Skip to content

The Weekly OT #20: Gears 4 Impressions

October 9, 2016
by

::deep voice::  John Wick Chapter 2

This time, it is about more than just a stolen car and dead dog.

I don’t know the comics at all.  I am surprised that Iron Fist is a curly-haired, chubby-cheeked, blond….with a beard.  Hmm…  Otherwise, KUNG FU!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2016 8:28 am

    I’ll start off the OT with a link to an article about a Neil Young concert yesterday, because, you know, Zos and Steph.

    • October 9, 2016 1:09 pm

      Steph and I were trying to figure out a way to make it to the festival, but it just couldn’t happen. The epicness was off the charts!

  2. October 11, 2016 10:55 am

    I played through the prologue (and part of Act 1) last night with Steph. The PC/XBO cross-play worked perfectly. Impressions:

    — The game looks and runs absolutely insane on PC.
    — The prologue segment makes me want a full prologue game.
    — The new characters are actually pretty likable as the story is just opening up.

    We had a pretty funny moment as well. There was a section where you could get killed by the environment. First Steph got killed and we had to start this entire fight sequence over again. Next, I got killed the same way after repeatedly telling her to watch out for it.

    We captured both deaths, obviously early game footage so watch at your own risk.

    https://account.xbox.com/en-us/gameclip/13552007-a404-4989-9ad9-64e90e9399f6?gamerTag=zStephyz&scid=780f0100-3c66-41ff-b8cc-964f20ee78c6

    https://account.xbox.com/en-us/gameclip/03cd7566-3522-4ea3-a4a5-0612b61009dd?gamerTag=zStephyz&scid=780f0100-3c66-41ff-b8cc-964f20ee78c6

  3. RoBBins permalink*
    October 11, 2016 12:26 pm

    Since I have the Ultimate Edition of Gears 4 and have completed the campaign already, I honestly think this campaign is right up there with Gears 1 for my favorite of the series. It’s so god damn good that I actually cant wait to play through it again on Insane. It’s so much more cinematic than previous Gears games, and it’s just a ton of fun overall. Not to spoil anything, but the ending Act is INCREDIBLE.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      October 11, 2016 12:51 pm

      Also, played through the first 10 waves of horde last night with Blank and Zender before Comcast decided to fuck me sideways and shut down my internet yet again, and holy guacamole is it tough playing with randoms! We had 2 others that got matched up with us, and they did nothing but spend all the money in the Fabricator all game long.

      PS. – Strategy seems to be more important this time around for Horde than years past. We were all over the place and got mopped up rather quickly by some DeeBee’s and Scion’s with mulchers and dropshots. You really need to find the perfect spot to place the fabricator so you can safely create stuff on the go when defenses get destroyed.

      PSS. – Weapons locker is my favorite thing ever for Horde. Upgrade it to hold a strong amount of weapons, and stash away every Heavy weapon you can find. Mulchers, Buzzkills, Dropshots, Rocket Salvo’s etc. etc. and save them all for the boss waves to easily dispose of the big bad guys. I cant wait to get a group of us 5 for it instead of dealing with these random dummies. Wave 50 here we come!

  4. October 11, 2016 4:33 pm

    LMAO@Zos and Steph and the vids!

    I spent my time playing MPvs – way past my bedtime (4+ hours). I had forgotten that the smoke ‘nades stun, or, I assumed that those choices in the beta would be tweaked and changed before release. It is still there. I don’t recommend MPvs to anyone in our crew. I won’t be spending any more of my limited gaming time playing it. I needed to do this, though. MPvs has always been my favorite part of any game.

    Great to hear that the teamwork/tactics for Horde are as advertised! Looking forward to it!

    The game is very pretty! Looking forward to playing through campaign next.

    • October 11, 2016 4:58 pm

      I haven’t read complaints about smoke stun yet, but definitely the expected launch issues (shotgun inconsistent, issue joining games in progress etc),

      Going in MP was my least anticipated feature. I couldn’t even play more than a handful of games in the beta. When I get around to playing it, it is definitely going to be approached differently than any gears game in the past.

      So far The Coalition (TC), to their credit, have already released major patches (including altering their currency/credit system) and worked through Canadian Thanksgiving (the type of thing that would have shut down developers of old for at least 2 weeks).

      I doubt any of our voices will be heard in regards to things like smoke nade stun, but it is worth voicing your support of other popular complaints on the forums, cause TC are activity participating and making decisions now.

    • October 11, 2016 6:32 pm

      Yeah, I am not blaming TC. They are listening to the fans and the fans must have requested the stun smoke (thus no complaints). After the beta, my expectations were properly lowered, I was just hoping that I was wrong. That is why I wanted to try it out immediately to see if I would get any mileage from it. I have a very high tolerance for BS in Gears games, probably the highest in the community, and that is why I didn’t wait for others to try it first. Even if they complained, I might still find it fun. TC will continue to polish G4, and like PvZ:GW2, I will continue to go back and see how it feels. In the meantime, Campaign and Horde look fantastic!

    • Blankman permalink*
      October 13, 2016 4:05 pm

      One of the most retarded things that TC left in the matchmaking was starting an uneven game. RoBBins, Zender, & myself went up against a full team in a Core (ranked) TDM match. Needless to say, that kind of bullshit should have been fixed. I can’t believe that they intentionally left it in like they did with Gears UE.

      The lag that we’ve been experiencing in MP versus is inexcusable. This is supposed to be on dedicated servers and we’re getting this kind of experience?!? TC better address this quickly before it devolves into ugliness. People will abandon this game because it shouldn’t be tolerated.

      As far as the smoke grenades go, I’m not bothered by it (for now) because it’s a very short stun (1 sec). It’s not that garbage ragdolling, hit every step in the Blood Drive map like they used to have in Gears 2; one of the dumbass decisions by Cliffy B. rED and I were just reminiscing about that yesterday.

      BTW: rED & I are having a blast on the campaign. I can’t stop thinking about it at work. 😜

    • October 13, 2016 6:15 pm

      Yes, in practice, the smoke stun isn’t nearly as bad as it used to be. It was just a surprise that it was in the game at all. Now, I use it liberally before I enter a hill.

      Two days after I said I won’t be spending any more time playing VS, I ended up playing for another 4+ hours yesterday. I was just going to try it again, but ended up playing past 11:30pm (exam week, so there is some grace at work). I am starting to get a grip on the shoot-from-the-barrel shotgun with enforcer combo.

      They are indeed having lag and framerate issues (see my clip in feed), the latter which is new since I played two days ago. There is also this 2 second freeze at the start of every match. You start running, you freeze, and then continue running. Someone broke some code somewhere, because that didn’t happen on launch day.

      The camera shake when anything at all happens is such an unfortunate design choice.

      By the way, the Bounty cards are not burn cards. As far as I can tell, they remain until you swap them out to be attempted at a later date, or actually complete them. Initially, I thought they were like Titanfall 1 cards where you burned them. Whew!

      Been making some coin with all that play and bought some packs. Nothing too exciting. Cornie bought the Elite package (3500c) and got utter rubbish, and I bought a bunch of Operations packs and one Versus pack.

      I have the Day of the Dead shotgun (with the launch packs), but I don’t want to use it. Still, even though destroying it would give me enough to buy the Baird Skin, I don’t have the heart to destroy a Legendary. Hmm….

    • Blankman permalink*
      October 13, 2016 7:31 pm

      Hahaha, look at you guys spending coin on micro transactions! Yeah, I’m with you on not destroying a ‘Legendary’ card, Suns.

    • October 13, 2016 7:40 pm

      Hey, not real cash, the in-game currency. I may go back on my threats not to buy or play the game, but I do sincerely want to avoid spending my hard-earned yen on micro-transactions. Either I man up and earn them the hard way, or I don’t get those card packs at all. (More power to those who can spare the coin, and to developers who offer that option.)

      Wait, is there another use for those in-game coins? I thought they were only for the packs, in which case there was no point in saving them.

    • Blankman permalink*
      October 13, 2016 8:14 pm

      Okay, I thought that you used actual cash. 🤓 The in-game credits are only for packs. I earned enough credits for an Elite pack and got garbage as well. Zos already got Kim & Kenai got Armored Marcus. Luck goes to those two while we get jack crap. 😕

    • RoBBins permalink*
      October 14, 2016 10:53 am

      @esuns uninstall and re-install to fix the freezing issue at the start of each round in MP. i did it 2 days ago and its smooth as butter now in MP. Almost Diamond rank in TDM!

    • Blankman permalink*
      October 14, 2016 11:51 am

      RoBBins, are you suggesting that we should delete & re-install the entire game? That’s 55gb and that takes several hours to D/L! However, if that fixes the frame rate issues, I’m doing this.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      October 14, 2016 12:20 pm

      @blankman6 Unfortunately, yes, uninstall the entire 55GB game and re install. Its either that or I think they said you can load up 4 other games passed their splash screens one after the other, and then load up Gears 4 and that apparently fixes it too.

      All I can tell you is that the uninstall/re-install trick works.

    • October 14, 2016 12:53 pm

      They announced a new title update out today to address MP issues. Should try first

    • October 14, 2016 4:52 pm

      RoBBins and Zos, thanks for the tips! Gonna try the Title Update first, then the splash screens, then the uninstall if the others don’t work. ❤

    • October 14, 2016 5:05 pm

      I don’t really have intentions on trying MP out until I have beat campaign and at least done a full horde run. So TC has some time yet to fix the broke ass stuff.

    • October 14, 2016 7:06 pm

      @Z0S, understood about MPvs.

      Cornie and I started playing the campaign last night and I am really enjoying it. Hardcore is like easy, though. Dang, you can go down almost anywhere and those A.I. Outsiders will run through bullets and blood to successfully revive your ass.

      We got to Marcus’ homestead and I was falling asleep at the sticks. Had to shut ‘er down. Really enjoying it!

      Also, I don’t mind one little bit having watched through the cutscenes. I am able to relax and soak it all up without having to worry about missing what they said, or thinking about what we are supposed to do. Game and story have have never mixed well for me; it is like waterskiing while eating cake. So, the whole thing is very serendipitous. I loved watching the cutscenes, and now I am thoroughly enjoying the action.

      Oh, in the scene where Zos and Steph got killed bringing back the fabricator, there are the barriers you can raise and lower. Hilarious moment. I was running around the circle, pressing the buttons to raise them. In the meantime, on the other side, Cornie is fighting for his life against the DeeBees and the barrier he is taking cover from goes down.

      “Cornie, you can raise all the barriers!”
      “Dad, when you do that, the previous barrier goes down!”
      “Oh!” long silence “Sorry.”

      Played another round of MPvs last night and took a brief moment to check the sweet spot for the shottie. The hit zone is like 15% lower on the screen than for UE. I am really enjoying the fact that if I am on, it doesn’t matter whether I am shooting the enemy in the front or back, they gib! THAT is nice. Came into a deathmatch round half way through and ended up second on the team. Got three crazy OH SHIT! flank kills in a row. No back armor here! WOOOOOO!!!!!

      Side note: Going from Gears to RL is deadly. Round starts and I immediately do a verticle double jump (A is roll and roadie run in Gears, and jump in RL). Takes a whole round to get used to pulling the trigger to accelerate! However, knowledge is power, and I am now aware of my need to practice in the training arena before I start playing.

      EDIT: not going to be on until later in the afternoon. Working Saturday.

  5. October 11, 2016 4:49 pm

    Most Important News This Week:

    https://www.rocketleaguegame.com/news/compeitive-rank-recalibration/

    Cornie, we have to get some games in to re-calibrateb our doubles rank. Are you going to be around Thursday evening PST?

Leave a Reply

