Skip to content

Overwatch Post-Beta Impressions

May 8, 2016

 

Update:   It’s been extended!  WOOT!

Unless there is some special extension, my time with the Overwatch Beta is finished. Cornie and I jumped on in the early evening yesterday and had some incredible rounds. We won most of the time, but not because we had mad skillz. Like L4D and TF2, success in this game is highly dependent on teamwork and map and character knowledge. Yesterday, we had some teammates that knew what they were doing and that made a huge difference. We saw Mei, an unlikely hero, played to great effect on both teams, erecting Ice Walls at just the right time in just the right place, and bringing her Blizzard to freeze everyone in place while teammate D.Va Self-Destructed her mech taking all enemies out.

header-ilios
When our teammates didn’t know what they were doing, Cornie and I “took one for the team” by picking the necessary characters to ensure we at least started well. When playing Control maps, Nepal, Lijiang Tower, and Ilios, for example, you will almost certainly give up 25 to 50 seconds on the point if you don’t start with Lúcio, who gets you to the church on time. He is so crucial to the initial set up stage, that I almost wonder if it wouldn’t be prudent to have two players start with him so that his Amp It Up can be staggered, and deliver everyone just that much quicker. Also, Lúcio’s Sonic Amplifier can be used to blast enemies right over the railing into the clear blue sea below. Junkrat‘s Concussion Mine is similarly useful, as is Reinhardt‘s Charge, but that requires him going with the enemy. It is fun, but not as desirable.

Over the course of the beta, I played only five classes: Reinhardt, Junkrat, Torbjörn, Lúcio, and Mercy. There were loads of subtle nuances that I discovered with each round, much of which was specific to a character on a specific map in a certain situation. The joy and pain of this game is that experience and knowledge will be king and queen, and those who don’t have it will be pawns.

The price and value of the game was discussed and what surprised me with this Beta was that it is the most highly polished game I have played on the One, and perhaps, since I stopped playing Nintendo games. This was just after the let down of the Gears 4 Beta, and I guess I am just so sick of playing games with bugs, exploits, and crash-to-dashboard breaks, that the smooth experience alone makes the $60 tag seem like a deal.

I can’t wait for the game proper to release, and I can’t imagine that Cornie and I won’t be playing it nightly for months to come.

EDIT:  For those interested, there is a new digital comic up for Reinhardt.  You can also view or download the comics for McCree and Junkrat-Roadhog by clicking on the Issues tab.

 

11 Comments
  1. May 8, 2016 8:21 pm

    I have a lot to learn, even just using Reinhardt. Watching this video, I realize how many things I don’t do but should, or do but shouldn’t.

    • Average permalink*
      May 8, 2016 9:02 pm

      Been watching your videos and watching my brother play on ps4 today. Looks fantastic!! Downloading now.

  2. RoBBins permalink*
    May 9, 2016 10:49 am

    The more I play, the more I love it. Genji, Widowmaker, Tracer, Reaper, Roadhog, Junkrat… the list goes on of all the characters I think are a blast to play. Just might have to pre-order. If only you goes were either East or West coast time zones Suns… 😥

    • RoBBins permalink*
      May 9, 2016 12:15 pm

      Guys* not goes..

    • May 9, 2016 4:56 pm

      Great to hear you are enjoying it. Yeah, this JST thing is just downright awful, on so many levels.

  3. May 10, 2016 10:31 pm

    In the words of Joey Leen, “Holy Craaaap!”

    • Blankman permalink*
      May 10, 2016 11:39 pm

      Wait, did Lucio (bag of dicks) just push those enemies off the ledge with his amped blast? I watched the vid several times, & I’m still not sure what I was watching.

    • May 11, 2016 1:09 am

      Yes he did! And he did it with no floor under his feet (wall running – A button).

      It is this kind of thing that has me excited about this game. The combos and the room for imagination/creativity. Know your character, know the map, and be flexible….like water. 😉

  4. May 11, 2016 1:17 pm

    My impressions:

    — This game is fun.
    — This game is polished.
    — This game is good.

    • Blankman permalink*
      May 11, 2016 10:42 pm

      Meh. 😜

  5. May 11, 2016 11:17 pm

    Eurogamer interview Blizzard and presents some of the principles behind the sound design choices.

Comments are closed.

