Skip to content

FOD: Our First With UE

August 28, 2015
by

GoW_UE_Horiz_Final
Hey Guys! After seven years, we finally have a game in the Gears universe that works the way the original should have.  At least, almost.  There is undoubtedly, tweaking to be done: game chat (fixed already?), melee stun, and a few other things.  But even if those don’t get dealt with the way we hope, the game is very fun and the house rules can be kept to a minimum.

And that is what I want to talk about.  How can we maximize fun and minimize pain and frustration when playing together in private matches?

First, avoid trash talking and “playing with the dead”.  Even with genuine shenanigans, the nature of Gears makes it feel like you are getting the raw end of the deal sometimes.  It felt like the skirmish should have gone your way but it didn’t.  My I suggest that we keep the “Bullshit” and the “Did you see that garbage?!” to a minimum.  The fact is, people work hard to get their kill, and fair or unfair, the real bullshit is when someone says a kill was less than deserved.  It doesn’t mean we can’t talk about stuff, but perhaps we can at least wait until the next round starts and the person who got the kill doesn’t have to be insulted.  Personally,  this is a big one for me.  I don’t get a lot of kills, but as far as I am concerned, I earn every one, and maybe even a few that aren’t given to me.  Everyone has a VCR now.  Record garbage and post it in the FOD write up so that we can see it and laugh about it later, rather than be insulted while we play.  Please do not call other people’s kills garbage.

Similarly, let’s avoid playing the dead.  When a guy is down, can we agree that it is best if we use the quickest, most painless form of execution?  No “Infidel” spinning in the curb stomp, humping the head, etc. etc..  I am talking about our private matches here.  When things get crazy in the wild, that may be a different situation.  But for our private matches, let’s keep the executions swift and clean.

Second, is the “B” button broken?  I don’t use the melee, so for me, banning the melee will have no affect on my game.  The saw is an exception because the saw-er is, in effect, stunned while in animation and can be killed very easily – you pay for the show.  As far as I am concerned, the saw is completely fixed and offers fun, Gears-only comic relief.  (I almost never use it, but I often laugh while killed by it because it is my own fault.)  Back to the melee.  I wouldn’t mind it if there were no stun involved.  But rendering the melee-ee helpless, is a horrible, enraging game mechanic, and I personally wouldn’t mind at all if we put a moratoreum on the melee until The Coalition removes the stun.

Third, I would suggest that we make it a policy to never play the same teams against each other for more than 3 matches.  Rivalries soon become grudge fests if the same people are kept on the same teams for too long.  Also, if it is policy to switch things up, then no one has to feel badly that a certain combination didn’t work well.  We are not changing the teams because so-and-so played awful (or awful together), but because that is our rule.

Finally, I would suggest that we offer genuine compliments as often as we are capable.  Good effort and nice plays deserve praise.  Simple.

Anything else?  Please feel free to comment on this, and to add stuff throughout the weekend.

In the meantime, may all your gnasher rounds end in headshots or gibs, your booms arc like rainbows with pots of “gold” at the end, your longshots hit their marks, your torque arrows explode (think about that one), and your grenades bounce true!  See you online! And don’t forget that you can drop links here to your awesome highlights; don’t be shy!

EDIT: Private rooms hold 10 (4×2 +2 spectators). First come, first served. Streamers greatly appreciated for those who can’t be part of the 10. Also, if needed, people willing to jump out to let others in, is greatly appreciated but on a volunteer basis only.

23 Comments
  1. August 28, 2015 6:51 pm

    Saved Films should silence most of the BS calling. There is plenty of goofy stuff that happens, but the ability to see the other players perspective changes everything. I have already gone back and checked my own deaths, and found “oh shit, I missed my second shot”. Gears is so frantic, intense and fast that it is very easy to wear rose colored glasses while playing.

    I agree to avoid the humping/taunting. But it doesn’t bother to be on the recieving end. Frankly, having Grymm t-bag my character seems to improve my game, but I am a bit of crazy person.

    The saw is definitely in, actually melee’s haven’t been nearly as bad for me, even playing the grimiest of players in ranked games. IMO using the melee ruins your own glory of victory. Especially while everyone spectates. That being said, others will get really pissed if they get melee’d and it is kind of hard to have a “grey area” rule on something like that.

    Not playing the same teams for more than 3 rounds is cool with me. If things are going well, i don’t mind extending it.

    We should always call out each others glorious plays/kills (we have been doing this already from what I have experienced).

    The biggest annoyance for me, is when people (non jokingly) complain about their own teammates. I can’t think of much weaker shit than that.

    Who is gonna be on tonight?

    -Zos

    • August 28, 2015 6:58 pm

      Zos, excellent input. YES, ultimately, and I hate to put it in these words but, if we are just “sensitive” to the mood of the room and make adjustments accordingly, then there isn’t a need for any rules at all, really. OP is really only about ensuring the maximum enjoyment for everyone, especially in when we don’t have full control over our emotions/actions.

      Good stuff! Expect to see my ball sack dragged over your face on the rare occasion that I actually kill you. I want to make sure you are playing at the top of your game! 😉 Love it!

    • August 28, 2015 7:25 pm

      LOLOLOL

  2. Blankman permalink*
    August 28, 2015 7:49 pm

    Solid points, fellas. I’m going to bullet the points:
    – No “playing with the dead.” Leave that garbage for non-friends because that kind of stuff adds insult to injury.
    – Absolutely no two-piecing. We get enough of that playing against randoms from the public.
    – Saws are fair game.
    – Teams should set up party chat with just their teams players since the game chat feature is currently pooched.
    – Please offer genuine praise because as Suns has already said, “We work hard for our kills.”
    – No grenade tagging if you’re on the team that is in the majority (i.e. 4 vs. 3). This is only in effect when we have uneven teams.
    – Zos & Cornie cannot be paired together on the same team. Cornie is simply a beast. Yes Johann, what have we created?!? The apprentice is now the master. 😉 Zos seems to have rediscovered his Gears mojo after marriage & a kid. Ha!
    – If you know that you’ve been stuck with the Torque Bow shot & it didn’t register; acknowledge the kill by standing still to accept the death. We used to do that back when Gears OG was simply chock full of shenanigans. I suggest that we go back to that because the Torque Bow has been inconsistent.

    Shit talking is frowned upon. We’re all friends, & let’s not remember that Gears OG is what brought this community together in the first place. See you guys in this week’s FoD (Festival of Death)! My name is Blankman, and I approve of this message.

  3. August 29, 2015 4:11 pm

    I loved the clips! If there is one improvement that is worth the money is the clips.

  4. Herandar permalink
    August 30, 2015 9:15 pm

    What is two-piecing?

    • Blankman permalink*
      August 30, 2015 9:33 pm

      Two-piecing is when they throw the melee followed up with a shottie blast. If you’re meleed, it leaves you stunned & defenseless. The stun lasts long enough so that you can’t even fire off your own weapon. The only way to escape a two-piece is if the person FUBARs the follow-up shot. It’s cheap, and there’s really no reason why it’s still in the game. They did away with it on Gears Judgment, but now it’s back with UE. 😦

    • August 31, 2015 6:20 am

      yeah and added to that is that anyone good at roadie running and hoping can avoid being blasted and getting close easily for the two piece.

      There’s ways to avoid it but then the game becomes a hop fest and less of a shooter showdown.

      One more reason I feel bad for not playing Judgement enough.

  5. August 31, 2015 7:30 pm

    Oldie, but a goodie:

    Original “Unreal Warfare” (GOW) prototype

    • August 31, 2015 8:07 pm

      What’s the story behind this? A tech demo?

      OT: Sort off…

      I was watching a Gears stream, the guy had the most viewers at the time 300ish. Was playing Raven down and gets demolished back to back spawns (tdm) and just rage quits mid-steam. I think I have only seen one other rage quit with a good chunk of viewers (One of the first Crota raid runs)

      Gears is still Gears, lol.

    • September 1, 2015 4:07 am

      LOLOL@vid.

      Frenik, even KoTH has some horrific spawns and hills that will lose the game for you, but TDM?!? That is just beyond any merit at all. It has no right being in the playlist, especially the way the devs have the spawns, but most importantly, because it takes gamers away from more legitimate game modes.

      Absolutely nothin’ like Gears though. The sleep I lost playing, and the corrosive adrenaline that kept me awake long after I stopped completely flattened me this week. My voice is almost unrecognizable and my back aches from coughing. Crazy game! Nothing like it on the market. So much fun, but so intense!

    • September 1, 2015 5:51 am

      Hey Highs and Lows, like always. I love the Gears highs but not sure I can stomach the lows, much less playing against Cornie.

      Saw plenty of his quick mega accurate headshots from different ranges with the gnasher.

      I mean that’s the thing getting those are awesome. The problem is running into a wall that can do that to you nonstop.

      That’s where I would love me some progression. It would feel things are moving even in a loss.

      I know you said you don’t like them in your shooters but there’s plenty of it in a game like PvZGW.

      I don’t think it’s the games fault. Gears will be Gears.

      However we are in a different landscape of gaming and it shows how different things are, pretty soon the numbers will dwindle further with each new release.

      I was impressed that by the weekend it was in the top 5 most played, but by today MGS was 3rd, and I don’t see Metal Gear as a flag ship, so who knows where those numbers will be soon. Which will then trickle down where it matters: How many people will end up playing execution in November/December.

      That’s what interest me because I have a gut feeling that’s when they will have it on sale, and will be grabbing it. Hopefully it will not be another entry in the external hard drive graveyard, been working hard to revive unplayed games 😆

  6. September 1, 2015 4:32 am

    OT The solid state drive (Hybrid) has arrived on the Xbox platform. I have been crying for this for YEARS! …But wait, there’s more. It comes with the Elite controller which, I have been crying for for YEARS!

    Something tells me management has changed in the Xbox division and someone who likes gaming is actually at the helm.

    http://www.gameinformer.com/b/news/archive/2015/08/31/xbox-one-elite-bundle-includes-solid-state-hybrid-drive-elite-controller.aspx

    • September 1, 2015 5:32 am

      yeah i saw but $500??? At this stage is hard to put that kind of money especially because of the amount of games that can be bought with $500 if spent wisely. Dunno, not even considering it for now, especially because I wear out controllers in less than 4 months 😆

  7. September 1, 2015 11:22 am

    To both your comments, Frenik.

    Gears is going to take a huge hit when Halo arrives, because that is the big Xbox exclusive franchise. Of course, a new, popular CoD and all the other TONS of games coming out will leave only the hardcore remaining for a while. Some people will continue playing, some new people will come in with Christmas Xbox sales, and some people will come back. There is nothing else like Gears. 🙂

    And I like the progress that they offer as it is. It has kept me playing longer than I planned, just so that I could cash in on the consecutive round bonus, or level up once more before I quit for the night. The way progression is implemented in most games, it is darn near a pay play-to-win model. That is what I don’t like. I resented it when people were owning me with the level 43 unlock USAS in BF3. It took me 40+ hours to unlock that gun. In the meantime, I was getting owned by it all the time. That is what I dislike about progression in shooters. Skins, gamer pics, badges, achievements, level insignias, all GREAT! Gameplay game winning weapons/attachments/tools/perks?! Rubbish!

    With PvZ:GW, who cares?! Even if I paid cash money, I would still only get “sticker packs” that would guarantee me nothing. The whole thing is comedy. There never was any “fighting through the pain”. It is one of the brightest, silliest, most enjoyable, most therapeutic, asymmetrical, customizable third/first person shooter that I know of. The sequel is my most anticipated game of the next two years – higher than the Division, or even Gears 4. EA/Popcap might screw it up. But most likely not, because there is no “core” gameplay. The “core” gameplay is laugh your ass off while doing silly things in bright colors. 🙂

    As for the $500, even now, I would pay that price for that set up if I hadn’t already jumped in (I won’t say ahead until they replace the OS with something that I like). I said years ago that I would gladly pay an extra hundred if there was an SKU with a flash HDD, just so that I could save myself the long loading times. It is also my biggest single gripe with the current OS – everything takes far, FAR too long. As for controllers, you of all people should realize the value in buying an Elite stainless steel controller. You don’t throw your controllers, so the only way they take damage is just through steady, unrelenting use. I feel confident that the Elite controller would last you at least three times as long as the regular models, but with it you would get all the features!

    It is like buying a suit. If you buy a cheap suit, no one ever will give you a compliment. It looks cheap from the day you take it out of the store. If you buy an expensive suit, you don’t stop getting compliments until you have to throw it out because it is thread bare. I know. I have owned both.

    P.S. The highest of highs and lowest of lows still goes for Gears, even though now you get a fair shake at things. The thing is, “someone always know more”. And if you play like me (which you don’t), there are a lot of “someone”s. 😉

    • September 1, 2015 3:01 pm

      Suns, you may also want to check out the cost of external SSD’s for XB1. From what I have seen the performance increase is significant (even via external).

      I want to try the Elite controller quite badly. It is clear the positive direction Phil Spencer has taken the company in his short time heading the department.

      Up next: An actual “good” Microsoft Made headset. Lightweight, chat-only, wireless headset. It is amazing to me we still haven’t received this.

      Regarding Gears, it is insane how good it feels. It took 9 years, but we got the game we have been wanting. It really builds my confidence in what The Coalition will do with Gears 4. If only they would continue to support Gears UE with content down the road (not likely).

    • Blankman permalink*
      September 1, 2015 3:51 pm

      That Elite XB1 w/ Elite controller sounds both tempting & awesome. The Elite controller is not stainless steel, Suns. Only components such as the paddles, geometric d-pad, & analog sticks attachments are stainless steel. The base is still constructed of the same plastic that the current controllers are made out of.

      Gears UE is playing like a dream. Sheesh, it only took nine years to give us what we asked for in a “sequel.”

    • September 1, 2015 3:56 pm

      Blank, apparently the “hybrid” drives have actually out performed many normal SSDs in some instances. The main driving factor is the ability to still offer 1TB storage. Having a super fast 256 GB SSD would be cool, but could only handle a couple games + OS + Apps

    • September 1, 2015 5:38 pm

      Blank, understood about the stainless steel (sloppy writing on my part). And 256GB may be the way I go, then. I will see. I have a 256 for my main computer and a 128 for my laptop. Both machines boot up in under 30 seconds. For me, I only need two or three installed games. The rest can be on the 500GB drive. Maybe my Christmas present.

      And I have had the Elite pre-ordered almost since it was announced. I put my money where my mouth is, so I will give you a review after I have used it if there are any fence sitters. Pre-orders are very high, so my delivery date has already been pushed back to mid-Nov. Hopefully it comes sooner than that.

      DON’T TELL CORNIE, please. (He never reads the blog so this is one tidbit he will just miss out on if he continues to dismiss it. 😉 )

    • Blankman permalink*
      September 2, 2015 2:22 am

      Don’t know if you guys have already seen the Elite controller vidoc, but here it is. Dayum that’s sexy! I’ve been salivating on this since it was announced at E3. $150 though. 😦 Suns, Costco members can get it for $129.99 instead of $149.99 here in the states. You might want to check with Costco Japan for their pre-order pricing.

    • September 2, 2015 2:35 am

      Yes, VERY sexy. Thanks for the heads-up, Blank. I don’t think Costco here even carries the PS4 let alone the Xbox One and its accessories. I will take a peek though. Thank you!

      So….are you gettin’ one?

      I worked a bunch of extra hours this summer, taking time out of my holidays and away from the fam. I am using the money that I get from that to pay for the controller (and the two copies of Gears and maybe something else). I will be letting Cornie use it whenever he wants, even if I am on. He doesn’t know, though. 😉 I want to crank him up to 11. Can’t wait to see him handle the pistol with the triggers on half pull. ZzZZZZIT, POP! ZzZZZT POP! LMAO!

      (Now watch, I will find out that he has been reading this site religiously for years now. LOL.)

    • Blankman permalink*
      September 2, 2015 2:57 am

      It’s Costco on-line where the reduced price is, not the brick & mortar. Costco Japan should have an on-line entity similar to the states. Check there, Suns. As far as getting one myself, I’m really leaning on getting one. The price tag is equivalent to custom pro controllers from Scuf & Evil (which will seriously be in jeopardy when the first party Elite controller hits the market), so I’m not griping about the msrp set by MS. Argh, my willpower is so weak! Ha!

      My Day One XB1 has been making strange mechanical start up noises when it powers on from a cold boot for the past month. It sounds like a loud whirring which lasts for about three seconds. This has me seriously worried about its longevity since it’s already seen many hours. Another $500 (in this case, the Elite 1TB XB1 bundle) is NOT what the doctor ordered. I’ve already mentioned the scary start up sound to Sherri. It’s a hard pill to swallow, but I’m hoping the console won’t result in mechanical failure. 😦

    • September 2, 2015 3:55 am

      No Costco online in Japan, or shipping available from US etc. 😦 No problem. One step at a time. Am grateful for Amazon and brick and mortar Costco.

Comments are closed.

