Skip to content

The OT: Steve Ballmer, Netflix

March 31, 2017
by

I came across a fantastic interview of Steve Ballmer on the Bill Simmons podcast (March 29, Episode 189 – iTunes/YouTube/SoundCloud). He talks about all aspects of owning an NBA team and it should be quite interesting to any sports fan. His voice is a little hard to listen to at first, but hang in there. What he has to say is compelling enough that you forget quickly about it.


I just finished viewing all available episodes of Peaky Blinders. Really well-written and performed, but Season 3 is definitely not feel good, pretty hard stuff. So many of the shows nowadays remind me of Zak Penn and Adam Leff’s Last Action Hero. How much pain and suffering can you possibly put a person through, even if he is just fictional?

Season 3 for Better Call Saul will begin airing on April 10th, coming to Netflix on the 11th (one episode per week, I believe). Netflix is so busy pimping lesser content that they have forgotten to let viewers know that it is fast approaching.

The other day we were talking about Dave Chappelle and if someone had just said he is the guy who goes on about “taking it to the next level” in You’ve Got Mail, I would have placed him immediately. Having never seen anything else that he has done, when his name was mentioned, Conan O’Brien, Jon Stewart, Jimmy Kimmel were the faces that were going through my head. His comedy act was bang on. I’ve heard all about Kevin Hart and recognize him instantly, but thought Mr. Chappelle was “white”. I’m not proud of the fact, but it does kind of prove the point he was making. I wouldn’t have recognized him if he sat at my dinner table. Ah, but if I closed my eyes, I might have placed his voice. His sage dating advice has been used over and over when discussing that topic with the boys. Also, his Netflix Special Episode 1 was very well-written, and he explained the Bill Cosby philanthropist/rapist dilemma in such a way that it must have been therapeutic to many.

I am also watching Billions, an episode at a time. It is compelling in a Dangerous Liaisons kind of way (i.e., satisfying the vices is virtuous).

As my better half (and I don’t type that casually) is literally on vacation, I have more time to watch these days. I will attempt to judge Iron Fist for myself. Not having read the comics and thus having zero expectations, I don’t mind that the show might be more drama than action. Hopefully, that drama is more cerebral than stupid. UPDATE: I am half way through the second episode. I had to rewind on numerous occasions because I have fallen asleep more times than I can count. If this were Daredevil, I would have watched the whole season already. The show desperately needed different sound/music, much, much tighter writing, and better directing/editing. Only 60 minutes into the series and they have shown his mother blown out the plane 3? 4? times already. Seriously? It is like they are trying to spread two hours of story over 13 episodes. Completely avoidable, utterly epic fail.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2017 11:57 am

    Regarding ME:A, this is just a single cutscene example of broke-ness

    A good portion of the second half is just loading infinity lol

  2. April 1, 2017 6:28 pm

    That sort of publishing should be punishable, somehow. Certainly, withholding day one dollars is a start.

    And this is just fun!

  3. RoBBins permalink*
    April 1, 2017 11:08 pm

    OT but @zosofan whats your Nintendo ID or whatever its called? Just got my Switch today.

    • April 3, 2017 9:16 pm

      I’m not sure! I’ll check tonight, avoiding the whole thing until Mario kart this month lol. The online component of Nintendo is per usual half baked.

  4. April 2, 2017 1:19 am

    • RoBBins permalink*
      April 3, 2017 10:49 am

      Got my Switch on Saturday. Haven’t had any time to play Zelda yet 😦

  5. April 3, 2017 9:10 pm

    https://www.penny-arcade.com/news/post/2017/04/03/botw-goty

    Not that I need to express anymore lol.

  6. April 4, 2017 2:41 am

    “I think it might just be the perfect video game.” Pretty high praise from a person whose life is video games, as is the over 100 hours from a guy who never plays more than about 10, on even the best video games.

    OT Iron Fist is Raspberry Award winning bad. B.A.D. bad. I will probably end up finishing the story (mostly just listening to it in the background while I get my school work/ curriculum planning finished). But it is truly cringe worthy in every way.

    For good news, apparently, Mass Effect Andromeda Multiplayer is even better than the Multiplayer for ME3. One of Cornie’s friends with whom he plays Destiny and Overwatch, was very near the top of the world leaderboards in ME3 MP (which is to say, he loved it and played it very skillfully), likes MEA MP even more.

    None of 3GN nor Cornie’s friends were or are interested in touching the campaign, so they dodged a bullet. Whew! I was seriously overflowing with regret that they bought the game (apparently, a birthday present from Johann to Tim), but they are happy they did. Tim is studying his butt off to finish his 1st year Apprenticeship tests by the middle of next week, so that he can have the remaining 8 days of Cornie’s time in Canada to hang out. I suspect they will be digging into MEA MP a little.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      April 4, 2017 10:56 am

      Tell Cornie if he’s getting Destiny 2, that we have to raid when it releases! Destiny Raids are some of the most fun I’ve had gaming in quite some time.

    • April 4, 2017 4:36 pm

      Gotcha, will do!

  7. April 4, 2017 5:11 pm

    Because Gears needs more stun.

    https://gearsofwar.com/en-us/community/april-weapon-tuning

    Edit: and, we haven’t played those Gears 2 and 3 maps enough.

    Edit 2: I was gonna say, I’m done with the series, but if they put OverRun in the next game, I will almost certainly find myself buying it. (though I have to expect that since it would be the “sequel” it would be all broken)

    • April 4, 2017 8:48 pm

      I can’t stop laughing!! More stun lmao

    • RoBBins permalink*
      April 5, 2017 10:55 am

      Not sure why stun times were increased for Vault kicks and Yanks, they were already permanent deaths already if you got caught off guard. Oh well, gonna have to check it out sometime soon!

  8. Herandar permalink
    April 4, 2017 7:33 pm

    So Kenai, Seth and I all managed to get into the SoT Alpha together on Saturday. NDA, but ’twas fun.

    Suns, if you have access to Canadian (or American) Netflix, you should be able to see the new MST3K on Netflix starting April 14. And Netflix added a selection of the original shows to watch now. But I’m sure it’s not coming to the Japanese market.

    • April 5, 2017 8:10 pm

      Glad you enjoyed it! At 3am, the testing hours for it are just ridiculous for me. I will be waiting until the testing time becomes a little more gamer friendly.

      Thanks for the heads-up on MST3K.

  9. April 4, 2017 8:51 pm

    https://mobile.twitter.com/digitalfoundry/status/849275627341574146

    Scorpio reveal on Thursday! Digital Foundry is doing the unveling, very bold (and possibly redeeming) move. Microsoft must be very confident with what they have. Sony has a good amount of time to plan a counter announcement at E3

    My thoughts:

    ** I bet purely spec overview, MAYBE some footage of old games if Microsoft has tweaked for scorpio.
    ** Maybe some Forza 7 footage, but I think saving for E3.
    ** No price announced. If specs are better than expected, expect higher than expected price tag.
    ** XB1/PS4/PS4_PRO/Scorpio comparisons.

    The fact that Microsoft is having DF handle this is very interesting (and unexpected from me). Having one of your biggest and most vocal critics handle your initial PR seems risky. Especially considering the damage DF did to Xbox in the first few years.

    Now to figure out how to pre-order the broken launch consoles… Oh, and some kind of 4K HDR10 screen. UGH

    • April 5, 2017 6:02 pm

      15 hours until reveal…

    • April 5, 2017 7:40 pm

      LOL! I am going to put up a new OT post just for it. We can add as info/vids become available. Great gifs!

  10. April 5, 2017 8:11 pm

    For Kenny:

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 5, 2017 10:20 pm

      I’ve been following that rumor (now confirmed news) for over a week now, Suns. 😂

    • April 6, 2017 2:08 am

      Yeah, I waited until it was confirmed before I brought it up here. Great news for the NFL. Kinda like Jordan coming back. Not nearly as impactful, but I love that Skittle-eating, closed-mouthed Beast. I am hopeful for Raiders fans. Maybe Sherman, too. Get them out from under the Superbowl losing-est coach.

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 6, 2017 2:21 am

      Seattle still retains the rights to Marshawn, & they probably won’t let him go for anything less than second or third round draft pick. It’s clear that Beast Mode doesn’t want to play with the Seahawks due to the slight that he received that caused them to lose the Super Bowl. Heck, he even “retired” for a season to prove it. Now Sherman has been confirmed by Seattle’s GM that he is up for any trade offers. Wow! That’s the fallout because of the preferential treatment of Russell Wilson as we already spoke about in party chat.

    • April 6, 2017 2:47 am

      Yep. I will never forget Deion Sanders the night of the loss. He was RAGING for as long as the would keep him on the screen. He went on and on. Talked about having this hungry beast in the back “and you don’t give him something to eat?!!”

      “Marshawn is the heart of your team. He’s the heart of the team. The heart of your team. You do not take the heart away from your team at the one yard line. You don’t do it.”

      Watch Sherman’s face!!! ROTFLMAO!!

      It is therapeutic just listening to Deion rant.

Trackbacks

  1. The OT: Scorpio | The Stranded

Leave a Reply

