Skip to content

ARK:SE Patch 242: Enter the Dragon!

June 1, 2016
by

This game continues to amaze me with massive content updates free of charge.  There are now diseases, cures, and baby raising!  LMAO!  I was texting Zos yesterday waxing on about the polished and rich games we now have, and I wasn’t even thinking of this one!  When/If they get a Survival of the Fittest game mode on the One, I’ve no doubt Cornie and I will go back in time.

Exciting news Survivors! The Dragon makes its debut in ARK: Survival Evolved on it’s Birthday Week as players can now face off the mighty beast and it’s fearsome flyer minions in their epic treacherous volcanic lair! Patch 242 also introduces additional tribe member settings, a training dummy, diseases and cures, interactive baby raising, two new creatures, the Dilplodocus, the Leech and so much more!

6 Comments
  1. June 1, 2016 6:49 pm

    OT

  2. June 1, 2016 7:20 pm

    More OT

    The Scorpio Rumor from a week ago.
    http://kotaku.com/sources-smaller-xbox-one-coming-this-year-more-powerf-1778634446

    Confirmed now by several sources. Or, as Tycho put it:

    It is a fact universally acknowledged that all Microsoft rumors are true, so I haven’t taken any time out to contact the people I know over there to verify it. There’ll be a slim model this year, and a potent upgrade next year that is apparently designed to skullfuck the Playstation 4 Neo. I will tell you one thing that I know for certain: the ResolutionGate stuff drives Microsoft completely fucking crazy. Apparently they’re tired of that. This also allows them to get into the VR game with the Oculus Rift as their platform. In, like, 2017. But yeah.

    Microsoft has a lot less to lose than Sony pushing out new hardware. Where compatibility breaks used to be an incentive to upgrade, I don’t think that’s an aspirational thing for the consumer anymore – it’s just wasted money. That’s why they’re going fucking hard on this Backward Compatibility stuff, and they’re using terms like “Forward Compatibility,” which I think might just be “compatibility.” This is also what their thus far weirdly communicated and partially manifested “Universal Windows Platform” is about. You can drop one product that knows where it’s being run, and it behaves accordingly on Xbox One, PC, this new Xbox, whatever.

    Chris Kohler has it completely right when he says we’ll buy consoles like phones, with everything that implies. A new iPhone 6 Plus, after taxes, is over a thousand dollars – but nobody does that. They pay incrementally, or they exchange old hardware. It’s “hardware as a service.” I thought for sure this was the last console generation, right, except now we’re getting two and half times as many. The ecosystem changed underneath them, and to survive they must become strange beasts.

    I don’t know what that means for me, except that at one point in time, I will want to upgrade to that, or the Scorpio 2. I have researched the PC route, once and again, and it was found wanting…wanting all my money, and gaming isn’t allowed to have all my money.

  3. Herandar permalink
    June 2, 2016 8:08 am

    Actual OT: Two epic come-from-behind OT GWGs for me late last night in Rocket League. I saved a replay of the first game because it was such a late and complete reversal. We couldn’t do anything right for the first four minutes. I’m going to have to DVR the last minute or so uncut and share.

  4. July 5, 2016 3:32 pm

    Ugh I thought I give Ark another go and played for 2 hours and a dude came up and killed me and gave me swamp fever. A disease that doesn’t go away with death! This is the worst game feature ever! Now my survivor has a green haze and constantly coughs and has %20 reduction on stats! The cure looks very involved and once cured you can get the disease again! Staying away from Ark until they get rid of this ‘feature’.

    • July 5, 2016 5:14 pm

      LMAO!!! I have never seen such brave developers. Ark: Games Without Borders

Comments are closed.

