Skip to content

The Weekly OT #33

January 4, 2017
by

happy-new-year-from-rare-jpg-large

So, what was your Game of the Year 2016, and what is your most highly anticipated game of 2017?

My GoTY for 2016 would have to be Rocket League. It can be consumed in 5 minute sessions, which in turn can be strung together endlessly to fill a whole afternoon. It isn’t for the faint of heart; the game has no skill cap. None. But like any great sport, those truly talented in it can inspire dreams in those less gifted. Yep.

Strangely, I think one of my favorite aspects of the game is the crate purchase/trade system facilitated by Xbox Live Groups. Psyonix have created a brilliant, real-life economy in which the crates are the currency. The simplicity, non-zero-sum (i.e., win-win) nature ensures the developer will have the funding to continue to create and support their game for years to come, and gamers of any and all fiscal backgrounds can play and “dress up” as their time and money permits.

It is no surprise that the game took 10 years to develop. The depth and polish show it.

And that brings me to my most highly anticipated game of 2017, Sea of Thieves. The polish of the environmental elements (waves, sky, light, wind) and the sailing mechanics in the technical Alpha were way beyond that of any other AAA game that I played in 2016. Rare is actively and aggressively building and supporting a community that will share in the development of their game, which at the very least, demonstrates their hopes for a long-term, successful IP. I don’t know when it will be coming out, but it is going to be a compelling, highly entertaining, social experience. (Mostly for my own reference, in anticipation of battles at sea, one of the forum members, Katt, offered the following links: How Pirates Attacked, Common Tactics On How Pirates Took Merchant Ships, and Corbett’s Fighting Instructions 1530-1816).

As a parting thought, I spent about $70 dollars this Christmas on games. Not bad. What it got me, however, was fantastic: Monopoly Family Pack x2, Rainbow Six Siege, and Astroneer. I am really diggin’ this Microsoft trend to follow after Valve’s Steam sales. Next year, I want to wait until Black Friday before I start buying my games (SoT excepted).

Doh! One more thing, and I promise this is the last (for now). My favorite Silver Screen entertainment this year was Fauda followed by Luke Cage. TV is so entertaining these days, I no longer have the time to re-watch shows. Truly, there is no need for buying entertainment any more unless one is very fussy about seeing it uncompressed, in its most beautiful 4KHD format.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2017 3:42 am

    And I am watching my way through this. Great stuff!

    • RoBBins permalink*
      January 5, 2017 11:10 am

      Fantastic game. Have it on PS4 since launch. The best hitman game since Blood Money.

    • Blankman permalink*
      January 5, 2017 6:49 pm

      The best Hitman since Blood Money for sure, RoBBins. I’m a bit jealous that the PS4 version has an extra, exclusive bonus mission called the Sarajevo Six. Hitman is my GoTY. The incredible sandbox that the missions offer are simply phenomenal. I just couldn’t stop gushing about how awesome this game was. The high production value, writing, dialogue, humor, and tension are something to truly marvel & experience. I can’t wait for Season 2’s content.

      The game that occupied the majority of my playing time is The Division, but that’s not even runner-up in my books. There were so many things that were broken about it, and I’m glad that Massive took the time to fix things from the ground up. The Survival mode is pretty fun; it’s just a shame that more of our community didn’t play it. I honestly don’t know which game would be my runner-up. Perhaps it’s Astroneer because I can see the possibilities of it. Despite the many soul-crushing crashes before their latest patch, it just kept me coming back for more. Astroneer is definitely something special.

      I can understand why Rocket League is probably the GoTY for the majority of this community. Psyonix just kept adding to the game, and that needs to be acknowledged.

      I know that Sea of Thieves is on several people’s minds & most anticipated game, particularly Zos & Suns since they’ve been the only ones here who have tried the alpha. I’m looking forward to Mass Effect: Andromeda. I hope that Casey Hudson’s departure (former lead for ME 1 thru 3) didn’t negatively effect the quality of this upcoming title.

    • January 5, 2017 11:06 pm

      ME:Andromeda should be solid. The formula for the campaign is established and the MP mode(s) was popular/solid. Many people complained about the ending of the trilogy anyway, so perhaps Bioware/EA can keep the good and do better on the story.

      As for Sea of Thieves, I am very curious to see to what extent the gameplay/teamwork/world can challenge your aversion to the pirate theme. I still haven’t watched, much less enjoyed very many zombie movies* or tv shows, nor played many (any?) games on that theme at any length beside the L4D franchise. So, I understand what it is like to dislike something. In the singular L4D context, however, I love zombies. Maybe the same can be true for you with pirates. The beauty is that you will be able to try it for free. Back in the day, I bought L4D on faith. I had no idea what to expect from the game.

    • Blankman permalink*
      January 6, 2017 1:25 am

      I think the quality of SoT’s gameplay & teamwork will ultimately be the deciding factors. Meanwhile, it’s total media blackout for me on that title. The only impressions that I’ve gotten are from you & Zos, Suns.

      The majority of the games that we play are due to the social aspects. I wasn’t a fan of either Overwatch or Rocket League, but I still played them even though I’m not into arena shooters or car-inspired games. I just couldn’t get enthusiastic about Overwatch in any way whatsoever.

      I just want to get a full team on R6: Siege as well as run several solid heists on Payday 2. Heck, BF1 is just waiting for us to make a concerted effort on. We played the crap out of the beta, & we haven’t been back since the deluge of games such as Gears 4, Payday 2, R6, Providence Poker, & Monopoly. Wouldn’t you know it; Monopoly has been the only game that’s been able to sustain over 3.5 hours of our time as a group. Go figure.

    • January 6, 2017 5:22 am

      Going/staying dark is a good way to go. It will either be good or not, but anticipating it won’t make it better. No surprise about Monopoly because it is relaxing and allows us maximum opportunity to chat and laugh. And it is nice having all those other games on the dashboard, ready at a click (as opposed to having to get up and swap discs).

  2. Herandar permalink
    January 5, 2017 9:27 am

    I like Rocket League much more now that I found out you can hide the crates, so they don’t fill up your inventory. I have at least 12 crates after trading all 6 that I had away.

    Now to make it so I can get rid of the “holiday” items.

    • January 5, 2017 4:45 pm

      Herandar, crates are like RL Cash! Isn’t there a fancy skin or bobble that you want for your car? If you have unopened crates, you can trade for it and get what you want in minutes. If you don’t want your crates, I will gladly take them off your hands, or trade you for them! I might even be able to take some of the event (holiday) items off your hands and make your menus cleaner, if that is what you are hoping for.

      RoBBins, I didn’t realize you were playing Hitman. Glad to hear you like it. If I had the patience/time for SP gaming, I would be all over it. It looks phenomenal.

    • January 6, 2017 11:47 am

      I have Season 1 of Hitman on PS4, Suns, which is why you haven’t seen me playing it 😉 Might get Season 2 for Xbone so I can play and chat with Blank and rED about it, since I’ve seen them playing it a lot lately (Blank especially :P). It’s a fantastic game, if you have the time and patience for it.

  3. January 5, 2017 6:15 pm

    Harry gives his list of his top 10 favorite movies. He makes a really great (positive) comment about Rogue One and trilogies. Very interesting.

    http://www.aintitcool.com/node/76977

  4. January 6, 2017 6:33 pm

    https://www.twitch.tv/seebotschat

    PS: I’ll be on tonight, just a little late. Working outing tonight.

  5. January 6, 2017 7:15 pm

    LOL! Great find!

    And here is some more OT.

  6. January 6, 2017 8:08 pm

    http://www.pcworld.com/article/3154782/displays/nvidias-first-hdr-g-sync-monitors-are-basically-the-holy-grail-of-pc-displays.html

    The price point will be scary, but this is likely what I will end up getting.

    • January 7, 2017 7:27 am

    • RoBBins permalink*
      January 7, 2017 10:19 am

      Yes. Yes. Yes. Count me in, i’ll start saving money now.

    • January 7, 2017 4:11 pm

      Lots of HDR 4K monitors releasing in next few months!

  7. January 9, 2017 11:45 pm

    Patch notes for Astroneer (no control fixes yet) 😦

    https://forum.systemera.net/topic/8854-117-january-9th-2017/

    Patch notes for Rocket League:
    https://rocketleaguegame.com/news/patch-notes-v1-27/

Leave a Reply

