Skip to content

The Weekly OT #3: A Little Rocket League, Overwatch, and Sea of Thieves

June 20, 2016
by

These OT posts are not exactly “weekly” in the strictly 7 day sense, but we don’t stand on ceremony around here. So, starting off this “week’s” OT, in honor of life’s lessons learned via basketball and rocket league, I direct you to the update, which should be live by now. Pulling Cornie, for one, away from Overwatch will take some doing, however. Personally, I am just glad to be swimming in this pool of great games. And here is a funny tidbit, in the comments of the vid below, someone said the following, “Psyonix I’ll kill you if this soundtrack isn’t included in this update.” After listening to any of their tracks, I feel like I will kill someone if they DO include it in…anything! Just compare and contrast the brilliance of the soundtracks of Castle Crashers or BitTrip to RL. Not all techno-pop is created equally.

The stadium is gorgeous. Just wish they would have chosen a regular stadium for the facial. I wonder what the inside of a ball would be like for a stadium? Watching the vid has me so full of feels.

19 Comments
  1. June 20, 2016 11:33 pm

    Oh, this is just a GREAT strat!!

  2. June 21, 2016 12:24 am

    Titanfall 2 copies PvZ:GW. LOL!

    http://www.gameinformer.com/games/titanfall_2/b/playstation4/archive/2016/06/20/whats-the-same-whats-different-in-titanfall-2-multiplayer.aspx

    Titans have been completely overhauled as well, ditching the models from the last game in favor of six brand new ones. “The way we looked at Titans in this game is sort of like Street Fighter characters,” Alderman says. “They are packages that play the same way with limited customization on their combat, but a lot of customization on how they look, sound, and stuff like that.”

    Three models made their debut at E3. Scorch is the fire Titan, so all his abilities (thermite launcher, fire wall, incendiary traps) are about fire damage.

  3. June 21, 2016 1:53 am

    Hands down, my most highly anticipated game of the next twelve months.

    • June 21, 2016 11:36 am

      This game! I’ve read a dozen or so impressions and it sounds outstanding.

  4. Herandar permalink
    June 21, 2016 9:41 am

    First off, thank you for #3. I have been muttering to myself about school teachers not knowing how long a week is, while accepting that the world doesn’t revolve around me. Also, the links for these Weekly threads should end up on /pages/ot.

    Second, musical taste is entirely opinion. There is no best music or worst music. Oh, and the music for Rocket League is perfect to me.

    Third, I’m trying to figure out why the Rocket League update was 2.3 GB. We got 2 new maps, and while Neo-Tokyo is pretty detailed, I highly doubt it’s that large. Assume that the two new cars are included as well, though they aren’t even accessible for a month. That leaves the showroom and item trading?? Oh, and chat is now customizable. I just say “Calculated” in response to all plays. Throws ’em off. I’m a bit disappointed with the item trading, to be honest. There is so much crap I would gladly get rid off, but only a few items are eligible for trade-in. I’ve already traded in ten items, and I want to keep most of the rest of the items that show up on the trade-in screen. No way am I giving up my mirror ball antenna.

    • June 21, 2016 10:38 pm

      I have updated the Off Topic page with a link that will automatically do a search and pull up all the Weekly OT Posts in search results. That way we get what we need, but I don’t have to add a link every “week”. Check it out here.
      https://wordpress.com/page/thestranded.wordpress.com/549

      Second, as regards weeks that have more or less than seven days. Really, the only reason to make a new OT thread, is because the current one is too “heavy” – too many embedded videos etc., that make the thread load poorly. That is why I am not in a rush to make a new OT post when the old one still only has a few comments in it. However, one thing I realized is that if I make one at the beginning of the week, on Monday or Tuesday, it helps me because of my schedule. Wed-Fri are crazy at work, and make posting much more difficult. So, I will make new ones at the beginning of the week, or not at all if there hasn’t been much traffic.

      Third, great that you enjoy the RL music. I can always play my own music and turn off game music in the settings, if I need to, so everyone wins!

      The Neo Tokyo map has a ton of new geometry decorating it outside the actual arena. The map itself, shouldn’t require very much at all, but all the decorations are new. That is almost certainly where the GBs are coming from.

      Look forward to trying out the update myself.

  5. June 21, 2016 11:41 am

    The new update is awesome. I really enjoyed the new Neo Tokyo arena (facelift of a lab arena) but I haven’t been able to try the second new arena “pillars” yet.

    There are a lot of changes in this update. One of my favorites is the end of game taunts. Cornie and I played a single game last night and after we won, we both did a “rocket ship” celebration and completely left the frame! LOL

    Also, we are now on ranked Season 3, so time to get cracking and hopefully paired with some more noobs for a bit.

  6. June 22, 2016 12:06 am

    I just had an idea, dare I say “insight” into Neo Tokyo. The side ledges offer considerable challenges to gameplay, but because of those ledges, it maybe the best (only) map for 4v4 chaos mode. Due to the fact that you cannot go from field straight to wall (i.e., because of the ledge), a team of four should always be spread out – one goalie/defense, one field forward, and a left and right wing basically always on the ledge/walls coming down only for a spectacular save or shot on goal. This will enable a team to always beat the opponent to the wall when the balls go there. Any team that has to send a player directly from field to wall will always lose both in time, and in advantageous approach to the ball.

    When players develop teammate awareness and chemistry, then rotating positions fluidly as need requires can become almost as natural as it is when playing in a traditional stadium.

    By forcing the team to spread out like this, the liability and frustration of 8 players in the stadium turns to opportunity and fun, regardless of whether or not both teams try this strategy (any team with all four players either on the field or chasing the ball will/should lose badly – the ledge will be tossing them all over the place). What do you think? I can’t wait to try it out.

  7. June 22, 2016 2:22 pm

    It’s in German and I still watched it! (Actually, I could understand quite a bit of it). Dude doesn’t put down his rum! LMAO!

    Seriously, I may have to buy a mickey of rum to drink when I first play this game.

    The water is easily as beautiful as that in BF4, and that blew me away.

    Anyway, I posted in the official forums that Sea of Thieves is a perfect candidate for the Preview Program (a la Ark). Don’t know that anyone of the devs/pubs are reading, but dang, if ever there was a game that could use that model, it is SoT.

    • June 22, 2016 6:12 pm

      Thanks, Herandar. Yes, my k/d is way up when using Torbjorn. Interesting proposed solutions. Even with six of them, however, we have still lost. On PC he isn’t even played at the high level because sniping and shooting in general is so much more accurate as to make him one of the least deadly characters.

      Of this I am sure, gamers cannot expect to win every match in this game. Doesn’t matter what you choose, there are going to be combinations that won’t work against the combination chosen by the other team – game knowledge, flexibility, and adaptability combined with skill, will win almost every match the most frequently, but even then, expect to lose quite often.

      Back to the topic of that article, the only time I have really been enraged about Torbjorn is when a guy on our team played him when we were trying to move the payload forward. He kept building his turret way behind the front line – doing nothing. It was as if we were playing 5v6. He is the only guy I have ever wanted to teabag in that game.

      And for those who like WWI shooters, I give you the not at all realistic, Verdun. (Where is the mud/dead bodies/chemicals etc. etc.?)

    • Herandar permalink
      June 23, 2016 8:12 am

      I’ve watched quite a few PC Verdun videos and I think very highly of it. Sure they don’t have a bunch of dead bodies lying around (which is probably a good idea, considering how that would completely camouflage campers and severely hamper target acquisition), but there are definitely gas attacks. And you need to wear your gas mask.

      Why would you want a realistic WWI game anyway? Sit in a trench for hours, then go over the top with three hundred plus friendlies only to get mowed down en masse…

      Worth noting that it is an indie game, with a developer with around ten total employees at any time. DICE has more people cleaning their offices than M2H has making games.

    • June 23, 2016 4:32 pm

      Well, this one is marketed against BF1 as being the “realistic” one. Love Indies, even if I don’t play them as much as I hope to before I buy. Bully for small teams, and the creativity and flexibility they bring to the industry.

  8. June 22, 2016 6:33 pm

    It took me about 3 years to become bored enough to try the first one. I was very pleasantly surprised. One of the funniest fight scenes I have ever seen (yep, just watched it again and burst out laughing in the library). I will definitely check #2 out when it comes to DVD.

    • June 23, 2016 3:27 pm

      I keep telling myself that I don’t like Tom Cruise. But…. Seems like I really like all his movies. Been catching up on a few Mission Impossible movies lately.

  9. June 23, 2016 4:28 pm

    Steph is recovering from Throw Up Bug. Literally up all night while she puked every 15 minutes. Ethan and I desperately trying to avoid catching it. Wish us luck! Fortunately Steph is feeling better today (she started a few days ago).

    • June 23, 2016 4:33 pm

      Sorry to hear that, Zos; good to hear she is recovering now. Use alcohol liberally to wipe down surfaces, and maybe even drink a little. 😉

  10. June 23, 2016 5:59 pm

    Ok, this is a great idea – not continuing the Harry Potter story, but rather just telling stories that happen within that “universe”. Very cool.

    And this looks like it could be entertaining. My students sometimes ask me to take off my glasses – then they say that I look like Jason Statham. This has happened on multiple occasions. I’ll take lookin’ like Statham over almost anyone else they could compare me to.

    And after reading this, I very much want to see this.

  11. June 23, 2016 6:36 pm

    For anyone who has ever wanted to support their team any way they can, and all others who were blessed by such. (The high production value of this reminds me of World of Warcraft Is A Feeling.) Outstanding work!

Comments are closed.

