Skip to content

In Prep For Our Next FOD

September 1, 2015
by

I actually just unsubscribed to arCtiC’s channel the other day because it was full of that Destiny and Rocket Soccer BS πŸ˜‰ . Next thing I know, he’s pimpin’ a UE Gnasher tutorial over at Reddit. I’ll bite. What I want to highlight is that he almost never fires without aiming. Also, his timing. He waits for the shot taking risks that he might be literally beat to the punch. Finally, he keeps his distance most of the time (to avoid melees) and Dude’s got moves. Enjoy!

Update: His review and comments on the MP (including 2 piece and Gnasher consistency).

23 Comments
  1. September 1, 2015 6:00 am

    One thing I notice he not just aims, he tries to aim the upper left reticule gnasher mark at an angle. So it comes out in favor of his movement regardless of where he rolls and also gives him a north to what angle move in to a shot.

    Not sure if he explained it (my wife is sleeping and can’t play the audio right now, so sorry if he did)

    Also thanks for the heads up on his Destiny videos, I like his POV because he definitely moves into the shots there with the sniper,etc. Forgot he moved on to Destiny.😎

    • September 1, 2015 11:27 am

      Ha ha! Yeah, he loves him some Destiny! Cornie did too, until the MP got all unbalanced.

    • September 1, 2015 12:40 pm

      There’s a Massive Update 2.0 that will address weapon balance to hit before the new DLC. That and all the exclusives expiring. Even without buying the new DLC there will be things to do. I’m at almost 2k hours and he is almost at 1k. If there’s any game that can come close to even half of that, I would be happy. But on my end I don’t think Halo 5, Gears and Black Ops 3 combined would get there. I would love to be wrong, I don’t want to play Destiny a lot for another year. πŸ˜†

  2. September 1, 2015 6:58 pm

    LOL Understood, Frenik. Good to hear Destiny is getting some fixes. As you say, y’all have put in some time – though admittedly, many of those hours, at least on Cornie’s part are “grinding” in the truest sense of the word.

    Back on topic, arCtiC has posted another vid on KoTH gameplay.

    • September 2, 2015 7:14 pm

      Well that “grinding” pales in comparison to what I did back in the old Gears for “Seriously” and the achievement glitched so I never got it. 😭

      At least time around I will have a chance to unlock some skins, which will probably be just a useful as the “Seriously” gamer pic 😝

  3. September 1, 2015 7:15 pm

    They just activated ALL MP maps in public games now (playlists). So games with randoms should have more variety.

    • September 1, 2015 7:45 pm

      Thanks for the heads-up, Zos. Now I know why I have had to play War Machine every single time I boot up the game. Great news! They are also taking feedback on which maps should be excluded. Get Garden and Rooftops out of KoTH and Goldrush out of Execution. For starters. For those with Twitter, feel free to let them know.

  4. September 1, 2015 8:38 pm

    Guys, I started a new thread over at Reddit. Feel free to add your map suggestions there, for those of you who use it.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/GearsOfWar/comments/3jaglu/discussion_all_maps_in_which_should_be_excluded/

  5. September 3, 2015 12:43 am

    I just posted a new thread over at the official forums as to why the Stun Effect has no place in the Gears Universe.

    https://gearsofwar.com/en-us/forums/98be6d5e03f642a5b8b561883802d401/threads/why-the-stun-effect-has-no-place-in-gears-of-war/5c394a0f-e7be-4c9f-80c3-594cfb29d4bf/posts

    • Blankman permalink*
      September 3, 2015 1:14 am

      Left a comment already, and the trolls are already doing their usual flaming. Bunch of morons.

    • September 3, 2015 1:30 am

      Thanks, Kenny! Saw that, and replied to a bunch of them (biting my tongue for some). Gotta put our drop in the bucket. We can’t complain if we haven’t spoken up. We’ve done what we can. πŸ™‚ As I mentioned there, it is still way above what I ever expected for the IP ever.

    • September 3, 2015 9:33 pm

      I am not going to bother posting more over there. It is already 5 or 6 pages of posts buried. No one will see it. However, I had a bit of an insight/analogy for those who argue that we should just “play better” and avoid the melee.

      It is like saying from now on, in baseball, if you just throw the ball and hit the runner, he is out. To any who wants to complain, just hit the ball better – hit it out of the park every time and you don’t have to worry about the fielders hitting you with it. Improve, NOOB!

      “Get better” doesn’t really work, because the shottie battles, or instant gibs, are those “30 seconds of fun” that we want. I don’t want that interaction cut short because someone is able to press the “B” button and short circuit the fundamental, and highly entertaining interaction of sliding in and out of cover, maneuvering and finally getting that perfect hit that just makes the enemy explode.

    • September 4, 2015 11:33 am

      Yeah, its all about balancing, and while everyone is carrying a boom stick, I have yet to encounter a single person who is cannot be melee’d down because they are so “good” with the shotgun. It is OP, and kills the flow of the other gameplay mechanics in the game (much like the AR Sniper downs did as well).

      That being said, I got melee’d down only 3 times against public last night, and 2 of the 3 I was able to get a shotgun shot off (and gib them) before their “two piece” could finish. My best guess is that the mechanics just work better, making this easier to pull off than in OG Gears.

  6. September 3, 2015 9:23 pm

    More from arCtiC

  7. Herandar permalink
    September 4, 2015 9:44 am

    My eight seconds of glory from last night. And I’m fairly sure Blank thought I had used up all of my luck in killing zender.

    • September 4, 2015 11:27 am

      That was quite epic last night

    • Blankman permalink*
      September 4, 2015 1:20 pm

      Grrr… πŸ˜‰ Those were nice kills, Herandar. You might want to bump up your gamma because your brightness is pretty dark. It makes locating the opponent easier, especially since the default settings are set so low.

    • September 4, 2015 6:18 pm

      Look at you go, Herandar! Rollin’ and Gnashin’ like a vet!

      And yes, bump that Gamma up all the way to the top. It takes away from the horror element in more ways than one. (You will find you play better because you can see better.)

      PS If you check out my two latest vids you will find that I got so many kills in a row, I had to record it twice. Five kills in a row on KoTH. (Unfortunately, I don’t know how to get the link to my own vids, just other friends’ vids).

      Got the links! Part One. And Part Two(a lot of overlap).

    • September 4, 2015 6:34 pm

      Sign into xbox.com >> Click Account on top right of webpage >> Profile and your clips are on the main profile page. You can click “view all” to see em’ all.

      Then, click the actual clip to view in a new window and copy the full URL generated in your browser. (these are public URLS)

    • September 4, 2015 6:38 pm

      Thanks, Zos. When you click view all, then it automatically embeds, and I don’t have access to the links. However, those vids were right at the top, so I didn’t have to “View All” to see them and get the links. Thanks! I have edited the links in to my original post above!

    • September 4, 2015 7:19 pm

      Ah i see, you can actually keep clicking that right > symbol and pool through all of your clips to view individually from the main profile page. It will appear momentarily that you have reached the “end” but the button will work again after it buffers the next batch of videos.

Comments are closed.

