Skip to content

Basketball and Podcasts

April 9, 2016
by

Two years have passed since I stopped participating in the morning practices with the basketball team.  I haven’t managed to find anything to replace that very necessary fitness routine, and I am not feeling good about it.  Even just walking is better than nothing, but boredom has kept me away. That is, until this morning. When I woke up, at my customary 4am, I realized that all I needed was some interesting podcasts to spice up my walks. I stopped by 99 Percent Invisible and came across a fascinating and timely podcast, The Yin and Yang of Basketball (suggestions for other great podcasts welcome). It is an excellent, brief history of the evolution of basketball with lots of great audio bits, including Pop’s whining about the 3 point “circus” shot , which is more relevant now than ever.

I paid my dues and have access to all the NBA playoff and regular season games.  I am looking forward to watching the Clippers/Spurs 2015 playoff round which I missed last year.  And more pressingly, to watching the Warriors at the Spurs on Sunday.  In a chat with Frenik this morning, we agreed that comparing eras is a ridiculous proposition.  That doesn’t mean, however, that we can’t enjoy the best of this era like we did the best of previous eras.  I watched yesterday’s Spurs/Warriors game on demand and two things popped out at me.  Curry ain’t afraid of the paint,

and, the Spurs look pretty silly when they are passing the ball around the perimeter, with no Warriors guarding them because…the Warriors don’t need to (either because Pop won’t let ’em shoot, or most of them will miss, I don’t know).  There was undoubtedly a lot more to see in that game, but that is what my ever-green eye picked up.  Oh, and I love Kawhi Leonard.

Again, if any of you have any favorite podcasts let me know what they are.  I darn well better be needing them, and gettin’ my butt of the couch.  Also, let us know any thoughts you have on the upcoming playoffs.  Cheers!

 

 

5 Comments
  1. April 10, 2016 12:46 pm

    http://www.dancarlin.com/hardcore-history-series/

    I’d start with Blueprint For Armageddon. It covers WW1 and I think is a good introduction to the series!

  2. Herandar permalink
    April 10, 2016 11:45 pm

    Seconded Hardcore History. Start with the oldest one you can grab, though.

    Most of the stuff I listen to is radio programs, however. Got sick of most of the dedicated podcasts I tried, unless it’s focused on a topic I am passionate about. (I’m not passionate about much.)

    I listen to the morning radio show (Preston & Steve) from WMMR in Philly more than anything else, because I listened to them 20 years ago. They do get a fair share of non-local podcast converts that know nothing of Philadelphia. It’s got a broad sense of humor without being mean and five shows a week. (That’s like nearly two years worth of HH.)

  3. April 11, 2016 2:55 am

    Downloaded every free episode and a bunch more from 99%. They also provide a list of podcasts they recommend.

    (Everything I listen to for the purposes of my walks has to be downloadable. I have no access to the net when walking).

    Thanks, Guys!

  4. July 1, 2016 7:38 pm

    Of the more than twenty free, Dan Carson Hardcore History podcasts (at 4+ hours a piece), I only have three left. Have enjoyed digging into war history.

    Today, I just came across War College. From what I can tell, it looks pretty good.

Comments are closed.

