Skip to content

The Weekly OT #15: Behemoth’s Pit People etc.

September 11, 2016
by

I got into the Pit People closed beta and Cornie (using my account) and I are both loving it. As of last night, he still held Castle Crashers in higher esteem, but it was close. The NDA is pretty relaxed and I am allowed to go public with impressions and even screenshots and streaming. I had so little time to game this weekend, that I didn’t do any of that, but I did get a chance to try it and provide some feedback in their forums. In brief, it is a pre-order for me. In greater length, I love the game: the humor (writing and anachronistic technology etc., wackiness etc.), the narrator’s voice acting, the music, the art, menus, the role-playing presentation and implementation, the turn-based combat with optional difficulty levels, the ways in which it is similar to Castle Crashers, and the ways in which it is different from Castle Crashers. It is very entertaining. I like the music for Pit People even more than I did for Castle Crashers because it is more varied. The game actually feels very much like all that I loved about CC, but slightly twisted and new. It is very fresh.

And in other news, Art of the Title has published some new articles. Of note is their analysis of the titles for Stranger Things and Deadpool.

Also, I have really been enjoying Aisha Tyler‘s Girl on Guy podcast, especially her interviews with Viola Davis and Sheryl Underwood (part 1 and 2). Amazing lives, incredible people.

If that isn’t enough to keep you busy, Bill Harris at Dubious Quality has a ton of other good stuff to read/watch/listen to in this week’s Friday Links!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2016 9:58 pm

    This is a great round up of the areas that DICE could change before launch. (I had no idea the range on that flame thrower!)

  2. September 12, 2016 4:19 pm

    Pit People!

    One of the things I had trouble with CC was the point of view. So PP solves that and is turn-based, that might take time away from RimWorld on the second screen.

Leave a Reply

