Skip to content

Day Of The Division

March 7, 2016
by

Day 1Herandar is out riding dinosaurs on some island in Costa Rica, but is apparently joining us in taking back New York as soon as he gets back. It launches tonight (March 8 at 00:01 EST) and I look forward to digging in when I get home from work. For those with physical copies (is there anyone?), you can apparently already play it. Check here for the day one patch info. I was hoping to find some impressions on the Launch event, but DUH! that hasn’t even happened yet. LOL Frickin’ timezones get me all confused sometimes.

Feel free to chat, review, divulge, rant, troll, whatever in the comments. And Save the Big Apple.

26 Comments
  1. March 7, 2016 7:14 pm

    So far, meta critic is a 4/10. Apparently the main campaign includes one mission beyond hospital/underground.

    They actually reduced dark zone size, and all combat is now melee only (with stun).

  2. RoBBins permalink*
    March 7, 2016 9:12 pm

    I’ll be on all night grinding out the main story. No need for the dark zone yet until you’re high enough level to get good gear and weapons. Not to mention the DZ level cap is 80, which I never knew before. That’ll come with time. Until then, I’m all about PvE.

    • Blankman permalink*
      March 7, 2016 9:54 pm

      Are you already playing? Zos & I are on digital.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      March 7, 2016 10:00 pm

      No I have digital as well. Can I get on now?!

    • RoBBins permalink*
      March 7, 2016 10:01 pm

      I know physical copies can play now, but we have to wait for digital 😦

    • Blankman permalink*
      March 7, 2016 10:03 pm

      Nope, not yet. Two more hours.

  3. March 7, 2016 11:45 pm

    Confirmed: Only 3 beards. UNPIN

  4. March 8, 2016 12:04 am

    I don’t know, so far the press seem divided.

  5. March 8, 2016 1:12 am

    UNPIN

  6. March 8, 2016 1:29 am

  7. March 8, 2016 11:14 am

    OT:

    Microsoft has been cleaning house (and not just Xbox teams like Lionhead). At the same time as cancelling projects such as “Skype for TV”, they are also announcing completely insane things like SQL on Linux:

    https://blogs.microsoft.com/blog/2016/03/07/announcing-sql-server-on-linux/

    I never thought we would ever see SQL on Linux but it is very exciting. This, paired with Visual Studio for Mac/Linux really is a good display (ironically) of how open Microsoft has become in recent ears.

    RIP Lionhead. Fable/Fable 2 were awesome games.

  8. RoBBins permalink*
    March 8, 2016 12:56 pm

    Seems like PC has quite a few more customization options over consoles. Blank and I were discussing this last night as we created our characters. We were hoping for some badass beards, seeing as how PC players were rocking some good ones, but to our disappointment there’s only a few. Not sure why they couldn’t give consoles as much character customization. Kind of a bummer, but the game is still addicting as hell. I’ll be on tonight for some more!

  9. March 8, 2016 9:18 pm

    Zos, thanks for the OT info. I will make a new post proper for the Gears stuff. That is just too big to let sit.

    As for The Division, the gameplay is totally awesome. I was in a squad of one, but had a great time. Watched Cornie play 4 player co-op and that looked great, too.

    I actually got a lot of head-shots because the recoil makes the gun go up. Just pulled the trigger at mid-body and stopped shooting when the gun shot above the head. LOL

    Love the setting, models (that is, that it isn’t alien, zombie, or fantasy), and I didn’t notice any lag at all.

    Didn’t know about the disparate offerings of content. It makes me want to jump ship with this new MS initiative. May as well go PC then. That is the way it makes me feel, and before the Conference last month, that would never have been an option. MS opened that barn door though.

    Also, logging out and then not getting back in is ridonkulous. With all the pre-order data, was Ubisoft really caught off guard with not enough servers?! Really?! I will not say more so as to avoid stroking out.

    Look forward to playing tonight if I can log onto the server.

    In the meantime, if I can’t, I am loving Rocket League, PvZ:GW2, Gears:UE, and Ark, so it is not like I won’t have anything to play.

    Kenny, trusting you to keep us posted on dev/pub lame excuses, etc.

  10. March 9, 2016 8:54 am

    I played a lot yesterday. Level 8 before going to bed. Had a squad with Jet and his friend “Schwishy Scwashy” or something like that. We even had Kenny for a little while when we took on a big mission in the Morgue. Squad of 4 is the best for sure.

    All the wings are unlocked now and leveling up the specialties like Virus Lab, Central Heating, etc… I really like how the activity in the base amps up the more you unlock. More and More people are flooding in.

    I have a perfect gun set. M4, M44 Carbine (sniper) and my ‘pistol’ is the double barreled shotty that I unlocked for pre-ordering Gold. The sniper is a one or two shot kill on most except for shielded or bosses.

    The game felt very ‘loose’ when my settings were at 35%. I dialed it down to 20% and it feels pretty good.

    This game is fun, but I wonder if it will hold me / us over time. I wish it were more DayZ ish, but maybe that mode will come. No levels, just ‘die and you lose everything and start over’.

    But i do like the loot system, and this game for what it is, it is very good.

    More tonight, and maybe even some Dark Zone.

    Here are a few quotes from a couple reviewers that ring pretty true.

    1) The Division is an incredibly ambitious game. Although its too early to judge The Division as a whole, it only takes a few hours of gameplay to see its not so subtle inspirations. So far, what The Division feels like is if Mass Effect, Grand Theft Auto, and Destiny all had a test tube baby in New York City, and the baby is, well, actually kind of cute.

    2) We enjoyed our first few hours with The Division, just as we did with the beta. But nothing so far has given us the opportunity to answer the fundamental questions about the game’s longevity and variety.

  11. RoBBins permalink*
    March 9, 2016 12:28 pm

    I. cant. stop. playing.

    Sorry Suns for being extremely tired and delusional at the end of last night. I could barely keep my eyes open by the time we finished whooping some Riker ass alongside multiple “thats what she said” jokes with Blank’s former student. Many laughs were had. Good times. Lets do it again tonight! ❤

  12. March 9, 2016 9:31 pm

    I played some more last night and Blank jumped on, after he had already gone to bed, to take me through the last stage of the Medical mission (from the beta). Familiar stuff, but fun nonetheless.

    Playing by myself is still a lot of fun, and at one point, when doing the side missions, it kind of clicked for me – the fun of just takin’ my time and slowing building up my XP etc., doing one small task at a time. I too, really dig the slowly improving home base.

    When you play alone, however, you don’t go DBNO. You just die. While there seem to be little XP/Loot consequences, every time I die it is marked on the map. I am afraid that after a month, my map will be unreadable for all the stamps of death on it. 😀

    And for those who can’t play but want to dwell on The Division while you are away:

    Kenai, great to hear you are enjoying the game Kenai and making good use of the extra Gold swag.

    Robbins, no problem. I understand completely and am always amazed how you guys can game till the middle of the night and still make it to work.

  13. Blankman permalink*
    March 10, 2016 1:15 am

    PSA: The Division servers are off-line for two hours, due to planned server maintenance which started at 10 PM PST.

    Robbins, AK (his CoD pal), Black Vision CPT (my former student), & myself were wrecking anarchists tonight. We almost finished a huge mission, The Police Academy, but Ubsioft pulled the plug on the servers exactly on the dot at 10 PM. We only had the boss battle left on our speed run & we were kicked off. Argh!!!

    The bright spot is that I’ll be forced to head to bed early. LOL

    BTW: Today, Yves Guillemot announced that The Division is the best selling IP in Ubisoft’s history breaking all physical & digital purchases. That is quite a feat because the Assassins Creed franchise (prior to AC: Unity) does huge numbers.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      March 10, 2016 11:02 am

      I have to say, it felt GREAT getting more than 4 hours of sleep for the first time in 3 or so days. A nice 7 and a half hours does the body good. However, I’m dying (no pun intended) to finish this mission tonight, Blank! We got screwed over by the maintenance!

    • Blankman permalink*
      March 10, 2016 1:39 pm

      Yeah, but that was an impressive ‘speed run’ though. We were running against the timed maintenance like crazy. We’ll finish that one first thing tonight!

    • March 10, 2016 1:43 pm

Trackbacks

  1. I’ll Pimp That: Gears 4 GI Reveal | The Stranded
  2. No Man’s Sky and Stardew Valley | The Stranded
  3. The Division: First Weekend | The Stranded

Comments are closed.

