Skip to content

The Weekly OT #34

January 9, 2017
by

This could be entertaining.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2017 12:00 am

    The ways in which Conan:Exiles is starting to differentiate itself from Ark:Survival Evolved is slowly emerging: altars/religion, Thrall (broken slaves), and visceral melee fighting.

    http://blog.conanexiles.com/en/dev-blog-5-brutal-combat-conan-exiles/

    • RoBBins permalink*
      January 11, 2017 11:02 am

      VERY excited for the early access to release for this game. Cant wait to try it out! If it’s as entertaining as it looks I’ll definitely be picking it up!

    • January 11, 2017 3:40 pm

      RoBBins, the code (animation/ai/cutting/tearing etc.) was VERY rough about a month ago. Funcom has a ton of work to do before it is presentable/playable without great frustration. They may be capable of doing it before Preview release, but it is gonna be tough.

  2. January 10, 2017 3:42 pm

  3. January 10, 2017 5:13 pm

    http://www.nodiatis.com/personality.htm

    This is kind of fun. πŸ™‚

  4. January 11, 2017 2:15 am

  5. January 11, 2017 3:44 pm

    • Blankman permalink*
      January 11, 2017 7:43 pm

      I see Ubisoft’s For Honor as a variation of Koei’s Dynasty Warriors. Seems cool to be either a samurai, Viking, or knight, but it’s all the same in the end- hack & slash. So meh imo.

  6. January 12, 2017 5:26 pm

    I cannot believe that I actually looked forward to a Friday night of Love Boat and CHiPs, but when I was little, I loved those shows. Anyway, the movie looks to deviate from the formula quite a bit, but the trailer had me laughing out loud. And below that, we have Jamie Foxx and Sleepless, for those in need of another badass Foxx film. And the bonus Baywatch trailer (never watched a single episode, but I may end up watching the Rock movie.

  7. January 13, 2017 12:17 pm

    On the switch:

    The press conference was quite cringe inducing. I have no idea how this console will sell, but I had a hard time understanding who this device was for. I came to the realization that the “switch” is much more a “handheld device” that can play on your TV, than a home console that is portable.

    Also, the paid online service being announced before features even exist is strange. “Voice chat coming soon” couldn’t come with a price tag. You need at a minimum to have the bare bones offerings of competitors before you can start charging.

    Then there is this: http://kotaku.com/super-mario-odysseys-real-humans-are-weird-and-bad-1791150696

    All in all, I will probably still get one LOL. Mainly to have a portable gaming unit for Ethan. With the mobile nvidia chip, I am not even sure which is the more powerful between the WiiU and the Switch. I don’t see there being a big advantage to having a switch for Zelda, beyond the controllers.

    The controllers seem super tiny and uncomfortable, but they are packed with technology. The “HD rumble” kinect like camera sensor built into the controller… I think these units are likely what drove the console price to 299$ (50$ more than it should be).

    I likely won’t be able to play Zelda at launch, so I will hold off for a while to get one. Prob black friday 2017 if Ethan is ready for it.

    • January 13, 2017 2:23 pm

      Thanks for the info, Zos. I’ll save my money for the Scorpio.

    • Blankman permalink*
      January 13, 2017 3:21 pm

      Like you were really considering the Switch, Suns. 😜 Thanks for the info, Zos. I’ll save my money for the Scorpio. And Zos, stop paining that it’s for Ethan, we all know that you’re a Zelda homer. It would be noble if you to get it for your son, but it’s really for you. πŸ˜‚

    • January 13, 2017 4:25 pm

      Never in a million years. I was done after the Wii. Love platformers and Nintendo has the best mascots – “Disneyland on a disc”. But I am tired of buying a console for a handful of titles.

Leave a Reply

