Skip to content

Ark:SE Lesson 1

December 18, 2015

First, after having experienced the thrill of dying multiple times in various ways on public servers, I highly recommend you host a Non-Dedicated Multiplayer Server, and invite your friends in. There is a lot to learn and get used to, and it is very difficult to do so when there are actual people hunting you in addition to all the other harsh, life-threatening environmental hazards.

NOTE: if you have friends playing with you, work together, and I mean truly co-operate. When you level up and get Engram (blueprint) points, don’t spend those points on the same Engrams. One person can buy the Spear Engram, the other can buy the Stone Axe Engram and so on. Players can build multiple copies of the same item, and then share with each other. This way, you will immediately have as many times more options for building and moving forward as there are players in your room.

Second, gather, gather, gather, and then build stuff – a pick axe, then clothing and a spear are my recommendations (but again, if playing with a friend, specialize).

The Secret Of My Success

The Secret Of My Success

Third, the minute you reach Level 5, build a Storage Crate. This is essential because you can store a TON of stuff in it (including axes and spears etc.) that will still be sitting there in the event you get killed and have to respawn, which will happen. Yes, if you have all the materials/items in the Crate, as soon as you respawn you can run there, open it up, grab what you need (including food, tools, and weapons), and start your next round way ahead of the game. For low level players, the Crate is far more important than anything else, including a bed or house.

NOTE: You can even do this on PvP servers, and you can even lock them, but they can be raided or destroyed.

HINT: Don’t lock your stuff if storing it on a PvP server because then people will destroy it, rather than just help themselves to some of your stash and hopefully leave some for when you come back. At the very least, the Crate will still be there. (Real Life Experience: We never locked our cabin on Lake of the Woods. Every year our neighbors would come back in the summer to find their door smashed in. We came back to find supplies in our cupboards!)

10 Comments
  1. December 18, 2015 2:56 pm

    Guys, if you are willing to go PvE on a non-dedicated server, you should have better luck teaming up, and pushing past the initial learning curve stuff so that your chances of surviving out in the wild (i.e., PvP) are greatly increased.

    P.S. Microsoft should have been advertising their “console Preview Exclusivity”. 2 Billion for Minecraft and not a single ad for Ark. There is still some idiocy left over from the previous management.

  2. December 19, 2015 6:44 am

    Ok, Blank, rED, and I played for about 4 hours. I had a good time, but by the end, we were exhausted. I felt like I was actually a Cave Man trying to survive. After everyone went to bed and Battlefront was downloading (LOL), Kenai jumped on and gave some great tips, like keeping the berries in your quick menu so you can eat while you forage without having to pull up the menu. DUH! I don’t know how many hours, and I didn’t figure that one out?!

    Anyway, he had a bunch of great hints. Ultimately though, the game is very hard and there is a lot of just staying alive, not furthering your “civilization”. I want to play it more. I like it a lot, but it definitely is an Alpha.

    And, as I alluded to above, Johann bought Battlefront, and then when he heard that I would buy it too if it were 50% off, he insisted that I buy it (he would pay the difference) so that we could play together over the holidays. Twist my rubber arm.

    • Herandar permalink
      December 19, 2015 8:50 am

      Welcome to the Dark Side, Suns. Use your partner’s cards when first starting out.

    • Blankman permalink*
      December 19, 2015 2:24 pm

      The way that you were hemming and hawing about Battlefront being 33% off for XBL Gold members, I knew you were going to buckle, Suns. I know you’ll enjoy the game with your boys & Herandar. Most of us won’t be joining you guys until that ish is cheap enough that it warrants a purchase simply due to the stance on principle. Remember, “it’s a trap!!!” Lol

    • December 19, 2015 2:37 pm

      LOL! Yeah, I caved like a fat man at the buffet ordering something more from the menu.

      And thank you for the tip, Herandar!

  3. December 19, 2015 2:15 pm

    Excited to hopefully play tonight. Christmas party ran long last night.

  4. December 20, 2015 11:21 am

    Silly me thought it wouldn’t be that bad to drive through the California Mountains in December.

    #shastacounty #snow #driving

    A post shared by Frank Frenik (@frankofrenik) on

    This was yesterday when it was the exact opposite of the day before. The day before couldn’t see two feet in front of me with snow falling and passing trucks. No thank you.

    We had to cut our trip short because the real snow was coming on our way back two weeks from now, and by then shorter on cash and with the rush of returning in time for school would have made a difficult drive worse.

    Bummed ’cause I couldn’t see my parents on New Orleans.

    • December 20, 2015 2:40 pm

      That’s the shits, Frenik. Sorry to hear your holiday plans were ruined.

    • December 20, 2015 2:55 pm

      thanks, it’s ok. I also wanted to see Blank but Saturday was the only window of sun before more snow so I missed out on that too.

      But that’s ok hopefully by the summer I can plan something something.

    • Blankman permalink*
      December 20, 2015 10:32 pm

      Yeah, Frank & I exchanged several messages when he asked how far away I was from Sacramento. The unfortunate fact that it was six hours away kind of killed those plans. It would have been cool to meet up with Frank & his family. Perhaps the summer will work out. I’m feeling a huge meet-up with Zos, Stephy, rED, Frenik, & myself are swirling around.

      It would have been nice to spend the holidays in New Orleans, by that drive would have been brutal. Nothing ruins good intentions like terrible traffic & weather conditions. It’s a downer, but I think Frank made the smart choice to head back home.

Comments are closed.

