Skip to content

Some Time

February 17, 2016
by

It was requested of me that I stop gathering poup*, just for a moment, so that I could try something new.  Well, I couldn’t actually try it, because…next gen.  But I did take some time to watch the two videos that rED saved of his Rocket League gaming from last night.  Being assured that I will be able to select North American servers, the only place where people actually own and play Xbox Ones (thank you, Don), I think I can make this promise without any fear of reneging.  I will buy it.  It looks every bit as awesome as games like Pong, Kung Foot, #IDARB and Knight Squad, but cleaner and on a larger scale.

Having said that, I am probably going to wait until after the weekend.  Halting the collection of excrement, Cornie and I are in the middle of some very serious and exciting renovations to our Lodge**, and The Division Open Beta drops at 5pm today (JST).  Cornie isn’t interested in the latter so much because he knows he will “have to play it again” when the game releases, but I would like to at least jump in and see what improvements have been made since I last played.  If possible, I would like to earn and try using a sentry.  It is, however, a working weekend, and I don’t know when I am going to get the time for two, let alone three games.

Rocket League impresses me as the kind of game that, because of its simplicity and following, will always be “on the platter” ready for a spin. With hit detection boxes the size of cars and buildings, and empty arenas, there is very little that the developers can screw up, isn’t there?  Please say yes.  So, waiting a couple of days to pick it up won’t put me out of the league.  😉

* “Poop” is not a word that Xbox Live will tolerate in any situation, so I have been forced to employ an alternate spelling.  The silver lining is that it reminds me of the scene in The Office when Creed comes in smiling and says, “Hey guys! Somebody makin’ soup?

** Visitors are most welcome and will receive red carpet treatment, including “limousine” service, a full set of armor, tools, and a curry dinner with garnishes served in the glass-walled dining room overlooking the waterfall.  Frog rides are optional, but do not cost extra.

22 Comments
  1. February 18, 2016 10:44 am

    Completely understood!

    We were playing again last night and had some pretty epic moments. This has all been against AI, I think we are ready for the public now.

    Another truly cool thing about this game is the customization. There are a lot of options, but best of all is the licensing. There are tons of really awesome IPs/Brands that you can customize your car with. From “unreal tournament 2004” to “oddworld” to “the reddit alien guy”. Some of these are actual modeled content (like antennas or “hats”) with their own physics/animations. Unlocking seems more of less random (we are all getting different content)

    It seems every car has the same core stats beyond size of the vehicle and presumably “weight”. It seems the larger cars are able to bully the smaller cars. This has it’s own advantages/disadvantages as the smaller cars seem easy to maneuver in the air.

    • February 18, 2016 3:49 pm

      Are there any hockey masks?

    • Blankman permalink*
      February 18, 2016 4:01 pm

      You sonuvabitch! LOL

    • February 18, 2016 4:57 pm

      maybe, but apparently there is a gears COG antenna, and apparently a locust (probably head). There is a lot of variety. I have been working like a dog to free some more time up tonight and this weekend.

      IM ADDICTED HELP ME

    • February 18, 2016 5:14 pm

      LOL@ both of you.

      So, all these unlockables are happening and you are still just playing against AI? Does this mean that everything can be unlocked without going into the wild?

    • February 18, 2016 5:31 pm

      From my understanding, yes. You can go against AI exclusively to get these unlocks, and again nothing gives you any performance benefit. This is all purely cosmetic.

      There is so much content Red/I both bought the only premium content yet (the Delorean car from Back To The Future). There are tons of “boost” animations (tron lazer, bubbles, rainbows) the Delorean leaves flame trails like the movie.

    • February 18, 2016 5:33 pm

      Sweet!

  2. February 18, 2016 5:32 pm

    This clip is pretty funny!

    Zos bounces it around the boards and across the crease. Steph comes flying in but fans, then Blankman tips it but it bounces off the cross bar! Then rED comes in, Wifffff! and Zos bounces it off the post.

    But then the Chippers take it back to score and Mr. Sombrero Hat 😉 is just sitting mid field watching the ball roll in.

    https://account.xbox.com/en-us/gameclip/bebe8267-5fa8-43ed-afe5-9acdb2054713?gamerTag=Zoso%20Fan&scid=90c40100-9123-47d6-bc6b-35d3214e91ac

    • February 18, 2016 5:43 pm

      I love saved films. We were laughing pretty bad about that one!

    • February 18, 2016 5:50 pm

      Also, Hockey Mode coming next week!

    • February 18, 2016 6:43 pm

      What’s that?

    • February 18, 2016 6:56 pm

      Pretty much standard mode, with a puck (ice?) and I believe no ramps on the walls. Also, Free!

    • February 18, 2016 7:00 pm

      Sounds great, and just as we like it! Also, I just read that it has four player split-screen mode, which is huge because it is definitely a couch party game.

  3. February 18, 2016 7:04 pm

    Also, it is $19.99! I thought it would be 40 US which translates to at least 50 Canadian!

    Cornie is buying it as I type (at work for another 8 hours).

    https://www.youtube.com/user/RocketLeagueGame

  4. February 18, 2016 7:34 pm

    OT

  5. February 19, 2016 10:21 am

    I played way too late last night and unlocked both the warthog the then GOW armadillo. Red and I tackled the public, mostly shut outs ~(6-1), I believe we lost a single (painful) round. Lots of close games though, that required someone pull a clutch movie at the last second.

    Some warthog footage (playing a season against AI to unlock GOW car)

    https://account.xbox.com/en-us/gameclip/4780fe2a-4121-47b2-91e6-1aadbf800d12?gamerTag=Zoso%20Fan&scid=90c40100-9123-47d6-bc6b-35d3214e91ac

    “pool shot”
    https://account.xbox.com/en-us/gameclip/cd3741f7-3075-4234-ab2a-ffb3234be2dc?gamerTag=Zoso%20Fan&scid=90c40100-9123-47d6-bc6b-35d3214e91ac

  6. Blankman permalink*
    February 19, 2016 11:55 am

    Zos, did you manage to unlock the Gears Armadillo? I plan on spending time on The Division beta & Rocket League after my long day on yet another field trip. I’ll most likely spend more time on RL than TD beta.

    • February 19, 2016 1:05 pm

      DAWG DID U EVEN READ MY COMMENT BRA

    • Blankman permalink*
      February 19, 2016 6:33 pm

      Skimmed it over. I was on a field trip, brah!

  7. February 19, 2016 3:19 pm

    LMAO@U GAIZ!

  8. Average permalink*
    February 19, 2016 6:36 pm

    Dudes I’ll be on tonight I wanna play this. It’s hilarious.

  9. February 20, 2016 5:15 pm

    I spent about 45 minutes playing the tutorials and alone in the arena just trying to get the hang of it. FAR more difficult than it looks, and “aiming” is hugely important, perhaps more so than in a CoD game. I spent A LOT of time driving AROUND the ball. There are definitely skills that can be learned to minimize wiff and errors (e.g., learning to brake, reverse, and powerslide rather than just always going forward). It is very deep.

    I am not saying I don’t like it, but I am surprised how difficult it is.

Comments are closed.

