woke Cornie downstairs. I can’t provide an adequate analogy. Unless you like video games, you cannot be expected to know that, but if you do like video games… . I am still laughing! The hat!

    • May 2, 2017 5:32 pm

      The writers have nothing to write for! Valve doesn’t make, nor have they been making games for years now. The writers undoubtedly have closets full of stories they want to tell, but no games to tie them to. Nobody writing code. Seriously, I used to think of working at Valve as a dream job, now it looks more like going to an awesome restaurant and all they will serve you is whipped cream. I love whipped cream, but when I see people have ribs and curly fries, I get kinda hungry for them, too. There is such a thing as too much holiday, too little structure. Pretty sure there was a Berenstain Bears book about that.

  14. May 2, 2017 5:36 pm

    Ughh! Waiting to pull the trigger perchance there is a Windows Anywhere version:

    If nothing announced at E3, I’ll pull the trigger on PC. Good will can’t go unnoticed (this is the largest single donation match in the history of the charity org)

    • May 2, 2017 5:51 pm

      For Charity, Zos. And then Beam the heck out of it. You know we will watch.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      May 3, 2017 10:53 am

      Almost bought it for PC last night. Possibly tonight.

    • May 4, 2017 7:08 pm

      Well, considering the Milton Bradley game “Battleship” got its own movie, the odds are pretty good. On the other hand, considering that Gears of War is an incredible universe for basing both movies and TV series in great abundance spanning many genres (survival horror, horror, action, sci-fi, character driven drama), nah, it won’t get made. Too much work.

      “You sunk my Battleship” just sort of writes itself. Easy as pie. No wonder Hollywood was all over it.

  15. May 5, 2017 5:30 am

Leave a Reply

