Skip to content

Ricky Gervais: Master of the Fourth Wall

March 2, 2016
by

America’s version of The Office is some brilliant comedy TV. After watching a couple of seasons of it, it is difficult to watch the original British show from which it was based. The actors, accents, and lines are different and it becomes a matter of which version you saw first as to which one you will like better. The genius behind it, however, cannot be denied and its creator, Ricky Gervais, has since created another similar show called Derek (Netflix link). In a lot of ways, it is more relevant to our greatly aging society of quirky, imperfect people than the more over-the-top characters of The Office. I just started watching it last night (though it was released several years ago), and it has all the classic laughs of The Office, with a whole lot more heart. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

4 Comments
  1. March 3, 2016 2:13 pm

    I haven’t dedicated the time to watch it, but know Ricky’s talent. Also, everyone should check out “An Idiot Abroad”. Super funny stuff!

    OT (lol): http://store.gearsofwar.com/store/

    Finally, an official merch store for Gears! I know I am getting the growler and some other gooodies

  2. March 3, 2016 4:16 pm

    PPS: Dark Souls 3 is indeed looking absolutely fantastic, trying to stay spoiler free-ish, but it looks like they have gone back to a lot of what made the first Dark Souls game so amazing. (in my top 3 games of all time).

  3. Blankman permalink*
    March 3, 2016 11:49 pm

    I can’t quite put my finger on what really irritates me about Gervais. I guess it’s his British smugness that I find off-putting which is the main reason why I never really wanted to even watch the original The Office series. I like Martin Freeman, but I could care less about Gervais. Now there are too many programs that I’m invested with to binge watch the British version.

  4. March 4, 2016 12:29 am

    Well, if you are able to set some time aside for this series, I don’t think it will disappoint.

    And the Gears swag looks great, but I still think that the proposed t-shirt for Gearheads with the DBNO COG and the blue arrow/Xbutton for revive was head and shoulders above any thing I have seen since. However, I feel very self-conscious about the messages I wear. I have never been very fond of celebrating death, war, or violence on my clothes. That may be why I love the Revive t-shirt so much.

Comments are closed.

