Skip to content

The Division ’16 Trailer & Beta Date

January 12, 2016

image

A lot of details were divulged in this latest trailer:

  • Canine unit (unknown to the extent of how it will be employed since Massive has previously confirmed that there will be no animal companions)
  • DBNO group heal/revival (LB+RB special skill)
  • Base of Operations progression (NPCs will populate it the further it’s upgraded)
  • Deployable fixed ballistic shield (ala R6: Siege)
  • Better graphic fidelity
  • Bounties (possibly timed or weekly events)
  • Weapon customization depth (i.e. mag pull, weapon skins, scopes/sights, suppressors, grips)
  • Boss fight (the heavy Cleaner- Benchley)
  • Agent safe houses which serve as social hubs

The beta is planned for Thursday, Jan. 28th, for XB1 & the 29th for PC & PS4 according to several retailers. However, that date has yet to be officially confirmed by Ubisoft even though their customer service have already let the cat out of the bag. The Division Facebook page just confirmed that the beta date is real. They do have a community event that started today, and the alpha started exactly a week after their previous event. So everything points to the leaked beta date as being authentic.

20 Comments
  1. January 12, 2016 6:57 pm

    They sure know how to sell it.

  2. RoBBins permalink*
    January 13, 2016 10:58 am

    After playing the closed Alpha, even though I realize its a very early version of the game, I have absolutely no interest in this game anymore. I turned it off simply from sheer boredom.

  3. January 13, 2016 6:32 pm

    Lots of cool features, now the question is: What actually makes in in the final release? 😉

    (see watchdogs… ubisoft in general)

    • January 14, 2016 3:06 pm

      It looks like microtransactions confirmed as well. Not surprising (or damning). Depends on how they handle it.

    • Blankman permalink*
      January 14, 2016 6:05 pm

      It seems like they will consist of cosmetic items like weapon skins & clothing.

  4. January 14, 2016 6:26 pm

    It goes without saying that pay-to-win is unacceptable, and I don’t think they will do that. If it is for cosmetics, no problem at all. And if I were to really enjoy the game, if I felt they gave me my money’s worth, I might even consider buying a special jacket or something to make my character stand out.

    If there is lots of game “on the disc” then I have no problem with the developers extending their revenue stream. Ultimately, it is about value to the individual customers and the relationship between them and the dev/pub. Perception of greed, entitlement, arrogance, support, goodwill, generosity, a listening-ear, these are all far more important to long-term revenue than most developers and publishers realize.

    EDIT: I see Kenny posted during the time I started to write and actually clicked post. If it is weapon skins that is great! Last thing I want is a pink gun! LOL

    (I have to say, however, that the emblems in BF4, that carry over from gun to vehicle are the bees knees! – Love me some Cookie Monster on my quad)

    • Blankman permalink*
      January 14, 2016 7:18 pm

      Massive & Ubisoft have confirmed that they will not include any pay-to-win microtransactions. That’s why it’s pretty much relegated to cosmetic/aesthetic content such as weapon skins & character clothing (i.e. Hazmat suit, police uniform, firefighter uniform, paramedic uniform, hunter pack, National Guard uniform).

      Look, I’ll be the first to admit that I’m already a fan of the game even though I’ve only played the alpha. However, I refuse to bite on the empty season pass which is priced at $40! Absolutely no details have been released about it. There’s no doubt that it will contain an expansion into other boroughs. Perhaps that’s why Ubisoft France redacted the mention of the Brooklyn borough a day after accidentally mentioning it on their description of the game. It’ll most likely contain weapon variations, gear, and skins. When you leave potential customers speculating on what future DLC will be in the season pass, you’ve completely missed the point.

      BTW: Yesterday, The Division team tweeted that all alpha players (XB1 participants) have earned the “New York Shortbows” weapon skin which will be available on March 8th when the game launches. You should read all of the butt hurt PC & PS4 gamers bitching on the sub reddit & official forums! LOL

      Also, The Division’s Facebook page just confirmed that the beta will indeed start on Thursday, Jan. 28th for the XB1; the 29th for everyone else. If you thought the rage about the exclusive weapon skin worked them up, you should see the haters spew venom simply because XB1 gamers get access to the beta a day earlier! LMAO

  5. January 15, 2016 3:53 pm

    I will wait and see how release goes. I like having all DLC on all games if possible, Battlefront being the sole exclusion in my library, because of the hefty price tag.

    If all goes well and they have details on DLC, I will get it at some point.

    But Ark still has fun left, and Siege and Syndicate are still on my to-play list. Maybe April when they workout the bugs, and more is known.

    Like Robbins, I found the gameplay lacking in fun. However that will depends on the amount of activities and loot. We’ll see.

    • January 15, 2016 9:16 pm

      With less than a month and a half before the game launches and no real solid details about what the season pass contains, it’s a no go. It just doesn’t make sense regardless of how much of a homer I am about the game. Even then, there’s really no savings for purchasing the Gold edition (game + season pass) over the standard. Normally, purchasers would see at least a savings of five dollars.

  6. January 15, 2016 6:20 pm

    Since Tim and Johann are gone for the foreseeable future, Cornie and I are almost certainly going to be each other’s homies, if you know what I mean, making all purchases much less risky. (Did I already mention this somewhere – my apologies if I am repeating myself.)

    I suspect we will be picking it up, if not release day, shortly thereafter. The beta will make that decision easier, I am sure. Also, I will be considering any further reveals about access to servers etc. very carefully. At this moment, I am willing to take the risk knowing that there are Asian servers for Cornie and I to play on in the evenings. Aside from the very clunky cover mechanic and animations, I thought the Alpha was a ton of fun.

    I was concerned about the “RPG” element because I found the micromanagement in the Borderlands series (which I really wanted to love) overwhelming. The Division and Ark seem to be just right for me, though.

  7. January 15, 2016 6:25 pm

    And LevelCap has some impressions on the gameplay. (Haven’t watched it, but I respect his views even when I don’t agree – will be watching later.)

    • January 15, 2016 9:12 pm

      There was not even a trickle of information about the game for three weeks, and now we get a deluge of gameplay & info. I’m not necessarily complaining, but it gets a bit ridiculous. What’s with all of the secrecy?!?

  8. January 15, 2016 10:39 pm

    OT Kenny, does this interest you? (It looks pretty cool to me, not as Ip Man’s story, but as a great showcase of Wing Chun.

    EDIT: Adding this one. I just love this martial art.

    • Blankman permalink*
      January 16, 2016 1:30 am

      You know that I had mad respect for Donnie Yen when he refused to make any more Ip Man movies because he stated that it had become exploitative of the man & his family. Respect was what he kept repeating. Cue forward a few years & he’s now starring in the third movie. You lost a lot of respect from me, Donnie. Fail.

    • Blankman permalink*
      January 18, 2016 3:52 pm

      I agree, Zos. They had the bullet point on the game’s description until the announcement of the beta. Massive took out that bullet point shortly after confirming that they had removed player-to-player trading in their live podcast on Twitch which took place last Friday.

      It seems as if Ubisoft wants everyone to grind for better weapons & gear instead of “gifting” fellow teammates that won’t necessarily have as much time to devote to the game. I’ve been thinking about this specific problem and there is a workaround that involves the Dark Zone. We already know that when a player dies in the DZ, he/she won’t dropped any of their equipped gear & weapons. However, they will drop all contaminated items that weren’t extracted at the time of their death. For instance, if I happen to pick up a high-level item (blue/purple/orange) and it works for your class better than mine, I could leave the group so you can kill me & loot the items. You would then have to survive long enough to evade the rogue status with the rest of our crew & extract it. Then we’d reform the team again once after those items are extracted. It’s a bit of a chore, but it’ll work.

    • January 18, 2016 6:28 pm

      It is also weird that areas shown over the last few years aren’t there at launch. If premium DLC, it’s kinda bullshit because they already unveiled the areas years ago lol.

      Do we know how big Manhattan is going to be? My concern is that the game is going to launch not much larger than the alpha (beta). Is the unlocked area the same in the upcoming beta (demo)?

    • Blankman permalink*
      January 18, 2016 7:11 pm

      The Brooklyn borough was the area featured in the E3 ’13 & ’14 gameplay, Zos. Many are speculating that since your agent/character is at level 4 (helicopter cutscene that drops you off at Camp Hudson) at the beginning of the “beta,” the Brooklyn area will serve as a tutorial area where you’ll be able to level up to 4 before heading off to Manhattan. That’s all speculative because Ubisoft France redacted any mention of the Brooklyn borough a day after they accidentally cut & pasted the ESRB rating of the game description. However, what will be available is not the entire Manhattan borough, but rather midtown Manhattan. The border ends right before the southern portion of Central Park. The explorable area at release will be 13 km (8.07 sq. miles) while the Dark Zone will consists of 1/3 of the map. This will include a lot of verticality from buildings that can be entered as well as the subway & sewer systems.

      Remember, many areas were considered “out of bounds” because we didn’t meet the necessary level to enter them since we were capped at level 8. The world map in the beta will also prevent us from full exploration because it, too, will cap us at level 8. However, there will be missions that will be made available to beta testers which weren’t available before such as upgrading the Tech & Security wings, respectively.

  9. January 19, 2016 1:55 am

    I think this is probably reliable info.

    And the reddit thread.

Comments are closed.

