Skip to content

Oculus Rift – Launch Titles

March 16, 2016
by

The list of 30 launch titles with their “comfort” level.

I am still mystified by Microsoft’s new plans for the Xbox brand. Only heavily subsidized hardware with a library of Xbox-only exclusives, is going to keep people from jumping out. These are just the Oculus Rift titles. HTC-Vive is supposed to be several steps above this, as in offering darn near Holodeck experiences.Β  Right now, there are definitely more questions than answers.

 

24 Comments
  1. March 16, 2016 7:12 pm

    The competition will be interesting. All three major companies are all supportive of each other in these early stages.

    It should be noted that Sony has announced 50+ titles coming to PSVR be end of year. HTC Vive has the smallest library of the 3 options.

    The Vive is definitely the Cadillac of the three experiences (with additional expense). The biggest problem they face, is that their experiences (while very immersive) require an entire bedroom to work properly (without objects to interfere). In terms of core visual fidelity, they are all 3 very similar (Oculus/Vive are obviously better if you have a great rig, but their max output resolutions are roughly the same (for limiting screendoor).

    Microsoft’s announcements have been very interesting/unexpected recently:

    1) Opening easy cross platform development with PC.
    2) Opening full cross platform networking with PS4/PC
    3) SQL for Linux (already hugely successful).
    4) Hinting at iterative hardware adjustments for XB1.
    5) Hinting at merging of PC and Xbox ecosystems entirely.
    6) Universal Windows (PC) apps coming to XB1 in a few months.

    These are all major announcements, that have been dropping like they ain’t no thang. Microsoft has alluded to a lot more to come at //Build and e3.

  2. Blankman permalink*
    March 16, 2016 10:01 pm

    It’s baffling that MS is taking the “wait & see” approach as in regards to VR. They were smart about the motion-controlled fad with Kinect on the 360 and choosing not to jump onto the 3-D HDTV bandwagon. However, VR-gaming is now a reality. HoloLens isn’t necessarily the answer. If MS doesn’t address the VR arena other than their “partnership” with Oculus, the console divide is only going to widen.

    PSVR’s specs and its support of the entire PS4 game library is surprising. I thought that it was simply going to be vaporware, but it’s going to be a very real peripheral. I’m actually shocked that Sony took that leap considering how dire their financial situation is even though the PS4 has been a runaway success for them.

    • Herandar permalink
      March 16, 2016 10:34 pm

      No, I think not pairing up yet makes sense. For better or worse, the VR options being presented this year are in a format war. There’s no guarantee that any of these will be viable options releasing new games in five years. The Vive could end up being the Betamax while PSVR ends up being as popular as VHS was. Microsoft doesn’t need to partner up with Oculus without remembering the HD-DVD drive accessory they released for the 360. PlayStation 3 being able to play BluRay discs helped Sony catch up. If they partner up now and they pick the eventual loser, well…

      I personally am super excited for VR, but I’m going to wait until it is a proven reliable option before I jump on board.

    • March 16, 2016 10:58 pm

      (written after my comment below)

      Herandar, yes, I was actually writing that exact thing when I posted about Oculus this morning. I ended up just cutting that part out because I didn’t have time to develop it. My comment below is more regarding the XBox brand. Microsoft as owner of both Xbox and the leading PC OS, has the flexibility to stand back again. As regards the Xbox One, however, they are completely effed for this generation. Now, the only people who should be buying Xbox are those who cannot do without the exclusives like Gears 4, or their friends who have already jumped in.

      If I still had my pennies, I would almost for sure skip the consoles altogether, buy a nice PC (or just upgrade what I’ve got), get an Elite Controller, and be very, very happy, with all my options open, including the hope of Gears 4 coming to PC.

    • March 16, 2016 10:50 pm

      Thing is, for the short term at least, MS is completely effed. The PS4 is both perceived as a better piece of hardware, and now has a peripheral to continue selling that line all the way to the bank.

      If the HoloLens were packaged with Minecraft, had a wider FOV and a price tag under that of a used car for a student, it could be a wonderful counter to Sony’s VR. But none of that is true. If I were a Sony fanboi, I would be “Bwahahahahaha”-ing all over this. I’m not, and have no interest in ever getting a PlayStation of any number.

      I am, however, wondering why in the world I would ever want to buy another Xbox when I can have the “milk” for free. On PC, I can use party chat and will soon be able to play games cross network?! I will spent 50 bucks a year for that, and be done with it.

      As it is right now, we get all the inconvenience of the PC (ALL games shipped broken, endless patches and downloads, crashing), but none of the benefits (framerates, resolution, community content, meaningful sales) anymore. Like, none.

  3. March 16, 2016 11:15 pm

    I have to come back to this, and take it to a “darker” place. If I lived in North America, where a person actually gets something when the sell used hardware, I would very seriously consider jumping out while I could still salvage some of my investment.

    What are the games I want to play and am looking forward to?

    PvZ:GW2
    Overwatch
    The Division
    Gears 4

    All of which are on, or probably coming to PC, and then a bunch of titles only scheduled for PC, like Ad1ft, No Man’s Sky, Stardew Valley,

    The beauty of it is, we don’t even have to say “I’ll switch if you do” because we can stay in touch anyway with cross platform, cross party chat!

    Now, if this is what I am thinking, what are the other non-Xbox owners, fence sitters, thinking?

  4. Blankman permalink*
    March 17, 2016 2:42 am

    The more and more posts about the XB1 that are authored by you; makes you sound like a troll, Suns. Now before you go stroking out, let me explain my comment. If I didn’t know you, I’d think that you have such a disdain for “jumping in” that you’re grasping for anything negative to throw at MS. For all of the positive things that Spencer & crew have done, the XB1 is far from a failure. The console is still making money hand over fist. The fact remains that it is overselling its predecessor, the 360, by a large margin when compared to the same lifecycle of the consoles, respectively. It’s just that Sony is selling the PS4 by 2:1. Great for them, but their attachment rate pales in comparison to the XB1. Both EA & Ubisoft have confirmed this. That means that even though there are more PS4 consoles out there in the wild, the XB1 is still selling more games despite the wide gap in actual consoles sold. That fact is significant when looking at purchasing trends because for every game sold, MS gets their licensing cut.

    I, personally, do not regret purchasing the XB1. No one dragged me kicking and screaming to purchase it day one. I’m encouraged by the direction that Spencer & Nadella have and are taking the Xbox system. If you’re so enamored by all that PC gaming has to offer, you know exactly where it is. Being able to play on my 52-inch LCD HDTV while sitting on my couch is much more comfortable than ruining my posture hunched over looking at a monitor. I’ve been there and done that. As I grow older, that’s not my sense of relaxation when the ergonomics aren’t conducive for my enjoyment. Also, building a PC isn’t cheap. I don’t have $250-300 to drop on a graphics card when it’s practically the same cost of a console.

    Sony fanbois “Bwahaha-ing?” Really? I’m surprised you even went there. Dude, you know that those clowns are some of the most hateful and delusional “gamers” out there. They lambast MS when they’ve paid for timed exclusivity in the previous generation, but praise Sony when they adopt the same exact strategy for this one. The amount of talking out the side of their mouth is staggering. I don’t need to go into every detail because we’ve known about all of them. Their arrogance speaks volumes alone.

    I don’t want you taking what I’ve said as a personal attack, but read your last two posts in this thread and see if you don’t get the vibe that I got. You know that I’m always going to call anyone out. Just know that I love you, bro. πŸ™‚

    As far as MS not jumping into the VR arena just yet; that’s a great take, Herandar. Format wars wind up decimating the losing side; supporters and all. I still have a decent collection of HD-DVDs and the 360 HD-DVD peripheral. Sheesh.

  5. March 17, 2016 3:24 am

    Kenny, thank you for taking a non-inflammatory approach in response. I was in no way trying to bait anyone, honestly. We have all been “trolled” and it isn’t a pleasant experience. I wouldn’t wish it on anyone. That wasn’t my intent.

    I want to discuss this more, but I can see that it would best be done in a party chat because there my statements will be come across as less harsh, and I can more quickly explain them.

    Having said that, I will address one comment you made regarding the ergonomics because it deals with a point of fact rather than emotion.

    The monitors I use for my PC are 1080p, which is the same specs or less than an HDTV. Costco is now selling 4K TVs with 120Hz refresh rates for under $1500, and if I want a cheaper 1080p TV of any size, I pay per inch, basically starting at a much lower amount. Steam provides Big Screen navigation mode, made specifically for running on TVs, and PCs are flexible for resolution switching. So, the days of having to play a computer game in front of a small computer monitor are in the past, as are having to play with mouse and keyboard thanks to Microsoft’s push both of both Xbox and now Xbox Elite controllers.

    Good points about previous generations and revenue for MS. Sincerely, I always forget that because of the pole position in this race. The 360 was the first console I bought that I wanted that “won” the generation (and if units sold are the measurement, even then, they actually lost – edit – to the Wii). It was nice being on top, as well as being a success. πŸ™‚

    • March 17, 2016 6:08 am

      I think you were right on the money, besides PC building isn’t that expensive compared to what you get on a console with outdated hardware. We just bought one for $750 that was on sale from $1250.

      It will run overwatch on high without a problem. Depending on how it goes, I will get another one for Ark.

      I really miss the days when a game or two were kept alive by mods, servers, etc.

      By not having to purchase the flavor of the month on a console to keep the gaming fresh, it will be easy to pay for upgrades as time goes on.

      I don’t think you were trolling, just able to write here things that you otherwise have to quiet down in chat or soften it up to not cause an argument, but your points were valid.

    • March 17, 2016 10:31 am

      I think the big arguments for going console (over PC) are:

      — Cost of entry. The visual fidelity you get for 299$ is pretty much unmatched on PC. And even if you were somehow able to build a rig that ran games visually comparable to XB1, in 2-3 years your games could look potentially worse, as they are optimized for console hardware. (look at the end of cycle last gen for 360. The specs were incredibly outdated, but visually games did not look as bad as they would on PC. In fact, most games minimum specs to even run were much higher than the 360’s specs.

      — Ease of use and the “couch” interface. A lot of us are “monitor” gamers, so it makes no difference, but the majority of console gamers are playing on a TV/couch. I have used steam Big Screen a lot in the past (when I ran HDMI from my PC to my TV) but it’s not even close to a console OS where everything is front and center and quickly accessible.

      I think Microsoft will still be promoting iterative (yearly) console versions, and I think they will sell well (and be the best option for a lot of people). Essentially, they are just giving consumers more options on how they want to play their games. PC/Xbox chat is already a thing, games are coming. If Sony ends up allowing cross-play with XB1 (they sound open to it) I can even see a 3rd party developer making a universal voice app on Win/Xb1 and PS4.

      Anyway, Microsoft is following the classic MadMen advice “If you don’t like what they are saying about you, change the conversation”. Due to Microsoft’s idiotic launch this generation, they have lost any ground in being the “top selling console”. This being said, they have actually sold a considerable amount of XB1s (thanks to the increased volume of console sales overall this generation). Microsoft is not a company that relys on the Xbox’s success to keep food on the table, and I think they are already working on their “next” business strategies.

      Truly as a gamer, this is where we should WANT Microsoft. Look at all the work they have done in the last couple of years, and the feature looks exciting. In fact, look at how strong Sony has been this gen learning from last generations mistakes (as much as Microsoft face planted, Sony has also been doing a lot of good things to warrant those sales).

    • March 17, 2016 7:56 pm

      Again that’s if you are assuming the regular console game consumption.

      If anyone is going to PC it would be about putting longer legs to a specific game rather than getting into the purchase frenzy 2-3 years down the road.

      So again if my game of choice is Ark, Overwatch, etc. Those games will not look worse than if I bought them on the xbone for the next 2-3 years.

      Yet the main benefit is all about what is given during that amount of time and what it costs.

      My son’s prior computer was a perfect example, it pretty much stopped at near xbox one graphics. But the amount of games we were able to get from steam sales, and the longevity of those games many times it outmatched my 360 to xbox one library.

      Looking back we could have easily bought another computer, a long time ago.

      As far as “Couch Gaming” goes I think that’s highly debatable anyways now that splitscreen is a dying feature, and most shooters are fast paced now.

      I wouldn’t game on a 52″ TV and on a couch for Black Ops 3 for example. The posture and the distance is just not right. A nice computer monitor and a nice computer chair make a world of difference.

      Now a game like The Last of Us on a PS4 on a big TV and Couch makes sense.

      I think that’s the bottom line anyways. If this the main hobby it isn’t about Sony vs. Xbox, or consoles vs. PC. Being adults means we can set aside money and buy all of the options available.

  6. March 17, 2016 10:40 am

    OT: Reviews are beginning to come in for The Division (its a mixed bag so far). A lot of the biggest outlets seem more critical.

    IGN = 6.7

    Polygon = 7.0

    Escapist = 7.0

    I am still very early in the game. I have found the initial missions a lot of fun (even solo). From that I have read, some of my primary concerns seem to be main critical points. I think this game will have a similar experience as Destiny, where the content available within the year after launch greatly improves the experience.

    Frankly though, the lack of providing review copies still seems kinda shady.

    • March 17, 2016 8:12 pm

      Well they actually screwed whoever went all in for the $100.

      I seriously doubt the DLC will change things drastically any time soon and if Destiny is any indication we can expect a all DLC bundle with all the improvements for $60 by next year.

      The lack of reviews was smart. They got their initial sales, they can sell it as a best selling new IP and by the time reviews hit and people start maxing out, everyone that was interested in buying it or on the fence, probably pulled the trigger by now.

  7. March 17, 2016 2:02 pm

    Kinda related, I’ve been looking for a new daily driver for work. I have been tempted by the Razer Blade line of PCs. They are able to game at incredibly high settings for being a slim “ultra book”. The biggest drawback, was the lack of upgrade options for gaming purposes. Now, they are offering an external enclosure that can house most desktop graphics cards. The laptop already comes with a beefy card as it is, but this added card essentially allows your laptop to be relevant as long as the CPU doesn’t become the bottleneck.

    http://www.cnet.com/products/razer-blade-2016/

    Not sure what I am going to do, but this is definitely tempting compared to building my own rig (as I also get a powerful mobile machine out of the deal). I think this concept is also interesting, especially given recent discussions about Xbone.

  8. March 18, 2016 4:04 pm

    Phil can’t get a break:

    http://www.theverge.com/2016/3/18/11264930/xbox-gdc-2016-sexist-event-response

    But his response says a lot about his leadership.

    • March 18, 2016 6:16 pm

      Two things. Phil is a class act, and totally reminiscent of my other favorite personality in the industry, Peter Moore. Second, scantily clad women have been used in every industry to sell almost every product. Are the women being mistreated, forced to do so against their will? No. In these cases, these women are making great money for short work, showing people how beautiful they are. What, they don’t have this in sports, from junior high school on up? Cheerleaders?! Public schools with tax payers money.

      I am done with the university campus, live in a bubble, make up rules to control society with, never work a hard day in your life, suckin’ at the public teat, political correctness. I am offended that they take offense. What are they going to do about my feelings?

      GTFOOHWTBS!

      Go Phil, and don’t cave to the thought control.

    • March 26, 2016 6:02 pm

      WOOT! Major awesome find! Thank you!

  9. March 28, 2016 4:35 pm

    Fascinating read of the transition of IP from Epic to Microsoft.

    http://www.gameinformer.com/b/features/archive/2016/03/28/details-on-epics-abandoned-vision-for-gears-of-war-4.aspx

    • March 29, 2016 1:04 am

      Thanks Zos. Got me motivated to post the story vid. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

