Skip to content

Rocket League Rumble Pack

September 8, 2016
by


I am making a dedicated post for The Rumble Pack. Please keep comments here On Topic, and all other discussions in the Weekly OT #14. On reddit, I found an interesting cautionary thread on the possibility of scam trading. Be aware and vigilant.

So, what are you impressions? I don’t even know if I will get to play it at all this weekend because of family visiting.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Blankman permalink*
    September 9, 2016 12:24 am

    OT: “The Stranded” name has been secured by me for the newly available Xbox Clubs. I’ve sent invites out to you guys & gals, so check your ‘Notifications.’ You’ll need the latest OS update in order to access the Clubs feature amongst other improvements like the new party system.

    • September 9, 2016 1:08 pm

      Can you believe this clown posted OT in this thread?

      I am excited to try out Rumble tonight! Head over to the official reddit to get some other impressions + see some great clips already. Also, the new items are dope.

    • September 9, 2016 5:18 pm

      Ha ha ha! I know, but every Stranded member gets a pass, especially if they have good news like securing the name.

      Zos, Herandar’s impressions below are accurate for my experience, too. The lag and framerate issues made the mode unplayable. I cannot understand how that passed their own internal quality control. They must have been playing in a LAN setting on high end PCs, and then just taken it straight from there to the servers.

      It would be a ton of entirely random fun, though, if it worked smoothly.

      (and now I am getting ready to head out)

    • September 9, 2016 6:41 pm

      Looks like devs are working on a fix. Xbox only issues, which explains why the official Reddit wasn’t blowing up.

      PS: check out this new Octane skin:

    • September 10, 2016 4:03 am

      This “all versions” talk, does this mean that PS4 gamers are in the pool now? That would be awesome!

      Thanks for posting the update. It is great news that they are aware that their fingers are so far up their…nose… that they can scratch the inside of their…eardrum. It really boggles the mind and is proof that they never even tried the build but just “believed” in the EPIC cross-platform code compiling, and then tossed that rubbish in the XBL queue for downloading..

      Beautiful skin! Are you rockin’ it now? Did you spend big dollars on keys?

    • Herandar permalink
      September 10, 2016 9:30 am

      Not yet. Still need Sony to unlock the gates, but they have the game ready to go as soon approval is given.

    • September 10, 2016 5:36 pm

      Can confirm that frame rate and lag like crazy for now. I was able to play a lot of rumble, even with all those problems it was a lot of fun. Even with randoms pulled off some great ability combos. It will be interesting to see how different it plays when we can coordinate like usual.

      Suns, I think unloading a universal build of a game (across multiple online platforms) is a lot more complex than you are indicating. I highly doubt that the issues existed when they tested the build locally. The xbox version of the build has a lot of unique features, so not testing would be practically impossible. This definitely displays one of the weaknesses of having a universal build however (delay in certification times).

      I have only spent $1.50 on keys so far… It will be very tempting. Fortunately, there is a lot of great new items for unlock that are not crate unlocks.

      Beyond the new mode, I have only been able to try the stormy version of one of the original maps. I have already unlocked 4-5 new items (including Cartoon Smoke finally). The car preset feature is pretty nice too.

    • September 11, 2016 3:51 am

      Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the info. Great on the self-control and not dropping more then $1.50 on keys. I suspect I will drop a little too in curiosity and support (though that is not at all necessary anymore). The beauty is that even what little you spent, as representative of the community, it is enough to prove their model viable, and hope that more and more developers switch to the same/similar system. Let people pay what they want for aesthetics, while everyone gets to play all the content.

      Congrats on the Cartoon Smoke! Missed you guys this weekend. < 3

    • September 11, 2016 11:06 pm

      Agreed! Plus, the proceeds from the key unlocks goes straight to their tournament pools! And thought I am showing restraint now, I will probably drop 20$ on keys once the game is fixed again. BUT, a big deal is that you can only unlock crates as often as they appear during online matches. So you cannot simply buy and immediately unlock crates. You would just have 20$ worth of keys that could be used as they appear.

    • September 11, 2016 11:56 pm

      Zos, you realize that Psyonix are hiring, right? 😉 Like, lots of positions. If things go south, you can go south, too!

      http://psyonix.com/careers/

    • September 12, 2016 1:27 pm

      That is VERY intriguing Suns :).

      It looks like it has been confirmed that if you login to an alternate XB1 account (that hasn’t played the game before) there are no issues with lag or frame rate. Very strange! I doubt they will disclose, but it would be interesting to see what happened (and share with other devs who plan on implementing universal builds). Likely something to do with how the game interfaces with XBL.

  2. September 9, 2016 1:01 am

    Thanks, Kenny! Good stuff!

  3. Herandar permalink
    September 9, 2016 12:16 pm

    Game was terribly, terribly laggy last night, but there were over 22,000 people in the Rumble playlist when I first checked in. I’m used to seeing no more than 6,000.

    The Rumble pickups are completely random and on a timer, so the game is much less about skill, and more surviving the chaos. I kinda wish they had a Rumble Chaos with 4 players per side, but the lag would’ve been completely unbearable. I had my screen freeze for up to three or four seconds last night with only six players.

    They need to fix the lag issues. Also, I didn’t ever see the option to trade items.

    • September 9, 2016 1:05 pm

      Thanks for the impressions, Herandar. They’ll figure it out, but doesn’t sound like the smooth launch one would hope for.

      I am not going to be on at all (or at least not until very late because I am taking my moms (literally Chiiko’s mom and my mom) on a day trip up the peninsula. Have fun whatever you are playing! Hope to see you Sunday, but can’t promise. For the next three weeks, my schedule is not my own.

      < 3

  4. September 12, 2016 6:31 pm

    UPDATE 3 (9/12/2016, 2:23pm PDT): Our Rumble update hotfix will be released this afternoon at 4pm PDT. Thank you for your patience throughout this process!

    • September 12, 2016 6:46 pm

      LMAO @ your first person (as if you are the dev) voice!

      Cornie jumped in a played a bit last night. The framerate/lag issues were still there (though not nearly as bad as they were for me), but it looked like a TON of fun. This is great news! Can’t wait!

    • September 12, 2016 8:10 pm

      LMAO! Will you or corn dog be on tonight? I’ll be on around 11-11:30am your time.

    • September 12, 2016 8:22 pm

      I am at work and won’t be on, but I will tell Cornie to contact you. Don’t know if he can play or not. He teaches piano later in the afternoon and that may mean he can’t take time off in the morning. Will let him know (and of course, he always checks his XBL messages, too).

  5. September 12, 2016 8:34 pm

    I queued it up. Just watch the vid for about 10 seconds.

    and then enjoy this save! Dang, one almost wishes it were possible for this mode to be played competitively as well, because it certainly isn’t a button mashing thing. There are definite strats and times for using the powerups.

    EDIT: As an aside, the brilliance of this mode is that the powerups are automatically aimed at the ball/ball carrier. For example, one doesn’t have to choose which car to swap with. I would be utterly useless with that kind of “freedom”.

    • September 13, 2016 1:19 am

      The new mode is so much fun. We even played rumble hoops lmao! They definitely improved the graphics as well in this update. I bought 20 keys and ready to start unlocking :p

    • September 13, 2016 3:21 am

      Hey, when a game reaches one’s top 5 list, and only costs 20 bucks to start with, there is a LOT of leeway for lettin’ the dev know you love what they are doing, and that their model works well. (Not saying I am going to do the same, but I suspect I will buy one or two keys, maybe, again, because of their model.)

      Great to hear you guys are enjoying the mode. It seems like it leaves a lot of the greatness intact, but takes away potential toxic-level intensity.

    • Herandar permalink
      September 13, 2016 1:38 pm

      Only thing I want from my crate is the lightning wheels, to go with my lightning boost.

    • September 13, 2016 5:44 pm

      To my dismay, I discovered that Rumble also requires skill. lol Had lots of fun playing last night, but I was the common denominator in a string of losses. I can handle that when I am playing the real mode, but Rumble is supposed to be for the noobs! hahaha It IS cool, though.

Leave a Reply

