Skip to content

The Halo Saga

October 19, 2015
by

Kenny hooked us up with a great vid that includes all the cutscenes from Halo 4: Infinity (Spartan Ops). It is a must view vid for those interested in the Halo 5: Guardians campaign. Upon finishing the video, I came across another video which has all the story from all of the games with the exception of the live action stuff. It has been edited in narrative chronological order (as opposed to gameplay order). The About section of the YouTube provides links to specific sections of the story. It is over 11 hours long, and I have queued it up to the Halo 4: Infinity content, but you can jump straight to any section of the video that you want to watch. It is served up in 1080p. As Kenny said, beautiful stuff!

24 Comments
  1. Blankman permalink*
    October 19, 2015 1:17 pm


    I’ve created our company/clan on halowaypoint.com, guys & gals. You’ve all been sent squad invites to your XBL message. Check out our link: https://www.halowaypoint.com/en-us/spartan-companies/the%20stranded

    • October 19, 2015 5:48 pm

      Was just gonna post about this. Very cool! It’s too bad Microsoft still hasn’t implemented a global “clan” system into the OS. Would be cool to see them track stats between games etc.

    • October 20, 2015 8:11 pm

      Yeah no idea why it hasn’t. I been playing on the PS4 and found Sony’s Community which functions like a Global Group.

      It works like a LFG app, integrated into the os, so from within the community group you can see all the chat parties and descriptions, and send global invites to all community members, etc.

      Post on message boards will go to the global notifications on the OS if set up.

      I hope MS integrates that soon.

  2. October 19, 2015 4:54 pm

    I’m in!

    • Jim Ratajski permalink
      October 19, 2015 6:57 pm

      Me too!

  3. October 19, 2015 7:46 pm

    I’m fourth and we are officially established!

    • Blankman permalink*
      October 19, 2015 8:08 pm

      Woot! Now if only rED would get Halo 5…

  4. October 19, 2015 11:03 pm

    Digging into Halowaypoint, the various forms of narrative and othe support for Halo 5 and the IP is absolutely astounding. Mind boggling. For those who built their communities and gaming around Halo and stuck with it over the years, they must be going bonkers right now.

  5. October 20, 2015 12:37 am

    • October 20, 2015 3:01 am

      Thanks! Anything can be done well. I will save judgment for after I have seen it.

      Have you watched Star Wars Rebels first season? It is very good stuff, if you like Star Wars.

      OT Bwahahahahaha! Frickin’ food snobs!!

      “The structure is good” Bwahahahahahaha

      I darn near gave this its own post.

    • October 20, 2015 6:18 pm

      Zos, I will see your movie trailer and raise you some hilarious game info.

      http://www.gameinformer.com/games/star_wars_battlefront/b/xboxone/archive/2015/10/20/heres-what-makes-star-wars-battlefronts-leia-han-and-palpatine-special.aspx

      “Han makes good use of his blaster. Two of his powers, Rapid Fire and Lucky Shot, enable him to use speed or strength respectively. The former lets you fire as fast as you can finger the trigger. The latter can do serious damage to players, vehicles, and even heroes.

      The smuggler also has his physical strength on which he can rely. He can use a shoulder charge to bowl over enemies or quickly dodge out of battle.”

      THE CHARGER!!!! BWAhahahaahahaha!

    • October 20, 2015 7:34 pm

      This is making me want the game even more lol. The image in my head is hilarious. Including Han making the same noise as the charger LOL

      PS: Reserved my seats for the 7:00pm early premier (thank god not forced to midnight). Our local theater posted the showing, and it sold out literally in less than 10 minutes. This is their largest auditorium too (80 foot screen).

    • October 20, 2015 11:36 pm

      Sweet!

      We shall talk games, in detail, on the weekend. Get your studies done! Also, I need my fix of Gears with Clank, so tell her to rest up! 😉

    • October 21, 2015 1:17 am

      Clank is snoring next to me as i type this (while I bang away at homework into the night). Must be nice! :p

    • October 21, 2015 2:16 am

      This is a pretty funny FREAKING HILARIOUS preview of the movie. A must read…right to the end!

      http://theconcourse.deadspin.com/what-if-the-new-star-wars-sucks-too-1737539377

    • October 21, 2015 11:23 am

      OMG Suns!! This article is SPOT ON!!!! I HATED “Return of the Jedi” and all the “prequels”. They made no sense. Still don’t

      p.s. I have no plans to see this new money grabber. Unless you all come out raving your love for the new one, I’ll keep my money in my pocket and spend it on Battlefront. A DICE made game thank you very much.

    • October 21, 2015 3:41 pm

      Kenai FOR SHAME, ROTJ is a great movie. Also, as Yoda said (in the worst Star Wars movie) “Hate leads to suffering”. A little gem in a shit sandwich of a movie lol.

      My primary impressions (so far) from the trailers released.

      1. They are edited incredibly well. Really some of the most epic trailers I have seen. THEY DO NOT GIVE AWAY PRIMARY PLOT. Every other major picture these days (including other Disney Corp movies) give away so much before the movie is released. We still haven’t seen primary characters, and have no clue what is actually going to happen in the film. Awesome.

      2. The aesthetics are STAR WARS. The prequels did not have the same look and feel as the original trilogy. This is in addition to the practical effects. Which by the way, that red robot (portal looking) is an actual prop.

      Another key point about the new trilogy (and additional standalone). The primary writer is Lawrence Kasdan. He also wrote the following:

      — The Empire Strikes Back
      — Return of the Jedi
      — Raiders of the Lost Ark

      He was not the writer on the prequels. He wrote the epi 7, and is set to write 8,9 and the untitled Han Solo standalone film.

      Could the film be bad? Yes. But I am officially on the hype train.

    • Blankman permalink*
      October 21, 2015 4:03 pm

      Blasphemous talk about RotJ, Kenai! The original trilogy was some of the most influential as Sci-Fi. Many of those characters served as archetypes & still do. I can understand the hate for the last three films that Lucas completely pooched, but not on the OG Star Wars films.

  6. October 21, 2015 4:50 pm

    I am bringing this discussion down here.

    Did you clowns read the article? 😉

    Ok, I loved the speeder bikes and Harrison “I know” Ford. I enjoyed Luke’s struggle, and Carrie Fisher looked great in a slave suit. I really disliked the Ewoks. To me, they were completely out of place in that movie (as was the cutesy in child-sacrificing Willow). I didn’t like the ghost hall of fame, and the “I’m your sister”, while delivered with incredible skill, was contrived. Hey, those two were just seen deep kissing in the previous movie.

    At the time, I was happy that Darth turned, but the article (as my friend Mark has been insisting for years), makes a great argument that he would never turn back.

      After wearing Luke out with furious lightsaber skills from one end of Cloud City to the other; after bashing him to a pulp with flying space toasters; after blasting Luke out of a window and chasing him out to the end of a lonely windblown plank far from everyone who has ever known or cared about him, he lops the little pissant’s entire hand right the fuck off and then, then, only then, figures the time is right to go, Oh and also, I fucked your mom.

      As our own Tim Marchman put it, it’s the rawest own in cinema history. The crucial line—“No. I am your father.”—lands like an atomic bomb precisely because the dude saying it just spent the previous movie-and-three-quarters making you wet your pants, and is saying it to the young cock whose hand he’d just hacked off like it was nothing. That was his son he did that to! Just now! Luke’s reaction, horror and revulsion and shame so great he literally chucks himself into a bottomless pit over it, feels downright understated. Darth Vader, at that moment, is as stark and evil a villain as any movie has ever had.

    He makes a pretty good argument here, but he continues to powerfully argue why Darth cannot turn, and why Luke and Leia can’t be siblings etc. etc.

    Anyway, I didn’t realize that that awesome Fear quote was from the Prequel. I will say this about those, Lucas had intended on making a very strong statement about Homeland Security, and the price of American Fear in the second movie. He even has the “two towers” coming down. But he backed off. It would have made Clones a profound film (not great, but at least profound in message).

    Fear is the path to the dark side…fear leads to anger…anger leads to hate…hate leads to suffering.” The Phantom Menace

    It was probably for that quote alone that I forgave so much in that movie.

    Similarly with The Dark Knight. The only thing that really sticks with me is Ledger hanging his head out the car window, the pencil scene, and Harvey Dent “You either die a hero or you live long enough to see yourself become the villain.” One of my favorite lines in ANY movie.

    • October 21, 2015 5:22 pm

      I wasn’t responding to the article itself, but rather Kenai’s BLASPHEMY :p and my own thoughts on the trailers/future of franchise.

      I always thought it would have been interesting to see Luke tempted by the dark side more at the end of ROTJ. That being said, your complaints are relatively small in the scope of an entire film.

      More sporadic thoughts on the new films.

      — The sense of fear in Finn’s face when Kylo is charging him.
      — The intense emotions from several other characters. These are actors, getting their act on. Unlike the staleness of the acting in 1-3.
      — The prequels were stuck with “we must tell a story within the confines of what we know will happen in 4-6. These new movies can literally go anywhere. There is an unknown excitement. Where is Luke? What happened to the empire? The new story/plotlines are just as interesting and exciting as seeing the beloved characters/places/things revived.

      All in all, “i find your lack of faith disturbing”! LOLOL

    • October 21, 2015 7:04 pm

      LOL! So many great lines from those movies. They are so culturally significant as shown in “Reign of Fire”.

      And I made a mistake about Willow, it was the child sacrifice in the middle of a cutesy children’s movie, that was out of place.

    • Herandar permalink
      October 22, 2015 10:08 am

      Don’t be hating on Willow.

  7. Herandar permalink
    October 22, 2015 9:42 am

    Personally, I loved RotJ, but it’s because I really liked (still do) the machines of the universe, and RotJ had space battles and land battles. The characters were just characters to me, except for Chewbacca. I’m a fan of well-done special effects, and really not a fan of drama. An utterly believable world for me to escape into rates very highly for me.

    If I think about it, yeah, I side against the mainstreaming/everybody ends up happy aspects that lead the films away from greatness. My expectations of the new film is meager. I have not seen the new trailer. I don’t need to get hyped. I am not a fan of what J.J. Abrams did to the Trek films, but that sort of flashy mindless action fits into what Star Wars became.

    The problem for me is the Thrawn trilogy. Not long after I got into the Star Wars, these books came out and they were canon and they were the first true sequels to the films, and they told a great story of the fighting after the Battle of Endor and the death of the Emperor. In retrospect, yeah, a lot is cheesy about it, but it is still the official plot. Until Disney decided to green-light sequels, and all of that was erased. The new movie can’t really disappoint me, I grew out of Star Wars a few years later. Just give me two hours of used, weathered spaceships fighting it out with aliens that aren’t just people with stuff glued to their foreheads, and I’ll be happy.

    • October 22, 2015 6:41 pm

      If I could “like” a comment I would “like” yours.

Comments are closed.

