Skip to content

The Best Part of Superbowl 50

February 8, 2016
by

The Bourne series sans Legacy are my favorite spy/action series of all time.  I have watched all of them many times, often even just to listen to the soundtrack in the background.  The announcement of Jason Bourne directed by Paul Greengrass starring Matt Damon, Julia Stiles was the highlight of Superbowl 50 for me.

As for the rest of the Superbowl, I learned beyond any doubt that defenses win championships.  Former quarterback Elway makes a huge admission to his own career, by getting wobbly-ball Manning out there and still taking the prize.  It didn’t help the Panthers in their case, that Mr. Newton was throwing less consistently than post-Superbowl-loss Colin Kaepernick.  The defensive pressure was unbelievable, but the clear opportunities that were over-thrown in the first half were all on Superman.  There was some wacky officiating that threw a random element into the game, too.

 

 

11 Comments
  1. February 8, 2016 11:48 pm

    And I thought I had been harsh on Manning! LMAO!

    Dubious Quality was harsh in its review of the game:

    Ugh

    I’ve watched all fifty Super Bowls live, and that was the worst Super Bowl I’ve ever seen.

    It’s getting more difficult to watch the Super Bowl these days. CBS wasn’t covering a football game.

    They were covering a brand.

    Let me explain.

    I was sitting on the couch with Eli 14. 6 and they were talking about the quarterbacks as Denver received the opening kickoff.

    I knew what was about to happen.

    “They’re not going to mention any of Peyton Manning’s statistics this season,” I said.

    Sure enough, they talked all about his career records, etc. But he was the worst starting quarterback–statistically–in the NFL this season, and did they mention that? Of course not, because the NFL has positioned Peyton Manning as an important part of their brand.

    Never tarnish “the shield”, as they say.

    So when the corpse of Peyton Manning was lobbing water balloons fifteen yards down the field, CBS never mentioned the strange lack of velocity, or how the Denver offense can shutter a large part of their playbook because he can’t make most of the throws anymore.

    That’s interesting, though–the story of a once-great quarterback reduced to a fragile shell, struggling to survive on guile, and coaches changing their game plan because of his greatly diminished skills. It’s too bad that it wasn’t mentioned.

    Actually, I think Manning is probably the worst quarterback ever to win a Super Bowl. Not based on his career, obviously, because you can make a case that–at a minimum–he’s one of the top five quarterbacks in history. Based solely on this season, though, he had the worst statistical season of any quarterback to start in the Super Bowl, and he was no better yesterday.

    Denver, though, had possibly the most dominant defense I’ve ever seen. Manning could have taken every snap and kneeled, and the game still would have been close.

    If you’re wondering about the second-worst Super Bowl I’ve ever watched, it was Super Bowl V. 16-13, Colts over Cowboys. Eleven turnovers. It was wildly bad, although I will say it was far more entertaining than yesterday. The ball seemed to come loose about every third play (here’s a drive-by-drive summary).

    If you have a few hours to kill, here’s the entire game, including commercials. If you watch the full game, you’ll have a hard time believing any of it actually happened when it’s over. That’s how bizarre it was, and eleven turnovers doesn’t even begin to describe the craziness.

  2. February 9, 2016 9:19 am

    I agree with all comments. That game was a snooze fest. Worst I can remember. I’m happy for Denver, but more happy that the Narcissist Poster Boy ~ Cam (All about me cause I’m a Winner) Newton, not only played poorly, lost, but exposed himself in the postgame “performance”.

    BTW. Cam… Nice attempt at the fumble recovery with 4 mins left in the game. Didn’t want to get grass stains diving for the ball you dropped? Fail. That play summarizes (puts a bow on it), so many things about that dude….

    Moving on. Nothing to see there in Carolina. Now Carolina fans are gonna be watching the ‘Redemption of Cam’ for years to come. Even if he eventually Wins. Hollow…. Pointless.

    “Hey Cam, where are those Gold MVP shoes? Stored in some vault next to your Gold Superman T-Shirt?”

    And the new Bourne movie?!! Even my kids are big fans. Will be taking them to theater to watch this one.

    I even really like the non-Matt Damon one…

    • February 9, 2016 5:12 pm

      Yep about Cam.

      http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000635018/article/peyton-manning-cam-newton-head-guys-most-affected-by-sb50

      Though I disagree about this guy as regards Peyton, his scathing review of Cam is right on.

      On the subject of Peyton, what is this “I’m thinking about whether or not I will retire” bullshit. As if he had anything to do with that victory. Get your ass out off the field, or Elway will have to kick it off for you. The debt to his father for having to play on the losing-est New Orleans Saints back in the day has been paid in full, forever. Say thank you and goodbye. Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.

    • February 9, 2016 6:26 pm

      All i can think of regarding Manning…

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peyton_Manning#Sexual_harassment_allegations

    • February 9, 2016 6:45 pm

      I didn’t even know about that one. And the trainer settled in court! She took the cash. So now we know the character of both of them!

    • February 9, 2016 8:03 pm

      Suns, you know darn well that just because one of the parties settled for monetary compensation does not make her a gold digger or that her allegations were less than truthful. She was forced to resign for Pete’s sake, so she had to look out for her livelihood. When you have the clout that Manning had in college due to his father, Archie Manning’s influence; she might never have been able to work in the capacity of a trainer again. The guilty party was Peyton- plain and simple. Despite the “squeaky clean” Oreo eating, Budweiser drinking, good ‘ol boy that he tries to portray; the guy’s as scummy as they come.

    • February 9, 2016 9:11 pm

      Hey, I didn’t mean to take away any of his guilt.

      And you are right, because of his crime, and then his big mouth, she deservedly* received not one, but three settlements.

      Believe me, I wasn’t rooting for him at all, and haven’t been for years. As I mentioned, I didn’t even know about the testicle/anus scandal. I was turned off from him when I saw those sell-out Oreo cookie ads, and his abysmal playoff appearances (Mr. Regular Season).

      *I didn’t mean to imply that the trainer was a gold digger, just that she was willing to settle for cash over a public apology (3x). Something I can understand and have compassion for, but don’t agree with at all. But this is a world in which one’s word is no longer one’s bond. Honor means little, as long as you win, or get lots of money.

      She is the victim in all of this, without a doubt, and that she had the strength, courage, and wits about her to report the incident “within hours” is a great credit to her. It would have been just had he gotten the Ray Rice treatment, but again, you are correct, his connections and his father’s legacy, guaranteed that wouldn’t happen. I wish money wasn’t (always) the way these things were worked out, though.

      EDIT: Thank you for calling me on that one. I needed to read closer and think about it more.

      EDIT 2: One wishes that sort of situation had been resolved more like the Griffin assault (apologies given, accepted, fines and punishment dished out, money donated to charity).

      http://www.latimes.com/sports/clippers/la-sp-cn-clippers-blake-griffin-suspended-20160203-story.html

    • February 10, 2016 2:42 am

      Griffin got a slap in the wrist. 4 games is nothing.

      Check out the TMZ pics of his hand and you will see it was no minor scuffle. Long scar. He was hitting hard to do that.

      They are clearly protecting his brand and sort of using his injury time as part of the punishment, otherwise I am sure it would have been longer.

      Latrell Sprewell in comparison got 82 and was reduced to 68 for going after his coach.

      You could argue that it may not be the same thing but from a 68 suspension to 4 games for assaulting staff? C’mon there’s got to be a better middle ground.

      Rodman got 11 games for kicking a camera guy. Coincidentally NBA is removing some of them, as they do get in the way. : P

  3. February 10, 2016 9:28 am

    I did not know that about Payton. Thank you for bringing that up.

    This entire topic brings me to the same conclusions (time and time again). Who are the ‘good’ athletes? Why do we care about these people? Why do we ‘project’ their success onto ourselves, our cities?

    Remember when everyone Loved O.J.?

    As a Piston fan growing up. Isaiah Thomas was my hero. Turns out he’s an A-hole, and worse.

    For that matter, there is a Lot about Magic Johnson, that we turn a blind eye to.

    The list of ‘these’ athlete / hero’s is LONG.

    You think they are upstanding good dudes. Then their facade cracks by some incident and the ‘real them’ comes out.

    This is not just sports, but politics, entertainment.

    Two words…

    Bill Cosby.

    Bottom line. These guys do not deserve our attention or money.

    Yet, somehow we / society pour both onto them.

    The Bible talks a LOT about “Idol Worship”. No one these days worships actual Idols.

    Yet, today. THESE sports / athletes / entertainers, are the LIVING IDOLS that millions and millions worship.

    My opinion, but I know I’m right in this.

    They have one thing in common. They ‘Love’ themselves. Better yet, the word is “They Worship themselves”.

    Narcissists through and through.

    And we bow down at their Temples. Staples Arena, Ford Field, Soldier Field….

    I am laying it on thick, but these are my conclusions after living on this earth for 45 years.

    Over the years, I have seen myself slowly divesting myself in its interest in sports and entertainment.

    I eventually dialed it down to MSU sports. But that too is waning. Not a choice, just my reality. I expect in years to come, I will watch no sport at all, except for a fun diversion with friends (which is pretty much where I am at today anyway…)

    I am not on a soap box. Just how I feel.

    • Herandar permalink
      February 10, 2016 10:19 am

      You are totally correct, Kenai. But then, my favorite SB50 moment was sitting down at the computer after spending the day removing the carpets and installing a hardwood floor in my son’s room, and finding out it was over.

      As long as you don’t divest your interest in video game entertainment.

  4. February 10, 2016 2:31 pm

    Very interesting discussion, in a direction I didn’t think it would go.

    I really do wish that children who did well in things other than sports, were given opportunities/support/breaks even just a fraction of those that jocks are given. The world might be a better place if children were encouraged more to invent, create, engineer, problem solve! 😉

Comments are closed.

