Skip to content

Ark:SE Mods Coming To PC and Xbox

April 23, 2016
by

It would appear that, for the short term at least, PS4 gamers get the Ark game mode “Survival of the Fittest” and Xbox gamers get Community Mods. Under normal circumstances, if one were forced to choose, that would be the more desirable of the two choices. Unfortunately, “Survival of the Fittest” is so appealing to one member of my family that we darn near set up a PC to run it. I’ve no doubt that the stories that would come out of just one event would take hours to regale. It is my hope that Kenny is correct when he says the PS4 deal will just be some short timed-exclusive affair.

Cornie and I went back to it this week. Cornie tamed an Oviraptor to increase fertility among our domesticated dinos, and then he built a “Kibble Farm” where he has all the heavy egg-layers lined up on top of a metal ramp so their eggs roll down into one convenient spot for gathering. Next, he wants to tame a Catoroides, which is basically just a living, breathing, smithy so that he can take him on Quetzalcoatlus crafting trips.

And, we have started caving, to collect the artifacts to light up our sun-room, which looks incredible from the sky at nighttime. We haven’t even touched the water related gaming yet. The scope of this game continues to amaze me.


5 Comments
  1. April 26, 2016 1:48 am

    Yeah this is the best game for me. I still log in crazy hours and recently I built a base near where we started in 399, and it’s just funny how everything came full circle again, since I am by myself in that area. Lol. I’m still way behind in my taming, but I got bases everywhere. Going to record a clip to show all the spots.

  2. April 26, 2016 3:08 am

    Was going to do the other bases, but it’s hard with the 5min limit on captures. Will try to record and edit more.

  3. April 26, 2016 6:04 am

    HOLY CRAP, Frenik!!

    I thought you said you were behind in your taming!! I’m all like braggin about my shack, and here you are with a multi-country Empire! Bwahahahahaha!

    Great game!

    Yes, the devs here, like those for Rocket League, love games and the communities that support them. The sheer mountains of stuff that is in this $40 “beta” is just plain bullshit in a good way!

    • April 26, 2016 11:20 am

      Yeah for a long time I had only one base, but new players started to build around me and leave these crappy buildings behind, so I pillared a lot of real estate. It got to a point where I needed little outposts to reset the timers on those pillars, and eventually other outposts to collect materials. By now I probably have more land than what the Stranded had in 399 collectively.

      A lot of my animals are claims, that’s why I haven’t tamed in a long time, and have almost none of the new ones. : )

  4. April 28, 2016 3:54 am

    OK so the servers were down tonight for maintenance, and I was messing around with console commands. Holy Crap! The game is even more awesome when you control anything.

    Just have to enable “Admin Login” and when you hit pause it gives you an admin chat box.

    just type “cheat god” “cheat dotame” “cheat giveengrams” and you basically can tame anything, not die, and build everything.

Comments are closed.

