Skip to content

The Story Of Overwatch

April 21, 2016

For those interested in the history of First Person Shooters, or the game Overwatch. I will post part 2 and 3 in the comments when they go live.

The first digital comic, McCree: Train Hopper, was just released, too.

EDIT: GI also has a long article about creating the characters for the game.

And as a bonus for those not interested in Overwatch, I give you OT Jason Bourne!

UPDATE: Part 2 and 3 are up! THIS is gaming journalism! WOOT!

11 Comments
  1. April 21, 2016 5:11 pm

    More OT

    You always know how much you liked or respected a person when you suddenly read of their passing. Prince is gone. The breadth and depth of his contribution to music and pop culture is little known.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2016/04/22/arts/music/prince-dead.html

    EDIT: And after I wrote this, I got this from Kenai in an e-mail.

    • April 21, 2016 8:50 pm

      So young. Prince was an incredible musician and put on insane performances (you rarely get both gifts).

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 21, 2016 10:58 pm

      Prince was a genius. I was playing his music to my students yesterday & lecturing them about their choices of “music.” I straight out told them that “they wouldn’t recognize genius if it slapped them in the face.” Stop listening to that bubble gum garbage. Then the news of his death hits us this morning. 😦

  2. Blankman permalink*
    April 21, 2016 7:55 pm

    Bring on Jason Bourne! I saw the trailer last night and I was amped. Also, I can’t wait for John Wick 2!

    • April 22, 2016 2:56 am

      Yep, I can’t wait for that movie. I’m ready to go out and buy the original 3, even though I have watched them countless times.

      Kenny, in the Overwatch threads, I came across a Diablo III “Post-Mortem” GDC video (2015). As that series, and that game in particular influences so many others, including The Division, I figured you might find it interesting.

      http://www.gdcvault.com/play/1021776/Against-the-Burning-Hells-Diablo

      Overview: The road from Diablo III to Reaper of Souls was a long and difficult one for the development team. Join Diablo game director Joshua Mosqueira as he discusses the hows and whys behind the seismic shifts in gameplay, core philosophy, itemization and rewards. Learn about how the team managed to remove the controversial Auction House, about the evolution of randomness at the heart of the Diablo experience, and how the value of focusing on the fantasy guided this and other major decisions.

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 22, 2016 10:01 am

      Thanks for the link, Suns! Diablo 3’s path to righting the ship was a long one. Many of The Division’s fans have suggested to Massive that they take a serious look on how Blizzard improved their game. I feel that Massive has done a good job so far shutting down the exploits and bugs within a week with some of the serious ones as well as implementing gear sets, Dark Zone supply drops, vendor crafting blueprints rotation, etc. However, there’s always room for improvement.

      Last night, we wrecked a team of rogues that tried to push us. They tried to seek revenge and we wrecked them again. The only thing that could have topped the adrenaline and euphoria would have been if I had done it with the usual suspects in this community.

  3. April 22, 2016 8:43 am

    I don’t even know how many times I’ve watched the Bourne movies (all 4 of them are spectacular). Bring on #5!!!!

    On another note, I just saw that the Magnificent 7 has been re-made.

  4. April 23, 2016 6:54 pm

    Part 2 and 3 are up! Embedded in Original Post above.

  5. April 24, 2016 7:10 am

    This is the story of me with ALL gaming!

    Bwahahahaahahahahaha!!!

    https://www.penny-arcade.com/news/post/2016/04/22/performance-anxiety

  6. April 24, 2016 8:05 pm

    I was mistaken. The Overwatch “beta” should be open to everyone from May 5-9th. For some, that may be more than enough. Anyway, it will give those interested a chance to try it without investing anything.

    Happy Sunday, everyone.

    Already back at my desk Monday morning, marking and lesson prep all caught up.

  7. April 28, 2016 3:08 am

    Now IGN has their shot at the history of the game. Content is different, so for those interested, here it is.

Comments are closed.

