Skip to content

PvZ:GW2 Character Variant Reveals

December 1, 2015
by

This autumn, I was tempted by Halo 5, SW:Battlefront, and RS:S. This spring, it will be The Division, PvZ:GW2, and Overwatch. I have several worries about The Division, first being polish/brokenness, second, actual PvP gameplay, third being the RPG system which sounds like it will be harder than BF3 on late adopters (i.e., those who don’t pursue the big weapons with mega hours in the first weeks after release). My worries for Overwatch center around my ability to contribute and to find fun in the gameplay. I am not entirely sold on what I see. With PvZ:GW2, my sole worry is the prevalence of the “stun” effect, which has almost no business in any video game.

I had a chance to watch some of Herandar’s SW:Battlefront, and while out of principle, I will not (yet) allow myself to pull the trigger, I have to say that regardless of how deep it is, the epic moments of the iconic Star Wars heroes battling it out in old, familiar environments and the laughter that it would inevitably inspire, makes it look like a lot of fun. Looks like Herandar is enjoying himself quite a bit.

By the way, for those of you who weren’t aware of it yet, if you have played Gears of War:UE, you should be able to download all four of the original games including Judgment. We played some of that this weekend, specifically the Overrun mode against bots, and ironically, it was pleasantly unbroken and quite entertaining.

28 Comments
  1. Herandar permalink
    December 1, 2015 11:56 am

    I am enjoying Battlefront immensely. It can be frustrating, but a vastly different game mode is only a screen or two away. And the first free DLC drops in a mere week.

    • December 1, 2015 3:32 pm

      Herandar, how many big scenario maps, and little skirmish maps does it have?

    • Herandar permalink
      December 3, 2015 10:33 am

      Four big maps, soon to be five. Eight small maps, and I think they are adding two more with the Jakku DLC. I think all of the maps are really well done too.

    • December 3, 2015 3:43 pm

      Thanks for the info, Herandar. 😀

    • Herandar permalink
      December 16, 2015 6:25 pm

      Well, that didn’t take long… You can get Battlefront for $40.19 with Gold.

      Also worth noting, Battlefield 4 has new free DLC.

    • December 16, 2015 6:42 pm

      Yes, to both of those! Good stuff. I am going to wait and see what happens over the holidays. I wouldn’t be surprised if EA pulled some even better price out of the hat on the 25th or 26th. I really need it to be down around 30 bucks (because that is still 40 Canadian) to feel good about my purchase (as much as I will already feel good about playing the game). Especially since I just bought Ark. Gonna have to give that a decent try.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      December 8, 2015 11:31 am

      Battle of Jakku dropped for everyone who pre-ordered on Dec. 1st. Walker Assault is really the only gamemode I can stand. Everything else is so camp heavy and reminds me of people sitting on rooftops in Battlefield. Graveyard of Giants plays extremely well for Walker Assault. Looks incredible as well.

  2. December 1, 2015 8:11 pm

    OT

    Honest Trailers did Aladdin in October. I just got to it now. Great stuff! The remade songs are hilarious!

  3. December 2, 2015 11:56 am

    OT: Microsoft was thinking ahead with Xbox to PC streaming. It applies directly to Hololens. Hacked together Halo 5 running on Hololens:

    • December 2, 2015 3:51 pm

      VERY cool! Cannot wait until this tech is perfected and encheapened.

  4. December 5, 2015 11:33 am

    http://www.twitch.tv/frankofrenik/v/28336550

    Last Night’s overrun stream

  5. December 6, 2015 6:49 pm

    OT This one is pretty funny.

  6. Blankman permalink*
    December 7, 2015 10:03 am

    OT: Well, it looks like that The Division beta that we were looking forward to in December won’t be happening anytime soon because it’s been moved to “early” 2016. I’m sure this so-called “beta” will wind up being the final build similar to Rainbow Six: Siege’s “beta.”

    People that pre-ordered the game will have access to the alpha taking place Dec. 9-12th. So those individuals are actually beta testing the game even though it’s labeled as an alpha. The rate of delays on this game is beyond ridiculous. Does anyone still care about this game? Check out the bad news at http://blog.ubi.com/the-division-an-update-to-our-beta-plans/

    • December 7, 2015 1:12 pm

      “The alpha will be available worldwide except for Japan and China.” 😦

    • RoBBins permalink*
      December 7, 2015 2:00 pm

      I just got a code for the Alpha earlier this morning that starts on Wednesday the 9th. Anyone else get a code emailed to them??

    • December 7, 2015 3:48 pm

      LOL! (Good stuff, RoBBins).

      You know, thinking about it, I am ready to “delay” my purchase of The Division for 6 months or a year, and pick it up when the profits aren’t so high for Ubisoft (and the cost is a lot lower for me).

      PvZ:GW2 AND Overwatch are sitting in the wings, along with Battlefront which I would buy in a minute if the digital copy is dropped by $30 like the discs were this week.

    • Blankman permalink*
      December 8, 2015 2:20 am

      Er um, no one is talking about Overwatch except you, Suns. LOL I’m getting the impression that you think that if you mention it enough times, we’ll eventually start talking about it. *Crickets chirping* Bueller? Bueller? 😉

    • Herandar permalink
      December 8, 2015 9:29 am

      Heh. Glad someone else got that impression as well.

    • December 8, 2015 2:00 pm

      LOL

      Yeah, I am not 100% sold on it either, but I cannot dismiss a class-based, FPS by Blizzard, even if I don’t think I will do very well at it. They are too good at what they do.

      “The general rule is that Blizzard doesn’t release something as a Beta unless another company would release it at retail” PA

    • December 7, 2015 4:38 pm

      Wow. The Division really knows how to disappoint their fan base. Maybe… Maybe they are making a masterpiece, but this is feeling more like “Day Z” for Xbox…. Crickets….

      Wonder why they made this an exclusive “beta”? Sorry Division dudes, I’m not pre-ordering your game. It’s already been delayed what a year already?….

      Robbins, Of course even with all our complaining, we’ll still want you to get your twitch streaming when you play.

    • Blankman permalink*
      December 7, 2015 6:56 pm

      No streaming allowed, Jimmy.

  7. December 7, 2015 5:00 pm

    I got a code for the Alpha, but I never pre-ordered. I must have signed up for the Beta before it was even a part of the pre-order scam. Go figure. I am at work, so I don’t know if I am going to get IP filtered or not. If I do, I will give the code to someone else. Will keep y’all posted.

  8. December 7, 2015 5:46 pm

    Update, the code worked for downloading purposes anyway. Won’t be able to try it until the 9th. It is under an NDA, so other than that, I cannot write about it.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      December 8, 2015 11:28 am

      I never pre-ordered as well, but still got the code. Maybe we can check it out on Wednesday if I catch you online, Suns!

    • December 8, 2015 4:49 pm

      I definitely want to give this a good try, and absolutely, we should try the co-op lobby functions and gameplay! Let’s keep an eye out for each other (and any others here who get their hands on the alpha).

    • December 9, 2015 1:24 pm

      Just got the code. Will be on tonight. My boys have been hogging both Xbox’s for the past 2 weeks. That ENDS tonight.

    • Herandar permalink
      December 9, 2015 2:16 pm

      23.2 GB download, Kenai. Start the download well before you plan on playing.

  9. Herandar permalink
    December 9, 2015 1:44 pm

    Heh heh. I saw Kenai’s post and was going to complain about not getting an invite, but figured I should check my email first and there it is. Not that I’m going to get a chance to really play it. This time of year sucks for my free time due to work.

Comments are closed.

