Skip to content

Merry Christmas, Stranded!

December 25, 2015
by

Hope y’all are having a wonderful day!  I just finished my last class of the year and am sittin’ here in the library waiting for the clock to tick down.  It is quiet, with well-behaving students looking at magazines and smiling at each other.  It is a great way to end the term, seeing the students happy.  So many things to be grateful for.  ❤

P.S. Don’t forget that Christmas noobs are jumping online in droves.  I am lookin’ to be King for just one day (or maybe two).

12 Comments
  1. Herandar permalink
    December 25, 2015 8:50 pm

    Happy Holidays to all.

    Hey, does anyone want to get together and play Evolve again? I know it’s off most everyone’s radar, but Turtle Rock have added variant characters to the game (for everyone that owns it for free), and I’d really like to roll with a crew again. Also, they really reworked matchmaking and ranking MPvs. It doesn’t need to be a regular thing, but I think it might be fun without burning out on it,

  2. Blankman permalink*
    December 25, 2015 8:54 pm

    Happy holidays, guys & gal! I was busy with The Hateful Eight for X-Mas Eve & SW:TFA this morning. What a way to spend some entertainment time! 🙂 I want to talk to the few of you that have already seen SW because I completely understand why Zos was chomping at the bit to discuss the film & theories. Jump on XBL when you guys can just to spend some holiday cheer together!

  3. December 25, 2015 10:29 pm

    @Herandar I never say never, but chances are pretty unlikely. I would have to reinstall it on a HD that is already full, meaning I would have to delete other games I am playing regularly now.

    @Kenny, see! Zos was bursting with spoilers. People love to talk about good shows when they get back. That was the way I felt after every episode of Breaking Bad. Exciting stuff! We aim to please here. 😉 I am all spoiled so I can jump in on the discussions, but as is often the case, everything will probably be all talked out by the time I catch you guys. Just a couple more hours and I should be on.

    http://deadline.com/2015/12/star-wars-franchise-george-lucas-historic-rights-deal-tom-pollock-1201669419/ (Also, from Dubious Quality as mentioned below.)

    AND for everyone, Dubious Quality has a fantastic Friday Links! up. There are some stellar articles on almost any topic. Seriously, it is probably going to take me most of this next week to get through them all. I will tempt you here with these highlights:

    http://arstechnica.com/gaming/2015/12/ars-talks-with-david-braben-on-the-challenges-of-making-games-for-real-vr/

    http://blogs.reuters.com/great-debate/2015/12/22/a-last-lemon-meringue-pie-for-the-real-life-gangster-at-the-heart-of-the-wire/

    https://www.propublica.org/article/devils-deals-and-the-dea

    https://aeon.co/essays/why-do-scientists-dismiss-the-possibility-of-cold-fusion

    But there is so much more!

    And finally, what is up in Houston?! I was pissed at Clippers for losin’ to those goofballs, and now the Spurs are gonna do the same thing? Should people be concerned?

    • Herandar permalink
      December 25, 2015 11:12 pm

      Time to get an external hard drive, Suns. I have like 30 games installed and still have 1.2 TB free. It’s nearly as essential as a headset in this generation.

    • Herandar permalink
      January 2, 2016 10:55 am

      Actually, I did a count last night, and due to Games with Gold, I’m a lot closer to 60 games on my hard drives. And there are at least ten full games that I can download if I want to, but haven’t. Actually, it is starting to feel problematic picking what to play every night. Too many choices, and then I feel like I’m neglecting games that I want to play. This is my strongest aversion to Ark, actually. I know that if I do get it, I’m just going to be harvesting whatever I can exploit, and stockpiling supplies, and not playing the other games I like.

  4. December 26, 2015 8:38 am

    Herandar, I’m up for evolve.

  5. December 28, 2015 12:03 pm

    Saw this gif online, pretty great reminder of the quality of SW Epi 1-3

    • Blankman permalink*
      December 28, 2015 7:01 pm

      Bwahaha! Talk about a terrible “acting” experience!”

  6. December 28, 2015 2:40 pm

    LOL@ the gif.

    OT Reasons to be happy about 2015

    http://www.spiked-online.com/newsite/article/the-greatest-human-breakthroughs-of-2015/17752

  7. December 28, 2015 7:29 pm

    tried joining Kenai’s server during the day and no luck.

    Made a home in a Primitive Server 316. It was empty and had low ping for West Coast.

    It’s PvE though.

    I’m just learning the basics so pve is good for now.

    Will need a pve server later on

  8. December 30, 2015 12:46 pm

    Quentin @ Portland

    http://www.oregonlive.com/tv/2015/12/quentin_tarantino_makes_surpri.html

    Played Ark on Kenai’s server yesterday and it was a blast. Could join several times.

    Couldn’t this morning. Will play on the new pve servers (400) when i can’t join.

  9. December 31, 2015 5:09 am

    Server PvE 399. Was empty about 20 spots all night. My son and I are in there we have the basic building for now.

    67 was full even at 2 a.m. my time.

    I think that’s it for me on that server until servers empty out.

Comments are closed.

