Skip to content

Prime Fish!

February 4, 2016
by

Ark SabertoothSalmon

This game just keeps on giving.  For two weeks, I haven’t gone an evening without puttering around The Lodge of the Eternal Fire, not to be confused with Hell, and not yet official in name.  I have had a banging headache for two days now, and upon arrival home, have informed Cornie that “For sure tonight, I won’t be gaming with you.”  Yet within 10 minutes of dinner, because I just wanted to point out a few things, I find myself sitting down in front of my monitor (in the real world) – but in the world of Ark, I am mounting great beasts, harvesting entire forests & rock quarries, and taking on T-Rexes with just a rifle and a pike.

The waterfall near which we staked our claim, is now surrounded on three sides by (quick rendering) Behemoth Gates so that we can come in and go out from any direction.  Forget storage bins.  We will be building two “drive thru” vaults so that we can be fully encumbered and still unload Patches and Punch. We don’t have the floor plan all worked out, and even less of it agreed upon, but dang if I am not thinking about it right now as my head throbs.

Cornie wants an aviary, and I want a (large) room with a view – I am thinking fireplaces with dino gates opening over the edge of the cliff, to be opened and left open while we are on the island, and then closed tight when we leave.  I also want an Industrial Cooker for dyes and curry – I can’t wait to get back into the “kitchen”, the joy of cooking of which I discovered just before we started remodeling.  Cornie wants an Industrial Forge, and a Quetzalcoatlus to assist him in keeping it full.

So many projects, so much to do, and so little time in which to do it.  And when Cornie asks me for a pet, I can say “Sure!  Let’s go get one now. (It doesn’t cost me a dime, or piss on my rice mats.)  Whatever you want, Cornie.”  😉

 

 

6 Comments
  1. February 4, 2016 7:11 am

    Great post Suns! The picture is painted and placed in my mind. Luke n I (and probably some of the others) and gonna probably want to stop by and make a visit some day. Meanwhile, our little tribe is polishing too. Little improvements, little adventures. Two nights ago we did a cave in the north and all got a trophy. Wing of the Argentavus. Looks cool mounted on a trophy stand. That is my focus now. All the trophies mounted around my lodge, glowing and spinning.

    Last night Flenser, Zeny, Luke and I paraded through the arctic on wolves. Boss Pack. 400 or 500 pelt later, we returned to the Stranded hunting lodge full of stories and goods.

    Tonight? Perhaps another pelt hunt, perhaps a cave or two. Maybe all the above.

    Luke claimed some more abandoned Dino’s yesterday. An Armadillo for Frank has the postage signed and sealed. Delivery tonight.

    Cheers from the Ark!

  2. February 4, 2016 5:46 pm

    Love the wolf pack story! Awesome about the trophies and even better that Zender came back to sail again! That is great news. The setbacks can be significant, but the fun can be just a couple of minutes away if you can pull yourself together again.

    Yes, we will have to have a party on our server sometime. After we get our Quetzal, you can all spawn on the West Coast and we will pick you up, bring you back to the Lodge, give you a dish of home cooked curry, and laden you with canteens, other gear, and tools! We have darn near a full storage box just of Journeyman Crossbows, and those journeyman tools/weapons are no joke.

    Yesterday, as Cornie and I were laboring under the blazing hot sun, struggling to place pillars and gates (it was darn near as stressful as a real move – again this game surprises in its “simulation” LOL), some fella flew by on his Quetzal with an Anklyo and rider in his talons. CRAZY! Everything in this game mimics real world machines. Helos choplifting tanks and on it goes.

    We think we have the worst of the renovations worked out now with the foundation and plans mostly in place. The rock proved to be much more problematic than we initially thought, so that basically forced us to scrap all previous plans and create new ones on the fly. The weekend will be fun as we frame, roof, install electrical, “dry wall”, and furnish it. The iForge and iCooker are gonna require some serious resources, so we will be installing those after the fact.

    And dang, those Mammoths are HUGE! I had no idea! We put our base on pillars and will be able to walk straight off Punch onto the third story platform. Hilarious thing is that they turn on a dime. I love how each animal moves so differently.

    As an aside, does your Doedicurus poop a lot? Seems like ours takes a shit after every tail swing. I’m like, “Really?! Again?! You just dropped one over there! It’s hardly had time to disappear into the ground!” He dumps more than he gathers! I’m just about ready to change his name from “Patches” to “Dumpster”.

  3. February 5, 2016 5:07 pm

    Two updates away for the Xbox, the Terror Bird. I can’t even post fast enough to keep up with the flow of new content….for free.

    Later today the ARK will be updated to Version 235 and with it comes a plethora of new content, including our new terrifying friend, the Terror Bird!

    Also known as the Phorusrhacidae Rapidesultor, is a ferocious but tamable avian capable of high-speed sprints and brief hover-like leaps. It is not a flying bird per se, as its flight is comprised of short, sustained “Joust”-like glides or leaps. At eight to 12 feet tall, the Terror Bird is aggressive, but still tamable and ridable, making it an excellent combat mount, particularly for harassing and scouting. Riders of the Terror Bird gain most of the benefits of a fast, mobile ground-based theropod, while also gaining some of the freedom of movement from a flyer. It is known to show traits related to theropods such as the Utahraptor, Carnotaurus and the ever formidable Tyrannosaurus Rex.

    The Grappling Hook is a game-changing tool enabling Survivors the ability to scale cliffs, hitch a ride by attaching to a flying creature, wrangle other players/prisoners, or even small creatures to drag along! Learning how to regularly use this tool will alter the nature of your attacks and dramatically expand the range of your travels with greater ease and fun!

    Today’s ARK update will also include:
    – Tribe Alliances (PvE and PvP). Yes, finally, small Tribes can band together against larger ones!
    – Fishing Upgrade! Coelacanth Nutritia, common name Coel, are now different sizes (and give different amount of resources depending on the fish size…gives the rare chance of a super-large catch!)
    – Fully Localizable Game Text: Now you can crowd-source translation and dynamic fonts for any language without Modding/TC’s!
    – All current Items added to the Master Items ID array

  4. February 6, 2016 1:17 am

    My week was different. Love being independent can go out and help anyone. Can jump in any party chat of the server from different tribes.

    I think ultimately that separates this game from others in consoles.

    Each server is a community. You get to know other gamers and expand your friend list.

    Learn to play the game differently and gather all the tips and tricks not from just one source but from the top tribes from the server.

    The crown achievement is to have different tribes work together as one, which from the people I know is already rumored to be in the Tribe Alliances Update.

    Had to work a lot harder this week since going solo meant running “The Farm” was squarely on my shoulders. It forces me to be efficient in gathering metal, pelt, prime meat, cementing paste and last but not least poop. Yes, Does poop a lot that’s one of their specialties along with Phiomias.

    I had to rebuild the raft, and this time place it in a specific point to gather pelt, prime and metal. Helping me to be in three places at once(along with a East Base where I use my frog to get cementing paste.)

    Once everything is to a good amount I just swoop in with my flying mount (Hellstorm, 179 pteranodon) and get everything back on the main base ( West Waterfall near the Artic too.)

    My base now connects the top with the bottom of the waterfall, so I can move all animals either way to the forest or to the beach.

    The next phase is to build a metal farm near the volcano. From that metal make as many metal structures as possible. Unbreakable on PvE.

    Inside the base making an egg hatching factory (One tribe gave me a high level Spino and Raptore-to practice)

    If they survive they both become some of the highest level dinos in the server.

    My favorite Dino by far is the Spino. It turns on a dime, it swims like a raft (no stamina loss in deep water), runs at normal speed in any surface water. Doesn’t do the damage of a Rex but a meat run isn’t limited to land, can easily go around the entire continent by sea and pick the best spots.

    Caves are ok, but I am still more intrigued by the underwater. It has some huge Dinos, and it has that sense of danger that by now past level 70, has been lost on land.

    That and getting together with different tribes to kill the bosses is still the end game.

  5. February 9, 2016 3:01 am

    Alright so I had to change strategy once more given that I am by myself. I can’t tame every dino and expect to complete my dossier in a server. I can do that much easier on single player.

    I haven’t even begun to really tame anything of real value because eggs have a weird mechanic.

    Turns out the animals need to be in stasis for a specific amount of time (Out of any players field of view), then once a player triggers it, there’s a small chance one dino will drop an egg.

    Furthermore that chance gets affected by the number of females and how many in proximity.

    In other words big tribes, with big pens on high traffic areas have less of a chance per dino vs a small tribe or one player.

    This means my base is useless for egg farming(high traffic and I’m always there). I was setting it up for scorpions which IMO are the best farm since it gives you frog kibble and T rex Kibble, and uses my main waste (spoiled meat).

    They tame really quick and use very little narcotics.

    So now in order to make it happen I need a Dedicated Egg farm that’s secluded. I already have a base in a isolated area, just need to expand it.

    Also making a transition to metal structures. The objective is to gave a grief free home where to keep all resources.

  6. February 10, 2016 12:08 pm

    Ok found a fix for the egg farm. Traffic wasn’t much of a problem at the main base, but my scorpions were sinking through the foundations. So I built ramps inside the pen, and place the scorpions on top of them. They still sink through the ramp a bit, but not the foundation and the eggs drop just fine.

    Since I am mining metal and going back and forth the main base, the stasis is triggered easier, and every time they poop while I am there, there’s a random chance to get eggs. I have gotten a few quickly after I did the ramp method.

    I think I am going to specialize in Scorpions and Argentavis. Argies are so easy the tame near the penguin islands since nothing spawns there, and so easy to bring back to main base.

    The eggs of the scorpions will give me Rexes and Frogs. Argies will give me Spinos.

    Those at a high level are some of the best mounts. Rexes are the kibble for Quetzals so that closes the best mounts IMO.

    Other than that, need to tame another Mammoth, Doe, and Ankylo. If you mate boost them they give better yields in resources.

    I think that’s going to be my farm, and my high level ptera (That thing wrecks anything without taking damage).

    First metal base is almost done. The walls will be next and a base I built near the Volcano top (makes mining a breeze).

Comments are closed.

