Skip to content

The Weekend

October 7, 2015
by

Several times this past week, we had stellar no-lose runs of Gears, but I always like to quit on a high note, which sometimes means only 1 or 2 games for the night. That leaves the rest of the time looking for something to do. Just in time for the weekend, EA is offering the Battlefront Beta to all of us on the One (October 8th-12th). Noobs will abound and we shall dominate, if we decide to join Force-s. I don’t know about you, but I need lots of laughter to keep an even keel these days. Join me?

Here is some more info about the beta:

The Beta includes three modes spread across three iconic planets, including:

  • Walker Assault on Hoth: Fight in epic 40-player battles as a Rebel to destroy the Empire’s onslaught of AT-AT’s by calling in Y-wing bombers. Or, side with the Empire and protect your walkers while utilizing their mighty weaponry to crush the Rebel objective.
  • Drop Zone on Sullust: Escape pods are crashing down and you and your team must fight to control them. With its frantic 8v8 matches, Drop Zone is sure to put your combat and strategy skills to the test.
  • Survival Mission on Tatooine: Play alone or with a friend via co-op or split-screen as you battle to hold off waves of Imperial forces including AT-ST’s, TIE fighters, elite stormtroopers, and more.

11 Comments
  1. October 7, 2015 2:03 pm

    OT

    http://www.microsoft.com/october2015event/en-us/live-event

    There are some very exciting reveals here. Having your phone be your main desktop computer, too?! Oh yeah, I am all over that!

    • October 7, 2015 3:28 pm

      The “surface book” will likely be my next work PC. The engineering is incredible. Surface Pro 4 also looks great.

      The entire keynote reminded me of Apple, and the “new” Microsoft is hugely evident.

      PS: So down for the beta.

  2. October 7, 2015 6:48 pm

    Very OT but very cool! (via GI)

  3. Blankman permalink*
    October 7, 2015 7:44 pm

    Pew pew pew. I’ll try the beta. 🙂

  4. October 8, 2015 9:30 pm

    http://i.imgur.com/TU56bkG.gifv
    LMAO!!

  5. Herandar permalink
    October 10, 2015 6:27 am

    Actually got a chance to play the Beta on Thursday and I definitely enjoyed it, though Walker Assault got repetitive quickly, since teamwork in a Beta is a stretch.
    Even joined in a party with Kenai and Luke briefly, and spent most of that time arguing with Luke about if the game is just “Battlefield: Star Wars”. (It is not, by the way. The core game mechanics are very different. Objective based FPS is not exclusive to, nor the defining feature of, the BF franchise.)
    I can’t tell for sure if the networking hiccups I experienced the other night were due to SWB or the new XBox One Experience. I’m guessing mainly the latter.
    I’m writing this next to the dying embers of last night’s campfire in Highland Hammocks State Park, Sebring, FL. So I don’t think that I’m going to play much more of the Beta. Maybe Sunday night, we’ll see.

  6. Blankman permalink*
    October 12, 2015 2:53 am

    Hilarious!!! So many funny moments with the “beta” (demo) so far.

    • October 12, 2015 6:42 am

      LMAO!!!!

      Seriously, I had a TON of fun playing that today! I look forward to seeing what else they have in store for the other epic battle scenes, and for the price to come down. Either that, I may just have to pull the Access trigger and go with $5 a month.

      Zos kills Darth and I teabag.

  7. October 12, 2015 6:24 pm

    I’ve got to say, it is gonna require some restraint to not jump on this game right away. Hopefully the launch is horrible, so we can jump in at a discount once the DLC drops :p

  8. October 12, 2015 6:30 pm

    It’s fun but it seems a dumbed down version of Battlefront 2 on a Battlefield engine.

    I’m loving BF: Hardline precisely because there’s more complexity.

    But anyways compared to Battlefront 2 which you could switch classes on the fly and sort of become a one man army. Abilities had no limits, had more specialized characters, etc.

    I might grab it later down the road but it’s not the 3 I was expecting.

  9. October 13, 2015 5:09 am

    http://www.theverge.com/2015/10/12/9512397/star-wars-battlefront-dlc-season-pass

    $50 season pass. Well I guess I’ll have to wait until 2017 for the ultimate $60 bundle…

Comments are closed.

