Skip to content

The Weekly OT #44

March 9, 2017
by

33 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2017 8:05 pm

    And somebody gonna be on Shaqtin’ a Fool. Yes, Leonard stripped the same guy twice in back to back plays.

  2. March 10, 2017 3:46 pm

    For y’all who are going to be on, I think we should try some more GOW4 this weekend. New maps and the did a big gnasher patch.

    • March 10, 2017 11:49 pm

      If you look at the image below, you can see that since the bullets don’t even begin to exist until the end of the gun, one imagines that every time someone is right up close, our bullets don’t even start to fly until they are on the other side of the enemy body because of the length of the gun. I am curious to see if that is so. I state such an obvious problem, because nothing that Epic or The Coalition have done tells me that they have any common sense, or do any testing at all (Pigs Can Fly excepted, ironically). That kind of problem with their solution would be perfectly within the pattern of their work.

      http://news.xbox.com/2017/03/07/gears-4-march-update/

      As for Gears gaming, the beauty with y’all is that I know it won’t take more than 1 or 2 losses and people will be crying to quit the game. No one in our crew has any stomach for more than 10 or 15 minutes of shenanigans anymore. We play until it isn’t fun, and then people are bail, bail, bail! (Often, even before that if they want to go out of on high note.) It is a win-win!

    • RoBBins permalink*
      March 11, 2017 12:23 pm

      I’m all for testing out the new update for the Gnasher, and checking out the new maps as well. I havent even tried out War Machine or the other map that came with it, and now they released Diner as the new map and OLD TOWN! MOTHERFUCKING OLD TOWN! Anyways, if you guys are on tonight, shoot me an invite please. I’ve been wanting to dive back into Gears. I seem to be the only one that can somewhat tolerate it lately 😛

    • March 11, 2017 5:50 pm

      Hey RoBBins, will do. Zos, rED and I played last night for about 5 rounds of Dodgeball. With the help of some stellar randoms (seriously) we won every round. I’ve been saying this since the awful beta, but Dodgeball is the biggest and best innovation to the deathmatch gametype since deathmatch was invented. The only thing better than being the last man standing and taking out the whole enemy team, is doing that, but at the same time getting all your teammates respawned in the process. Brilliant “innovation”.

      Yesterday, I was the last on my team and got taken out, but the enemy went for the 15 second head pummel beat down. I don’t know how this worked, but in the meantime, my team comes back to life while the enemy are all pummeling and teabaggin my corpse. Then our randoms started teabagging their corpses, and the enemy made a comeback! It was frickin’ HILARIOUS! Saner minds ruled and Zos, rED and I put an end to it all winning the round and then the match. Dodgeball is fantastic and THE game type to play.

    • March 12, 2017 6:24 pm

      Unpinned and uninstalled. (Seriously, it is off my harddrive.)

      I will play GoW:UE anytime, but I am no longer gonna offer up my time to a company that delights in shaking the jar of bees and watching them fight.

      (Sorry, RoBBins, but the update was predictably horrible – AND we never saw the “new” maps once, not even in the voting lineup.)

    • March 12, 2017 7:08 pm

      I checked the official announcement and it states:

      “Both maps will be available today to Season Pass Holders in the Developer Playlist, complete with Double XP and 20% Bonus Credits. The maps will be added to the standard map rotation for all on March 14th.”

      http://news.xbox.com/2017/03/07/gears-4-march-update/

      So we aren’t entirely crazy.

    • Blankman permalink*
      March 12, 2017 9:27 pm

      Wait, you uninstalled Gears 4, Suns? If so, you & Cornie crack us up at your constant shell game at constantly deleting and reinstalling games due to the XB1’s HDD size. I guess when you have d/l speeds like you guys, it really doesn’t matter when it would take us hours to reinstall. That’s why the majority of us have external HDDs.

      I thought it was known that every time new maps are announced, the non-Season Pass holders don’t have access to them for two weeks. That’s how it’s always been since launch.

    • March 12, 2017 10:02 pm

      I am sure at one point, I knew that, but I had forgotten.

      One thing about uninstalling, as I have learned from others, is that if it ain’t on your drive, you don’t have to play. “Oh, you wanna play Gears? Sorry, it’s not installed. Next time.”

      Really, even last night, I could have kept playing, but you and rED both quit out because of lack of fun. So, why bother any more? As I wrote up above, the beauty of Gears is that it never lasts for more than a game or two, and then everyone can’t quit to dashboard fast enough. But if that is the case, why bother at all? Cornie hates the game. Absolutely hates it, and I have asked him to join us now several weekends in a row. For my sake, and cause he loves y’all he has played, but he doesn’t want to. So, last night I told him to just uninstall. I won’t ask him again. There are some stellar games out there, with developers that are intelligent and work to make their game better, not just different. He has those installed and ready to play at any time.

      In this patch, The Coalition utterly ruined the shotgun for close encounters, and now my aimed shots don’t even work any more. Why should we subject ourselves to the idiocy of a developer who can’t see the problems in their logic, or bother testing their own game more than 10 minutes to find out that a given patch won’t work? Really, it is the definition of insane. The highs are indeed high, but the lows are even lower.

    • Blankman permalink*
      March 12, 2017 10:11 pm

      You couldn’t be more accurate that Gears just brings forth the feeling that we couldn’t quit or dashboard fast enough. No other game has such highs and lows. The toxic sportsmanship of the Gears community is the worst that I’ve every experienced in ANY game that I’ve played. That alone just adds to the lack of enjoyment. It’s not just adding insult to injury; it’s to such a degree that it’s rage inducing. No need to ask Cornie to play simply because we want slayers to give us a fighting chance. No one should be forced to play, but I appreciate his sense of camaraderie to take it on the chin from time to time.
      It was nice hearing he & Johann enjoying TF2. If we didn’t have a plethora of games just sitting in our machines catching dust, Zos, rED, & me would have added yet another title to our consoles. The $24 deal was pretty sweet, but we said the same about Rainbow Six: Siege. Nuff said.

  3. March 12, 2017 10:15 pm

    @Kenny above: Yep. Understood and agreed. 🙂

    So, I have a funny story to tell, something that I have been wanting to write up for a while, but didn’t get around to doing.

    I am always trying to keep it real in my classroom, especially when it comes to communicating in English. I never ask the students to say stupid phrases like, “I am a boy.”. I am always introducing and getting them to practice expressions in situations in which they genuinely do not have the information. That way, they are curious to know, and learn, and when they are successful, they actually learned something using English (pedagogically, pretty basic stuff).

    Anyway, in one of my classes this past winter, we came across the question, “How old do you think I am?” Well, for them to ask each other, it is pretty uninteresting because their answers are almost all the same. So, I decided, against my better inner judgement to ask the students regarding my own age.

    So, after I asked one of the boys in my class, he took like 10 seconds, looking to his friends, completely perplexed, and then finally just blurted out “Ah, I don’t know, …70.”. (all his friends where like, “Holy shit, dude! Fuck!”)

    BWAhahahahahahahaha.

    In the moment, I just laughed it off and corrected him, and when I got home that night, I started laughing so hard in the shower/bath, I couldn’t stand up. I must have laughed for 10 minutes straight. The student may as well have said “a hundred”.

    I was laughing so hard, Chiiko and Cornie rushed to be bathroom to ask what I was laughing so hard about. I couldn’t even stop to tell them. They started started killing themselves laughing too, and didn’t even know why!

    Yesterday, my brother gave Chiiko the compliment saying that she looks “23”. So, I was joking with her that she is my 23 year old wife, and I am her 70 year old lover. Hahahahahaha!

    Take me out back and shoot me! LMAO!

    EDIT: And here is a treat for Zos.

    • Blankman permalink*
      March 13, 2017 1:04 am

      Hahaha! My students think that I’m 50-60! Then again they’re only eleven years old. I would have expected better from your older students. Sheesh. 😂

    • March 13, 2017 2:40 am

      Well, the student was one of the more soft spoken (and probably honest kids). He was genuinely looking like he didn’t know how to guess. His mistake was guessing high when he should have guessed low. Perhaps it will save him embarrassment in the future, when it really matters (especially if it is with the ladies).

      And I am bald in a land of poorly made but widely employed toupees, so that immediately sets me apart and unfortunately makes me look much older. (note: when I go with the 3 day beard, I have also been called Jason Statham, and with my glasses and a black turtle neck, Steve Jobs (several years before he was too slim). So, it evens out. 😉 )

      And for Zos:

  4. March 13, 2017 11:45 am

    OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG

    http://www.rocketleague.com/game-info/dropshot/

    New Mode, Cars, Crate, other content AND SEASON 4 BEGINS.

    The GOAT drops more free content and goodies for all.

    New mode:

  5. rEDChief55 permalink*
    March 13, 2017 12:22 pm

    We play Gears hoping we roll the dice correctly and it’s hard to top that game when it works and everyone is having fun. But like you guys said the lows are the lowest of any game by far.

    Shall we try Ultimate Edition? 🙂 and yeah I’m pumped for new RL mode. It’s not exactly volleyball, but the opponent’s ground is still the end-goal so it’s similar to an extent and is likely as close as we’ll get. Hopefully it “works” and isn’t like hockey mode

    • RoBBins permalink*
      March 13, 2017 12:48 pm

      I’m all for Ultimate Edition instead of 4. Someone post here when its game time 😀

      PS @esuns couldn’t get on for Gears 4 the other night, anyway, but sucks to hear it was a terrible time. Honestly, it’s not a surprise anymore these days… 😦

  6. March 13, 2017 6:39 pm

    Yes @ rED and RoBBins. UE for the play and often for the win. It is a known quantity. The only thing we have to worry about is the melee, but that can be avoided much of the time, and if we are rocking together, there are few that can beat us even with the melee. All the rest is basically Gears 1.5 (what we always wanted).

    About Rocket League, the dev just keeps on giving.

    rED, I was thinking the same thing, Volleyball, but with the lava/floor drop twist. Very interesting and something I never thought of. Looks like it is unlimited boost, which will be a wonderful way to double as a flying trainer. I love it when developers surprise, and I absolutely LOVE their revenue model. Free with choice for the win!

  7. March 14, 2017 6:46 pm

    UPDATE: Looks like Paladins is in closed beta right now. Can’t find any details.

    I know that this will score a meh with some, but since some games that we have paid for have us plugging our noses, why not give something that is free, a try.

    Apparently, Gigantic is also free, their model being if you don’t like the standard skins, you can pay to get ones you like. I wouldn’t even give it a second thought, if it weren’t for the PA boys lavishing praises on it a couple of weeks ago.

    The great thing about free, is that it doesn’t matter if it isn’t fun. In fact, because it didn’t cost anything, we often find our own fun in the game (something outside of what the developers intended (e.g., Ghost Wilderness TeaBaggin’ AI fun, etc. etc.)

    Anyway, it is a thought.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      March 15, 2017 10:50 am

      Paladins looks like a complete re-skin of Overwatch, but that necessarily isn’t a bad thing. Looks like it’s a lot of fun. Might have to check it out. My Xbone has been a paperweight lately. Too many good games on PS4 and PC right now.

  8. March 16, 2017 11:23 pm

    Sh!t’s ridiculous.

  9. March 17, 2017 8:02 am

    End of the old school year, and simultaneously the start of the new. Work on Sat and Sun. Won’t be on Sat. Maybe on late Sun. Hope everyone is safe and sound. Enjoy your weekends! ❤

  10. March 18, 2017 6:27 am

    Best team name in competitive gaming yet, “Double Whiff”.

  11. March 19, 2017 2:48 am

    Still at work. Get a flex day off next week in lieu. Got lots done today and it was low stress.

    And, speaking of which, I want one of these somethin’ fierce.

  12. March 20, 2017 6:17 am

    Woah, Iron Fist is getting hammered in the reviews. I just started Peaky Blinders before it was released, so it will be a while before I try it out, but now I am thinking it may be quite a while.

    http://www.metacritic.com/tv/marvels-iron-fist

    and for comparison purposes

    http://www.metacritic.com/tv/marvels-jessica-jones

    None of the Marvel Netflix series can claim to be perfect television shows. All have suffered from pacing issues from having to stretch their stories to fill the 13 episodes mandated by Netflix (The Defenders will only be eight episodes, which will hopefully keep everything at an exciting pace). Daredevil season 2, while making comic book team up dreams come true by introducing the Punisher (Jon Bernthal), drew fire for changing Elektra’s origin story and for the nonsensical plot involving the Hand. Jessica Jones‘ weakest points were some irritating supporting characters, and Luke Cage mistakenly traded the more compelling villains played by Mahershala Ali and Alfre Woodard for the cartoonish Diamondback played by Erik LaRay Harvey. Yet they all succeeded as superhero shows while exploring their different genres.

    The decision was made that Iron Fist must become the fourth member of The Defenders, therefore, he must have his own Netflix series, but that series makes a poor case for Iron Fist’s importance. In Danny Rand, Iron Fist delivers the least likeable protagonist and the least convincing superhero of the four Defenders. The series was charged with introducing the more mystical elements of kung fu and K’un-Lun to the Netflix side of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, but it did so haphazardly and almost reluctantly – never even showing the viewers K’un-lun. Iron Fist chose instead to spend much of its glacially-paced plot dealing with the corporate shenanigans of Rand Enterprises and the least interesting iteration of the Hand yet.

    While Iron Fist will have its share of defenders who are bound to enjoy the series regardless, it’s difficult to reach any other conclusion than Iron Fist is the worst of the Marvel-Netflix series so far. Iron Fist is the final Defender we are introduced to and, compared to his superhero future partners, he also seems to be the least of them.

    http://screenrant.com/iron-fist-worst-defender/

    • Blankman permalink*
      March 20, 2017 8:34 pm

      Yeah, Iron Fist is getting roasted. 😬 Even though there’s just six episodes released so far, I don’t think that I’ll waste my time. My time is precious right now & everything that I’ve read about Netflix’s latest Marvel collaboration has been severely lacking.

    • March 20, 2017 8:40 pm

      Are y’all going to be around this next weekend?

    • March 20, 2017 10:06 pm

      Understood, Kenny. Yeah, I am certainly not going to prioritize watching IF before all the other guaranteed entertaining stuff I have on queue.

      Zos, I hope to be on this coming weekend. Sat and Sun should be work free, and I may have a day or two before then to add to that. Doing my best to clear my schedule.

    • March 21, 2017 10:21 pm

      No prob brotha, I know we have all been busy! I should have some more time than usual this weekend! I’m thinking we dive into one of the free games or a older MP (ultimate edition etc). I’d even be down for more GOW4 until we all rage quit it.

  13. RoBBins permalink*
    March 23, 2017 10:49 am

    Played Gears 4 for the first time in 2-3 months last night. Dropped 50 kills in King of the Hill with 11 caps and 6 breaks…. and we lost. Playing solo is such a frustrating experience in this game. I ALWAYS get matched up with the worst teammates possible.

    Also, Locust finally being back in the game is a nice breath of fresh air. The Swarm suck.

    • March 23, 2017 10:54 am

      The Photoshop smudge “Swarm” is one of the worst art decisions ever made.

      No surprise about the domination, RoBBins! Good stuff! Sorry to hear you lost. That kind of bullsh!t happens to Cornie all the time. (Never to me….hahahhaha!)

    • RoBBins permalink*
      March 24, 2017 12:35 pm

      @esuns Gnasher felt A LOT more consistent to me. It was actually nice point blanking people and having it chunk them. As frustrating as it is playing solo, or in general, it’s still the most satisfying and fun MP for me. Nothing gets the adrenaline pumping like running into a hill and taking out multiple people on the opposing team. Love me some Gears MP ❤

  14. March 24, 2017 5:08 pm

    @robbins0096 I hear you about the highs! Good news about the Gnasher.

    Tell you what, if you have two more hour-plus sessions in a row that are positive, and if the rest of the crew can play more than 3 matches without quitting, I want to be back in on the fun. If that happens, I will re-download GoW4, and even play it by myself enough to get used to the new shottie. With the return of the old characters (especially the Locusts) and the rest of the mechanics being pretty solid, if the Gnasher works, and more people want to play, I’m in. (Unfortunately, like Battlefield 4, there is nothing you can do about the shitty maps, but what are you gonna do?)

    • RoBBins permalink*
      March 25, 2017 12:26 pm

      Sounds like a plan! I think the main problem with Gears 4 is playing Core compared to Social. If Social wasn’t randomized game modes for each map in the voting cycle, and gave us the option to choose what game-type we wanted to play beforehand in the main menu instead, it would be much better. This is the main reason I play ranked, and ranked only, because I can choose which mode I want to play. (TDM and KotH being the only 2. Primarily KotH)

      Playing against a try-hard team of 5 in Ranked is always rage inducing for us as well.

      Any time you get the itch to play Gears, just message me, Suns! That goes for anyone else as well! (or those of you who are still active on this site). I’m always looking to team up for some Gears MP, whether it’s just 2 of us or a whole squad. Lets dominate some n00bs, baby!

Leave a Reply

