Skip to content

The Weekly OT #31

December 17, 2016
by

HUGE news for gamers who use headsets, or want to use headsets, on Xbox One. Dolby Atmos is on its way.

L4D/Evolve dev Turtle Rock earning a pass, making a new co-op FPS for 2018.

RoBBins dropped the latest on Jason, a 13 17 minute watch. Now I have to change my shorts.

“Someone has the car keys.” “Quick, under the bed.” Bwahahahahahaha!

My new favorite podcast is the official NBA Hang Time Podcast (on iTunes). Just the right amount of humor and serious content, not too long or too short, and the voices and opinions are very listenable. And speaking of basketball, the Cavs are shootin’ and droppin’ threes like nobody’s business. In 22 games: 298/744 40.1% on pace to make the new record for threes in a season (1110 3s). For contrast, the Warriors made the record last year with 1077 1077/2592 41.6%.

Oh, and Team Get Sukt brings Ballerifics to the Next Gen!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2016 12:58 pm

    • December 19, 2016 4:52 pm

      Thanks, Zos. I was just thinking about the original and wondering to what extent Vangelis‘ soundtrack played a part in its greatness. For the sequel, it looks like the soundtrack will be done by Jóhann Jóhannsson. Fortunately, he is apparently aware of the size of the shoes he is stepping into.

      Don’t know whether or not I care about Ford’s appearance. Nor was there much of the atmosphere of the original present in this trailer (bright, hot dry desert, pristine dance hall – obviously for contrast from the original). I think more than Ford, I find myself wishing Rutger Hauer would be back.

      I am very curious and hopeful for this one. Been a long time and the original is one of the best, most influential Sci Fi movies in the history of film.

  2. December 19, 2016 5:54 pm

    Upping the ante

  3. December 19, 2016 5:56 pm

    SoT Devs announced on twitter today (if you didn’t already know), once you have access to any stage of the Alpha, you will be included in all future playtests. So the pool will only grow.

  4. December 20, 2016 4:38 pm

  5. December 20, 2016 4:41 pm

    I have to share this here, and I can because it in no way violates the NDA.

    I wrote this in response to an Alpha Tester’s request that people be assigned classes/tasks/ranks, ensuring that all jobs get done.

    Great write-up, especially the summary of features/data at the end!

    As for the role-dedication/class-based gaming, I disagree completely but give respects for delineating it so plainly.

    The last thing I want when I am playing this game is to control others or be controlled. One of my favorite aspects of the Alpha experience was the sheer freedom, and one session was with 3 randoms, and another was with one friend and two randoms. The entire crew shared the responsibilities and we were constantly trading and co-operating, getting what needed to be done, done. I need that freedom for my enjoyment of the game. It may be a personal thing, and I may be in the minority, but I do not want designated jobs.

    Ultimately however, as long as we can toggle it off, I don’t care if that kind of system is available for those without friends.

  6. December 20, 2016 5:47 pm

    Now officially on my radar, though I will have to wait until they get the controls fixed before I can jump in.

    http://astroneer.space/
    http://blog.astroneer.space/p/roadmap/

    • RoBBins permalink
      December 20, 2016 5:58 pm

      Played the trail yesterday for about 20 minutes, had no idea what was going on or what I had to do and then turned it off. Literally didn’t know what I had to do, and had no idea what the controls were. Did I miss tutorials or something? I know you’ve been playing it a lot, Blank. What did I miss?

    • RoBBins permalink
      December 20, 2016 6:01 pm

      Trial*. Damn it..

      OT: Just watched Lirik stream Friday the 13th for quite a while, and the lobbies are maxed at 8 players. So 1 as Jason and then 7 survivors. Looks like a lot of giggly, spooky fun, but seems like it’ll get old fast if they don’t add a good leveling system and some other incentives to play. Still excited to see what the full game brings!

  7. December 20, 2016 8:42 pm

    Rare has been giving out a crap ton of goodies over the past couple of months. If I used Twitter, I would be all over their feed.

    https://twitter.com/SeaOfThieves

  8. December 22, 2016 4:19 pm

    For those who want to know more about the Sea of Thieves Alpha, Rare has opened an “Impressions and stories” thread. Lots of stories and info in there.

    https://www.seaofthieves.com/forum/topic/3494/come-and-share-your-technical-alpha-experiences

Leave a Reply

