Skip to content

The Weekly OT: Truly Random

June 2, 2016
by

I want to try something new here.  Looking at my Finals Game 1 post, I noticed that our needs/uses for this site are changing.  There are a ton of little tidbits that we want to share with each other, that aren’t really worthy (or worth the effort) of a post on their own, but we don’t have a place to share them.  What if we were to make an OT thread, where we can drop all those little things, and then “Sticky” it so that it stays on top for a while?  When it gets too comment heavy (for loading purposes) we can just make a new one and unsticky the old.  For the bigger news/discussions, we can still create dedicated threads.  Shall we try it?

40 Comments
  1. June 2, 2016 4:51 pm

    So, without the need to preface this with “OT”, allow me to share one of my finest moments as JOKER Junkrat.

    • Average permalink*
      June 3, 2016 8:00 am

      I really need to get this game!

    • RoBBins permalink*
      June 3, 2016 10:50 am

      Junkrat and Hanzo are my 2 favorite heros. I love using the concussion mine to lauch around the map, and not to mention throwing it into peoples faces for an easy kill 😉

      Suns, we MUST game on some Overwatch soon!

    • June 3, 2016 11:53 pm

      Average, um, yes, you do.

      RoBBins, Junkrat is the Shizzle!

  2. June 2, 2016 9:00 pm

    Sounds like a good idea! OT: (SAD) I won’t be on much this weekend. Too much work.

    BUT I am taking two days off work june 13-14

    • June 2, 2016 9:21 pm

      Understood. Cornie and I won’t either, going to Osaka this weekend.

      Nice on those holidays, just in time for E3!

  3. Herandar permalink
    June 3, 2016 10:31 am

    Also, Upload Studio crashed on me twice while trying to edit my Rocket League comeback. The first time after 45 minutes and rendering the video.

  4. June 3, 2016 3:47 pm

    Have any of you seen this? The Story behind Overwatch. 3 part series. Just watched the first one. Really Good.

    • June 3, 2016 11:56 pm

      And yes Mr. Gigasaurus owner! I posted about it back in April. Someone hasn’t been eating his Snickers!

    • Herandar permalink
      June 4, 2016 4:38 pm

      So that’s why Jimmy sounded like Aretha Franklin last time I spoke with him…

  5. June 4, 2016 7:42 am

    Lovin’ this OT thread.

    http://www.cracked.com/blog/7-reasons-every-single-movie-starting-to-look-same/

    Link is self-explanatory, and the content is great.

  6. Herandar permalink
    June 4, 2016 9:20 am

    Finally got it to work:

  7. June 4, 2016 12:45 pm

    I was busting up so bad at this, in anticipation of the Xbox Scorpio announcement, Phil Spencer floods the stage:

    • June 4, 2016 4:55 pm

      Hilarious! It is like a best-of thread with all the gifs and comments.

      (By the way, for all of us early adopters, the replacement hardware really isn’t something to be excited about, unless MS is going to offer some trade in discount or something. The hardware will be sweet, but in only four short years after paying $550 for the One, we will have to dish out another 400+? for the Scorpio. The change in hardware is exciting and will be a better marketing/product model, but we still have to dish out the bucks to enjoy it, right? lol!

    • June 4, 2016 11:11 pm

      November 15, 2001 – ($299) Xbox Original release date
      November 22, 2005 – ($299/$399)
      November 22, 2013 – ($499) Xbox One

      The last console generation lasted WAY too long. This being said, the Scorpio almost undoubtedly will be full compatible with Xbox One. Meaning it won’t get exclusive games and it will be able to play fully with launch Xbox One.

      In addition, this marks a change in their model to one where iteration is the norm. This is honestly a lot better of a model for consumers. (can you imagine if there was a 4-5 year gap between smart phone releases? Car releases? Tv’s?) It is an outdated model that ONLY leaves consumers left with outdated hardware at incredibly inflated prices (the 360 is still ~200$ new, with an architecture that is literally over 10 years old).

      If consumers were forced to purchase a higher performance box, or if there was no compatibility between the two, I would understand the frustrations. But at very worst, you are left with the exact same experience you would have waiting 8 years for a new console.

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 5, 2016 12:15 am

      No one is forcing you to buy the next Xbox iteration, Suns.

    • June 4, 2016 7:34 pm

      I had written a bunch of stuff that I was correct about re:the launch and product of Xbox One.

      I erased it and will say this instead. Because of their DRM policy, I am a happy customer, who may even buy the Scorpio, and it might even be quite soon after launch if the price is low enough. Whenever I start to rage about the One, I just have to remember the DRM. Then I am fine. Not even PC and Steam offers the assist that the MS DD provides.

      Game on.

  8. Herandar permalink
    June 4, 2016 4:34 pm

    This headline make me want to play Seine Crossing. Levolution idea?

    http://www.nbcnews.com/news/world/france-flooding-death-toll-rises-four-river-peaks-paris-n585846

  9. June 4, 2016 8:01 pm

    Ha ha! Seine Crossing – great map!

    Lovin’ this OT.

    So, I have to introduce y’all to a fantastic site which provides current and historical reporting International issues related to war and the military. I have been viewing this site for a while now, and it is well-researched, knowledgeable, solid reporting on important and interesting issues.

    https://warisboring.com/

    Here is just the latest article that prompted me to finally share (link is self-describing).

    https://warisboring.com/theres-no-rush-to-save-the-world-s-most-dangerous-dam-79fd26749fb7#.6mfpia2ge

  10. June 4, 2016 10:35 pm

    Someone has to mention him.

    http://reason.com/blog/2016/06/04/how-muhammad-ali-changed-america-and-was

    http://espn.go.com/boxing/story/_/id/15957722/the-fearlessness-muhammad-ali

    (Edit: deleted the video which is provided in the article proper. If you want to view it, you can see it in the article.)

    I hate boxing, by the way. As a human being and educator, I cannot abide the willing intentional desire to render someone unconscious by means of wailing on their brain inside their skulls. The only reason I can still enjoy Football is because that is an unintentional side-effect of the game. But even then, it is becoming a guilty pleasure rather than a unashamed joy.

  11. June 5, 2016 3:51 am

    My OTs: Getting separated which is weird because my wife is truly my best friend now that we live apart. We talk so much more now.

    Which leads to the biggest impact, my overall budget, will not be able to buy new games for a looong time (paying for three properties). No overwatch.

    and right before that happened I bought a PC which I will be switching my Ark addiction to when it arrives.

    So yeah, that pretty much means it’s the end of an era for me. Will try to keep in touch but theres so much stuff going on that gaming is taking a back seat for a long while.

    • June 5, 2016 10:05 am

      Will miss you Frank. The door is always open here. Thanks for letting us know what is going on.

    • June 5, 2016 4:37 pm

      Ditto what Kenai said. You know where we are.

  12. June 6, 2016 8:41 pm

    Game Informer has their Pre-E3 Microsoft Predictions.

    Of note is their prediction that Crackdown 3 won’t make a showing. I am not really invested in that series, so it doesn’t matter to me, but I know some people are looking forward to it. (EDIT: I changed this comment to its current state.)

    • June 7, 2016 10:50 am

      Blank was saying he couldn’t get Cortana to work, but I bet that clown was doing it wrong. Needless to say, hopefully they don’t get the kinks out so we can continue to enjoy the over the mic..

      “Xbox, record that.”
      “Xbox, record that!”
      “Xbox…. record that!”
      “XBOX RECORD THAT!!!!”

    • Herandar permalink
      June 8, 2016 1:52 pm

      It’s “Hey Cortana, record that.” There is a definite delay when she kicks in. (Guide button, guide button, X.)

  13. June 7, 2016 9:57 am

    Frankie on PC in 1080p hasn’t posted a video in like a month. His 3 million subscribers (including me) have been jonesing for a new video and worried that he may be done making them, or even death rumors.

    Not so…. What he posted yesterday is a pure masterpiece.

    With that, I give you Frankie, a frickin genius, artist, and crack shot.

    And his friend Sada, is a hilarious side kick. The ending of the video is Spectacular.

    Must see TV.

    • June 7, 2016 5:07 pm

      Thanks, Jimmy! Subscribed.

      Will watch as soon as I get a chance (Wed/Thurs massive days at work).

  14. June 7, 2016 10:28 am

    http://www.ign.com/articles/2016/06/07/battlefield-1-teaser-shows-new-in-game-footage

    “Footage Representative of Xbox One”

    ^^^Kinda funny

    If M$ does announce scorpio during E3, this would be a good game to demo on it.

    EDIT (Embedded the teaser – ‘Suns)

  15. June 7, 2016 10:33 am

    More features announced for the new features announced. Other developers need to just stop, this is GOTD (game of the decade).

    http://www.ign.com/articles/2016/06/07/rocket-league-gets-new-rare-items-and-trade-in-system?abthid=5756d17bf7db6ea63e000015

  16. June 8, 2016 2:33 am

    This is a fun read, link is self-evident.

    http://www.victoriafedden.com/widelawns/2016/5/31/if-70s-moms-had-blogs

  17. June 8, 2016 10:55 pm

    PC arrived. Ark has like 8 custom maps, and a bunch of other surprising mods (Tranq Spears!).

    The biggest difference is custom servers. I was surprised to see that the official servers is about the same amount as xbox has, but custom servers is like 1864.

    and there is a lot of tweaks involved with different maps, and even total mod (There is a pirate mod of Ark that I am eager to try out).

    One thing right off the bat is that using a controller is not the same on PC and I don’t think I can customize the buttons, so unless you are open to mouse and keyboard (which is quicker on some things, and much slower on others) I wouldn’t even consider it.

    but overall it is a very worthy purchase. I am running it on high, and it’s buttery smooth, I haven’t been rubberband yet, and there’s just little details all around that make the xbox version light. Not sure if I can go back to it.

    • June 9, 2016 12:09 am

      Thanks for the impressions, Frenik. Buttery smooth is the nicest feature. They haven’t been able to optimize the Xbox version to that point. Surprised to hear about the lack of controller button mapping – I suspect there is a way, either through the game settings, or though the controller drivers (especially if one is using Windows OS 10 and the Elite controller).

    • June 9, 2016 1:56 am

      well the way i tried it was through the game options and it simply pop up a screen just basically telling me what the controllers were but it didn’t have an option to tweak them. I’m going to try and read the forums to see if i find something.

      The main problem is that the buttons have slightly different functions, and I am not sure if the sensitivity is the same.

      My only problem with keyboard is getting the muscle memory of sprinting, switching to inventory, etc.

      But the menus are much nicer to drag and drop. I might just run with the cheats until I get the hang of it, because surviving on server was harder.

    • June 9, 2016 6:44 am

      Good luck. Man, I never would have thought that with the option to play Ark with a m/k, people might want to use a controller (unless their PC is hooked up to a big TV in front of a couch). We spent so much time getting used to the controllers, though, and figuring out the “shortcuts” that it actually is better?! Cool!

  18. Herandar permalink
    June 9, 2016 7:56 am

    Time for a new weekly OT thread.

Trackbacks

  1. The Weekly OT #2 | The Stranded

Comments are closed.

