Skip to content

Gears 4: The Nightmare Reborn

April 10, 2016
tags:
by

This is not a rick roll, but I am not going to be available when the video is released so I am creating a new post/thread for it when it does.

Here it is!  Hello darkness my old friend!

I saw a snippet in the Official Gears of War Twitter with a COG running through a forest battling some fast creature (embedded below). It looks awesome and is a complete surprise for me. I keep thinking caverns, not forests. Feel free to embed the video here, or just drop a link in the comments and I will fix it later. Enjoy! Probably my favorite campaign gaming of all time is getting a new chapter and it looks great.

https://twitter.com/GearsofWar
https://gearsofwar.com/en-us

https://www.reddit.com/r/GearsOfWar/

56 Comments
  1. April 10, 2016 7:05 pm

    I’m excited! Only 2 hrs left. Hopefully our reaction to GOW4 isn’t “The Nightmare (GOW2) Reborn”.

  2. April 10, 2016 10:16 pm

    Outstanding!!! I don’t know if this is the entirety of “The Nightmare Reborn” announcement, but it sure is great to get back to the great emo trailers! (Too bad I just heard that song (for the first time) in a different context.)

    (Embedding it into the post proper.)

    And for those who want to revisit the previous emo trailers, you can find them at this link:
    https://thestranded.wordpress.com/2015/07/09/gears-of-war-trailers/

  3. April 11, 2016 7:47 am

    Undoubtedly my favorite of all of them because of the three generations of men, and the beautiful mother/wife in between. They NAILED it! No wonder Rod was excited to share this.

  4. April 11, 2016 10:13 am

    I thought it was really good! I too had just heard the cover of the song shortly before seeing this. It definitely fit in with GOW trailers of the past.

  5. RoBBins permalink*
    April 11, 2016 10:47 am

    Loved every second of it. I cant wait for the beta! 1 week and counting!

    • RoBBins permalink*
      April 11, 2016 10:50 am

      Also, is it possible that the woman in the trailer ISN’T Anya? Seems kinda silly to suggest, but she looks somewhat different than what I remember Anya looking like. Maybe she’s just older in this trailer. Who knows…

    • April 11, 2016 5:40 pm

      By all accounts, it is Anya, but the fact that she has changed is no surprise. With every game she changed greatly. In fact, her buxom bosom is most similar to the model in Gears 1, I think. So, take off her uniform, put her in the pasture in a sun dress and voila!

      And look at Zos pimpin’ Titanfall 2. Man has an attention span of a gnat! 😉 😀

  6. April 11, 2016 2:06 pm

    Also: Titanfall 2

    I wonder if they are running on source still :p

  7. April 11, 2016 6:42 pm

    Ok, now we are getting back to the wacky crap from 2 and 3. Keep it serious, Coalition.

    • April 11, 2016 9:00 pm

      I am not that put off by the various weapon specific executions assuming 1) you can die at any time (making it a risk/reward decision) and 2) they stick to the executions for these kind of things. I am still remotely concerned about the various mechanics getting added, as each one can individually break the game balance.

      Oh and please no stuns.

      There was another quick video out there of a swarm getting head shotted by some explosive thingy. First his head popped from the shot, then his upper torso went flying. Could be entertaining in the context of friendly fire. When they first described the weapon that shoots saw blades that ricochet off walls/cover, all I could think of was the potential to kill many friendlies.

    • April 11, 2016 9:45 pm

      Yeah, no stuns please! Assuming broken and stun are a thing of the past (not a wise assumption but), I think my biggest concern re Gears MPvs is making it too complex for this old 1 or 2 trick pony. I never got good at using meatshields. Too many decisions and possible actions in the heat of battle, especially when it meant I had to use a pistol, and that I could get kicked out of cover etc. etc.. I am not saying that my preferences are best for the franchise, but they are definitely best for me.

      Great point about “pay for the show”. You pick some flashy execution, be prepared to be vulnerable for a while. That was a great fix to the saw in the sequels.

      OK, now I am getting genuinely excited to see what they have to offer.

      @ Kenny below. Great to hear you aren’t done with Gears! That is one banner you can wave that I think most of us can get behind. Probably for the best that the figures won’t be desirable.

    • April 11, 2016 10:06 pm

      I almost name dropped the meat shield in my reply too. Totally agreed, no stupid shit that gets in the way of the core mechanics. Every successful competitive shooter sticks to the fundamental K.I.S.S. rule.

    • April 11, 2016 11:07 pm

      Gears lovers think alike!

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 12, 2016 1:42 am

      I did like the mantle kick though.

    • April 12, 2016 1:57 am

      I only got to play Dark Souls 3 for < 20 min. But boy is it good so far. Toppled the first boss first try. Early mobs seem soft compared to previous games, but I hear this game gets brutal fast!

    • April 12, 2016 7:59 am

      Sweet!

    • RoBBins permalink*
      April 12, 2016 5:17 pm

      @Zos, I can honestly say that the mobs and enemies in general get A LOT more difficult and annoying after the 3rd boss. Difficulty has scaled a bit since beating the first 2 bosses for sure. Loving the game regardless. I’m addicted and wish I would’ve played the previous 2.

  8. Blankman permalink*
    April 11, 2016 7:39 pm

    The trailer “fits” with all of the past trailers. Well done & moody. I’ve been mostly keeping myself in the dark about Gears 4 because I don’t want to get overhyped for it, but I can feel it beginning to surge.

    One negative note that I do know is that MS/The Coalition decided to go with McFarlane Toys over Neca for the action figure line. Well, that saves me a bunch of coin from collecting those “action figures.” Todd McFarlane can stick it where the sun doesn’t shine!

  9. April 12, 2016 8:10 am

    https://www.reddit.com/r/GearsOfWar/comments/4efio3/gears_of_war_4_beta_tdm_gameplay/

    “Smoke stun is back”

    Bwahahahahahahaha!

    I may have to wait till it goes cheap and just buy it for the campaign. From the beginning I have been grateful for UE. That is almost certainly where I will forever scratch that itch.

    • April 12, 2016 10:22 am

      The nIghtmare is indeed reborn. Frankly, this doesn’t looks very good (at all). Smoke stun was universally hated, but at least it appears it only prevents firing your weapon momentarily (not actually stunning animation), this could also get removed before release if they aren’t some kinda of sick bastards. It is especially frustrating because the actual smoke generated looks to provide a good visual cover.

      The pacing seems better, but the animations look bad. It also appears to have that strange fluid movement that makes controlling characters feel unpredictable. You could have honestly told me this was GOW3 and I wouldn’t have been able to tell a difference.

      Now, to be fair GOW3 is by far the most popular entry in the series for MP. So it’s clear why they went that route. The “beloved” series brings some of the worst types of gamers ever (surpassing even the notorious Halo crowds).

      Definitely lost my interest though. Similar to looking at a beautiful women, only to find she is wearing an adult-diaper that is filled to the brim with steaming shit.

      I will still try the beta.

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 13, 2016 12:27 pm

      For Pete’s sake! Smoke stuns are back?!? Have they learned nothing from the abysmal MP failures of Gears 2? It looks like Cliffy B’s stench has permeated Rod’s thinking. As Zos mentioned, the character animations look terrible. I’m glad that I purposely kept myself in the dark about Gears 4 because it makes the disappointment less devastating.

      We’ll all still try the beta, but if they don’t fix a lot of the already glaring issues with the MP, this will be the first Gears game that will not be a day one purchase for me. Damn it.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      April 12, 2016 11:37 am

      Obviously this is an alpha or even pre-alpha build, but good lord it looks terrible. It has the weird looking mantle animation that Gears 2 had, and smoke stuns being back is one mistake I never thought Rod would bring back to Gears. The new weapon looks extremely bland and boring, the Dropshot or whatever it’s called.

      After watching that, my pre-order will be held back until after the beta is over and we see some newer, more polished footage. Watching that whole video was like going downstairs Christmas morning as a kid all excited, only to remember that you’re jewish. Huge kick in the love sack. Color me disappointed. Ironically, this is right after I tweet Rod saying I have confidence in his team. WTF.

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 13, 2016 12:32 pm

      That line about being Jewish on Christmas morning had me cracking up RoBBins! That’s the only thing that’s brought a smile to my face in this thread of disappointment.

    • April 12, 2016 3:24 pm

      Guy who was playing it said it was the Beta. I guess staring at Ark on the xbone daily has made the graphics look “ok” to me. It was a SP only discount game for me anyways so under those lowered expectations the MP is alright.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      April 13, 2016 10:51 am

      Not sure if I trust that guy then. All of the little clips they’re releasing for the game now look much better graphically than the video in this post. I guess we’ll have to wait until Monday to find out!

  10. April 13, 2016 11:51 pm

    OT

    Bunch of Open Betas

    https://majornelson.com/2016/04/13/upcoming-xbox-open-beta-release-schedule/

    Highlighting DOOM this weekend. It is free, and since I have no intention of ever buying it, all the more reason to download and try it this weekend.

    • April 14, 2016 12:45 am

      The last one was fun but 1) nobody here will buy it 2) I don’t seeing it gathering a large player base on console.

    • April 14, 2016 2:42 am

      Battleborn is fun. Really loved how they did the MOBA elements in a simplistic way. I know the whole “Gearbox killed my puppy” thing but really… Overwatch on the consoles is $20 more than on PC and it’s MP-only, and not only that is very heavy skill based shooter.

      Battleborn on the other hand is a game that doesn’t take itself seriously. It has AI like other MOBA (Smite, LoL, etc.) and it’s more reliant on strategy rather than aim skills. In fact one of the best ways to level up is building stuff in the game, not necessarily killing.

      The co-op feels like competitive co-op. The minimal loot is shared on the entire game. It really has that sleeper hit feel of PvZ.

      It’s far from perfect. I would have loved the open world section from PvZ2, in fact I would have loved open world anything, because it does feel like you can’t sit back and relax. Which is weird because it’s heavily based on the absurd silly raunchy fun of borderlands.

      But anyways, on consoles I would definitely pick up Battleborn before Overwatch. Try it.

    • April 15, 2016 4:16 am

      Ok, I watched Cornie play for about 5 minutes and that was enough. Don’t want it. Gigantic is the closest I think that I will ever get to the MOBA genre for gameplay, and Battleborn art and colors are blinding, and not in a good way. Not my cup of tea, from a dev I dislike intensely.

      Actually, I won’t be buying Overwatch either, but that is because Cornie will be and my Xbox is his home machine. Regardless, it looks like something I will try until I absolutely cannot do anything to help my team. Depending on the classes, that maybe sooner than later.

    • April 15, 2016 8:58 am

      Really? Well just a heads up. Overwatch is colorful and cartoonish too. Has 21 characters and the roles are more specialized than Battleborn.

      Now the main difference here, not sure if you saw it in 5 minutes, is that in Battleborn when the AI wave comes out, it gives you a window to get out of the line of fire. As well as different points in the map where you can capture the AI and tip the balance in your favor.

      Overwatch doesn’t have that. It’s straight up pvp. The main difference is that if you are the weakest link, you will be either leveling up the other team with kills or not being part of the action enough to make a difference, and it goes south really quick because it has the MOBA levelling too.

    • April 15, 2016 5:38 pm

      Overwatch is cartoonish or brightly colored! The difference is that I like it and it doesn’t hurt my eyes, where as Battleborn does, and I don’t like the art – just like I don’t like the art design in Destiny. 100% subjective opinion.

      Also, I tried the MOBA idea in Gigantic and was surprised by how much I didn’t enjoy it (I wanted to like it because I love the art design in that game.

      Overwatch isn’t just Deathmatch, there are Objectives and a player who has a horrible K/D can still be the strong link that gives his team the win if he is the one completing the objective while everyone else is slaying.

    • April 16, 2016 2:20 am

      Hey man I stand corrected. If the right brand of colorful fast paced shooter is Overwatch, then that’s awesome. Cornie will love it. In fact, I might get it on the xbone after watching more video side by side with Battleborn, and there is just no way I will get up to speed on mouse and keyboard by June.

      Also Ark might have rentable servers at some point according to the devs in the forum. That’s one of the reasons I wanted a PC, and since now we are able to have server commands in SP and player dedicated/non-dedicated, would be able to control the game just like the PC.

    • April 16, 2016 5:16 pm

      I replied below.

    • April 14, 2016 7:34 am

      Thanks for the heads-up, Frenik. I was hoping that Overwatch would have some classes that weren’t heavy skilled based, but if that is what it is all about, all the more reason Cornie will love it.

      If I get any time at all, I will give Battleborn a try.

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 14, 2016 10:08 am

      In a sense, Gearbox did “kill my puppy” because the Aliens franchise holds a special place in my heart. I find it unscrupulous that Randy Pitchford/Gearbox pores their efforts into their own IP, but takes the money & hires a third party for titles that aren’t theirs. Their treatment of Aliens: Colonial Marines is a glaring example for not hiring them again for any project that isn’t theirs. They straight out lied to their publisher, customers, and the gaming press about that shitty ass game. I’ll pass on everything that they touch regardless of the free demo. I hope Overwatch crushes Battleborn’s sales.

    • April 15, 2016 8:44 am

      To me it looked bad from the beginning when you guys were posting gameplay videos. I wasn’t caught off guard by the stinkyness of the game. Now did they screw Sega? Yes they did, and got sued for it. Did Borderlands 2, end up better because of it? yes it did. Did you guys end up playing tons of BL2? yep you did.

      Now if we were to judge every developer that embelishes their games to get initial sales, oh man we would be running out of developers very quickly.

      The other thing is I am really interested in the games, not Randy Pitchford.

      I can watch a Roman Polanski movie without thinking he is a pos human being, because I am watching his movie not his life.

      I didn’t buy Duke Nukem and I didn’t but A:CM, not because I was making a statement with my purchases, but simply because they looked like they sucked.

      Battleborn may still suck in the end. Which is why I may not get it full price, but to completely disregard it because of something else other than the game itself would be silly.

      Heck if that were the case I wouldn’t have picked up Destiny. I hated how they embellished Halo: Reach about the graphics, and the replayability. Neither turned out to be true. Yet Destiny paid itself many times over and it’s still good.

    • April 14, 2016 3:25 pm

      For me, it even cost me 15 dollars just to ship that POS back to Play Asia because the state of the game was made public after it shipped. The potential for a totally awesome squad based Aliens game was fantastic, and Gearbox outright lied to everyone about it. I may try the free beta, but I won’t be buying. (I didn’t want to get into all of this last night before I went to bed, but it is how I have felt since A:CM. – and for me, I never could get into Borderlands because of the micromanagement. So the only thing Gearbox has done that I liked is port Halo:Combat Evolved to PC). LOL!

  11. April 14, 2016 10:48 am

    http://www.ign.com/articles/2016/04/14/gears-of-war-4-multiplayer-beta-preview-nice-to-saw-you-again?read

    — Gears of War 4 Includes Microtransactions for Cosmetic Items 🙂

    — The tagline for the IGN Preview =
    “If you like Gears of War 3, you’re in for a treat.”

    — ” New franchise boss Rod Fergusson was careful to position Gears 4 as a successor to Gears 3, distancing the new game from 2013’s divisive Judgment offshoot. “Evolution, not revolution” is how Fergusson put it, and after playing for a while, it’s clear that’s exactly where Gears 4 is headed. ”

    What the fuck happened to the “big changes” Rod was alluding too previously? The last thing GOW needs is “another gradual iteration”. F

    • RoBBins permalink*
      April 14, 2016 10:59 am

      Has anyone else noticed how insanely strong the Lancer looks?! Also, around the 2:40 mark in that IGN video, the person using the Dropshot shoots one right over top 2 players and it does absolutely nothing. The shenanigans are in full force already!

      Also also, I dont like the whole pulling players from out of cover mechanic. I know that one of the guys from Coalition confirmed that there is a way to counter it, but still…. cover is the main aspect of the gameplay. Why allow players to be pulled out of it in the first place?

    • April 14, 2016 11:40 am

      The pull person out of cover mechanic is madness. That + mantle kick alone strongly push people from using cover at all. The brilliance of cover in GOW, is that it is used strategically. Many intense fights have players on opposite ends of the same piece of cover.

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 14, 2016 11:42 am

      It’s so contradictory how Gears was intended to be the definitive cover-based game and yet with every game, they try to go against that philosophy. It’s not an evolution of the game if it devolves into something only remotely resembling what it was. I don’t remember which developer stated that gamers pretty much want the same experience regardless of how many sequels and iterations that the initial game spawns. Heck, it might have been Cliffy himself. Gears UE is pretty much the redux of what we had been asking for since the original title launched. It’s just a shame that they kept the two-piecing in.

      The most likely explanation for the Lancer’s increased power is to offer a viable alternative to the Gnasher shottie. Look, just let players play how they want to. Stop trying to screw with the Gears 1 formula. They tried it with stopping power, smoke/stun grenades (and they’re back now), the Digger (now named the Dropshot), etc. The only thing that I liked was the mantle kick, and that took three games to implement a mechanic that made some sense.

  12. April 14, 2016 3:40 pm

    I have been reading all the comments regarding Gears 4 but I have two back-to-back killer days of work this year – Wed&Thurs – and couldn’t get into it then.

    I was saying to Cornie last night, even if they remove crap like smoke stun between Beta and Release, the fact that they would consider it (a universally hated mechanic that was removed) for even just a second is an utter breach of trust between the fan/consumer and the developer.

    The same morons that had me so disappointed with Gears 2 and 3 – we only played Gears 3 MPvs for 2 weekends – are back at the helm!?! How is that even possible?! So, what, are fans supposed to spend 8 months after launch begging and pleading with the Coalition to get them to “fix” the game? I am amazed! Of all the scenarios, that is simply one I had not anticipated.

    They keep ragging on Judgment, which was the best since Gears 1, but Gears 4 MP looks 100% like Bulletstorm…and that is better to imitate than Judgment?! I am ready to get personal. Rod has to cut back on the drinking. He gotta do the 12 steps.

    • April 14, 2016 5:17 pm

      I am thinking M$ is forcing them to take the easiest road. GOW3 is far and beyond the most popular iteration of the series. Maybe M$ is strong arming them in a safe direction (gears 3.5). Incredibly disappointing. We will see with the beta, but even if it is fun, I don’t see there being lasting appeal.

      If you were wanting to add some insult to injury, the game launches with only 10 maps, 9 are new maps. I wonder how much the “good maps” will cost post launch?

    • April 14, 2016 5:47 pm

      And one of those maps will be that bullsh!t map in the videos – definitely a Horde map – huge and open like a football field. It is comical in its stupidity! And no, The Coalition doesn’t get to cry “M$” pressure. That is all on them, and the Drunk. I’m taking back my “favorite Ginger” title. My panties are all twisted and in a knot. If I could, I would slap his face effeminately.

      But, we have UE, and that shit is darn near perfect, just have to keep your distance from the 2 piecers.

  13. April 14, 2016 3:53 pm

    And now for good news!

    OT (LOL!)

    https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2016/apr/14/cutting-edge-theatre-worlds-first-virtual-reality-operation-goes-live

    THIS is an application for VR that I can get behind, and it has this hobby of gaming to thank for it.

    • April 14, 2016 5:14 pm

      Very cool! Also, how impacted were you by quake?

    • April 14, 2016 5:44 pm

      Not at all. Thank you for asking. It was on the south island of Kyuushuu. The beauty about living where four, that’s FOUR tectonic plates merge, is that while one part of the country may have a fatal earthquake, a couple of miles away they may feel next to nothing. It is crazy, and crazier that they would ever think it a good idea to use nuclear power!

    • April 15, 2016 12:05 am

      That is good to hear!

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 15, 2016 3:18 pm

      7.0 is a whopper of an earthquake! I’m glad to hear that you guys are alright, Suns!

  14. April 15, 2016 3:10 am

    After the initial shock, is it possible that they can spin this to make it fun?

    http://www.gameinformer.com/b/features/archive/2016/04/14/5-things-to-know-about-gears-of-war-4-s-multiplayer.aspx

    Admittedly, the dodgeball gametype sounds like it could be fun.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      April 15, 2016 10:55 am

      The new competitive mode is called “Escalation”. We all know anything with that name is going to be awful LOL.

    • April 15, 2016 11:01 am

      I laughed when I saw that was the name they chose. At this point it feels like trolling lol.

      I’m still excited to try the beta, I never even heard the mention of execution (the unique mode that actually made GOW stand out). It is what it is, my expectations are so low now that It will probably be somewhat better than I am expecting.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      April 15, 2016 11:49 am

      Yeah I’m in the same boat with ya, Zos. All I can hope for is that the beta is somewhat enjoyable since we have to deal with smoke stuns and the pulling out of cover crap. I like that DLC maps will be released monthly, and for private games only the host will need the map for everyone to play, but other than that there really isn’t anything else to be excited for.

      Hopefully the SP will live up to the rest of the series. Otherwise this Gears will be completely FUBAR.

    • April 15, 2016 6:00 pm

      I am quite confident that the SP campaign won’t disappoint. Even the one that was rated least among them, Judgment, was very cool (if a little short). They may surprise me on that bit, too, but I think campaign will be ok.

      The DLC model is fine as long as The Coalition doesn’t purposefully fill the map rotation with inappropriate maps, forcing people to set up private rooms. If the game mechanics are enjoyable, I will gladly pay for the maps and only one of us needs to.

      Dodgeball is a brilliant idea for a gametype in the Gears 1 universe, where players quite often pull off 1v4 comebacks. I am very curious to see how it works with the Gears 3.5 mechanics.

      Also, I haven’t had a chance to visit with you guys at all over the past…months. If I can, I will jump on after work (2pm my time) and then just quit early so that I can still get some work done around the house before night time.

      Played some Rocket League with Cornie and had a great time last night. Got a hat trick even, but it was trueskill matchmaking and I bring the level way down. 😉

  15. April 16, 2016 5:15 pm

    Frenik, bringing this down here because of space.

    After the Gears 4 smoke stun info, Cornie and I spent some time this week very, very seriously looking at graphics cards and PCs, with Ark and Overwatch in mind. The comments everywhere are that even with a double Titan ($1000×2) machine, there are framerate issues etc. 😦 We were ready to pull the trigger and set up a PC but decided against it.

    Ark isn’t optimized at all, and the whole PC affair is much more expensive than it should be.

    Second, apparently, you can use a mouse and keyboard for the Xbox One version of Ark!!

    http://www.express.co.uk/entertainment/gaming/637832/ARK-Survival-Evolved-Xbox-One-Servers-split-screen-PC-PS4

    And for more shortcuts on controller:
    http://ark.gamepedia.com/Controls

    We may still get a cheap ($70 or so) graphics card for our PC, which has a fantastic motherboard, but we have given up on the idea that we will make Ark better by investing a couple hundred on suping up our PC.

Trackbacks

  1. Gears 4 Beta Impressions Thread | The Stranded

Comments are closed.

