Skip to content

Boxes 2v2 Gnasher Gameplay

August 23, 2015
by

RoBBins had asked about this map/game mode before. Also, I just want to highlight that the veterans are going to be coming out, and we can expect matchmade/random games to feature a lot of the “wall bounce” type gameplay. I don’t have the reflexes to become competitive in that kind of Gears, so I am thinking that even with the exploits and bugs fixed, matchmaking is going to be a harsh environment. Cornie is looking forward to pushing his ambulation gameplay to the limit, like he did with Titanfall. Release is just a little over 24 hours now. P.S. This particular map will be hilarious if put into our 4v4, execution FF ON rotation. Looking into my crystal ball, I see Zoso getting 7 kills every round. LMAO!

26 Comments
  1. August 25, 2015 1:14 pm

    Man, all the goofy voice issues aside, last night was A LOT of fun. Had a hard time sleeping last night (especially after gaming past midnight on a work night lol).

    We should collect our “constructive criticism”/wish list to send off The Coalition.

    Here are some I have thought of:

    — Game Chat Voice Issues Fix
    — Ability to crouch while aiming around corner (provide option to remove spotting or alternate button mapping).
    — See player “character skin” faces in the lobby to identify what characters people will be using.
    — Working “ready up system” in private matches.
    — Vote to skip Map in private matches

  2. August 25, 2015 3:17 pm

    PS: Reading reviews, you can really tell people know who the series vs those who don’t lol. I have read a few reviews where the “multiplayer element” was only a single paragraph in the entire review.

  3. August 25, 2015 7:43 pm

    Good on the list, Zos. Will add as I recall things that need fixing.

    I think some of us had more “fun” last night than others. 😉 You were absolutely on fire last night. You have always played well, but you were as good as you have ever been – so fast and so accurate. I regretted having spent time in the original game again, because I was all out of sync. It takes me so long to adjust to changes in games. The game chat voice needs to be fixed for me to enjoy myself to the fullest because I rely so heavily both in and out of the matches on communication and the social aspect – but I had a lot of fun. Even with my donuts and sprinkles.

    After everyone logged off, I played a bit more, had a quick nap, and then played another 4 or 5 hours against randoms with Cornie. We tried a bunch of servers and gametypes. Very surprisingly, we were able to find rooms for Execution, not just TDM. The new maps, and all the fixes really change the game for the better.

    Oh, one thing that really surprised me was mixing up COG and Locust visually. Sometimes, I can’t tell immediately which is which. Also, there are some skins that almost completely blend into the environment. I don’t want to complain and have them turn up the red and blue again – that has been tweaked and is now good – but dang, some of those skins are hard to see! Can’t wait to get back at it tonight, though I won’t be able to jump on until about an hour later than I did yesterday. I don’t expect anyone on at that time. (Will game with Cornie in the evening, probably.)

    Thanks again for posting, Zos.

  4. Herandar permalink
    August 26, 2015 8:10 am

    Yeah, I tried a few MP games of KoTH last night and couldn’t tell who was on my team unless I was close enough to see their head. Ended up shooting at everyone.

    And vets are having way too much fun pub-stomping noobs in Social. Lost 180-0. So full of win.

  5. August 26, 2015 10:49 am

    I watched a bit of Cornie’s stream last night, and was very confused of who was who in the game, and he was sniping, so for me it would have taken longer to react to an enemy.

    Didn’t get to see much, is there any type of progression in the game? Is it just a rank number/Leaderboards like other gears?

    Anyways it looked good and very smooth. I have seen other games from Cornie where you can see the lag in shots, etc. This version had no visible lag.

    I am taking the calm before fall releases to clear up some gaming backlog and get some achievements too, so for now I will gladly just stream it up. But definitely will be grabbing it at some point.

    OT:

    Black Ops 3 Beta is good. It feels like going back home after two different COD adventures in Ghosts and Advanced Warfare.

    It’s a lot less vertical than AW so double jumping and wall running feel like optional, rather than forced like it was in AW (in terms of getting killed by vertical vantage points).

    However wall running is very much integrated in the map as advanced tactics. Unlike Titanfall, the maps are made so that if you do choose to wall run, you get the added benefits of cutting through a map quicker, or flank an enemy that is only holding the traditional lines of sight.

    One thing though, the old COD feeling of getting pounded by airstrikes and special abilities is back, it both makes the game fun as heck when you are doing good and very frustrating when you are not.

    One thing I did like in AW was that it was not common for people to go in huge killstreaks. On this, especially in objective games, it’s almost the norm.

    But since the game is fun even while losing, I can see a huge stream of noobs and casual gamers populating this enough to counter the hardcore crowd.

    The “Supers” are well done and provide a breath of fresh air, even when it resembles Destiny for me. The Characters do not have the complexity of Destiny characters, but by the same token destiny doesn’t have the same weapon complexity as CoD.

    It’s too early to say if it’s the best COD, but I am sure of what I have seen, that this compliments and competes quite nicely with Destiny on the MP portion.

    Activision must be very happy they are going to make a killing. Sony well played, they grabbed the exclusives at the right time, along with Destiny, I am very jelly of sony players right now.

    Then again we are getting Halo and Gears just came out, so it’s all good.

  6. August 26, 2015 12:06 pm

    @Herandar – I’ve no doubt that is going on, and the problem is that Gears plays differently than any other game, so the “learning” curve is very steep. We will be playing in groups of four or in private as 8 with up to two spectators, so feel free to jump in with us. Tonight, I jumped in, but just watched Cornie for quite a while because four were already partied up. It is pretty entertaining to watch, too. By the way, KOTH is not necessarily a good intro to the game. Even TDM might be better for just practicing your movement and weapons. Execution is the gametype we choose by default, but the interactions can be so short that it isn’t necessarily a good gametype for “learning” the basics.

    @Frenik, the Gears “progression” is just very simple character unlocks, and that is it as far as I know. Certainly nothing for weapons/upgrades etc. I actually prefer that. I don’t want/need any RPG in my shooter, thank you very much. BF:BC2 was about as extreme in that regard as I want. BF3 and BF4 went way overboard with that for my tastes.

    Thanks for the impressions on BlOps 3. Penny Arcade had this to say about it:

    Indeed, I have played Call of Duty games since they were primarily a PC phenomenon; I have played them long enough to be all “Uh oh, it’s a Treyarch year,” except now it’s Treyarch that routinely enunciates series excellence. Deprioritizing melee kills and the addition of thoughtful new traversal has turned the pace down, which has allowed me entree into the game at all. And going the “champions” route for characters – a la League – alongside the series’ traditional slots and perks grants a ton of variety and long-term expansion potential.

    Kill Confirmed is the definitional Call of Duty gametype for us now; if we can fill out half or more of a team we’ll try other modes, Domination let’s say, but if it’s two or three of us I don’t think there’s a better way to play deathmatch. It has the thing I liked about “Execution” in Gears also, and I’ve had many opportunities to namecheck Gears lately, but still: killing somebody is cool or whatever but it doesn’t mean shit here scorewise. You have to commit something to claim those points, typically the meat of your torso, so the tags enemies and friendlies leave behind alter the terrain in a substantial, dynamic way. It ablates the frustration of individual deaths because your friends can get your tags, which is one of the more incredible sensations, thought getting your friend’s tags and then getting the tag of the enemy that killed them must be considered the Super Burrito Plate of competitive interactions.

  7. Herandar permalink
    August 26, 2015 1:40 pm

    Tried to jump in with the group, but was more or less dismissed.

    • August 26, 2015 2:05 pm

      Sorry if that was us last night. We had a group of 4, and were in the middle of a intense ranked match when you joined our party. I think you had left before the game was over.

      To complicate things further, there is a large incentive for sticking in the same group, as there is a bonus point multiplier for playing consecutive games without backing out.
      That being said, we ended up swapping people in and out a lot last night.

      I would strongly suggest playing social TDM to get a feel for things, but the best will be playing in private matches with Stranded.

    • August 26, 2015 7:12 pm

      Herandar, I don’t think I was in the party when that happened. Having said that, communication is so important and the game so intense, that if anyone jumps in during a game, or even between rounds, it will probably be difficult to get a word in edge wise (or be heard if one does). The other day, I jumped in the party, announced myself, and then five minutes later, when I spoke again, everyone was all surprised, wondering when I joined. Yesterday, after I jumped into the party, I sat and watched Cornie’s monitor for about an hour, just listening and watching. I didn’t mind. I told the crew that was fine – but that is how it goes with that game. As Zos mentioned, against the public, there are consecutive round bonuses, and team chemistry that develops after a couple of matches, and people are reluctant to just break it up every round.

      In private matches there are spectator slots so we will be able to rotate people in and out. However, if there are not enough people for private matches, then it goes out to social and is limited to four (and four extra party members hoping someone will stream).

      Anyway, what I am saying is that as one of the crew for almost 10 years now, even when I jump in I don’t always get noticed (or am quickly forgotten), and end up sitting on my hands for long periods of time waiting for a spot to open up.

  8. Herandar permalink
    August 27, 2015 8:02 am

    Theme for last night: Adventures in game chat. I could hear my echo on my headset, which usually means everyone else can hear me, but they couldn’t during that match, even though the little chat bubble icon showed on the post-round summary screens every time I spoke.

    • August 27, 2015 11:24 am

      Last night, it appears they may have resolved this issue on the back-end. Without restarting the game, we got to the point where the problem didn’t occur at all for anyone in the room. That being said, it could have been a fluke or a temporary fix.

      Communication is key, so it definitely KILLS the experience when it doesn’t work right.

  9. August 27, 2015 4:21 pm

    Agreed completely about the importance of game chat.

    I really missed being able to jump in last night when everyone was on. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to join tonight, either, because today is first day of classes. 😦

    I did play about 4 hours with Johann, Cornie, and a new guy “The I Struggle”, one of Cornie’s acquaintances from Destiny. He is a clean, soft-spoken, highly skilled gamer. If you run into him, friend up. He’s a good guy. Alos, we tried KoTH and Blitz and I was surprised by how incredibly fun it was. Gears is all about Execution, but man, KoTH and Blitz were fun last night. We only had one difficult match on Canals because the other team was really good with the snipers and that map is a snipers paradise. Anyway, more on that in party if anyone is interested in hearing about it. Not trying to convert, because Execution is still my favorite mode, and what I consider gears.

    I am hopeful that I will be able to play quite a bit this weekend. Can’t wait.

    Ok, now I gotta get ready for work. ❤

    • Blankman permalink*
      August 30, 2015 12:49 pm

      King of the Hill is definitely a fun & viable alternative to Execution. It serves as a palate cleanser because it’s less stressful. I played nine games with combinations of Suns, Cornie, Zos, & Herandar; we only lost a single game (team that comprised of The | Struggle) due to solid teamwork on locking down the hill. Also, it’s a good game type where you can “practice” your shottie skills. Good stuff!

  10. RoBBins permalink*
    August 28, 2015 12:53 am

    It was great getting in some matches with everyone like the good old days back in ’06! Its definitely still somewhat challenging getting used to the 60FPS in multiplayer, but after that night I think i’ve found my groove again. Been absolutely dominating in social TDM since release night. Figured out that the gnasher shoots from the barrel to the center of the screen (not just from the center of screen ala Gears 1 OG). So up close you want to shove the barrel into your opponent, whereas from afar you want to use the center of the screen to line up the shot.

    Also, I’ve been getting quite a few sniper clips within the last 2 days. I’ve been trying to record them so I can save and look back at them later, but some were so good I couldnt help but sit back and laugh out loud. Not to mention, the long distance gnasher headshots are back and still incredibly satisfying. Really Doe would approve. Hopefully I’ll catch you guys again soon! Or maybe just a few of ya for some social/ranked matches!

    • August 28, 2015 2:31 am

      Glad to hear it you are enjoying it, RoBBins. It is good. Hey, thanks for the hint about the center screen stuff. I didn’t know that about close up. Most of the time, in order to avoid being meleed or 2 pieced, I keep out of arms reach, literally, so the center screen thing has been working pretty good. However, now I know why it hasn’t always been on.

    • August 28, 2015 6:44 pm

      I am loving DVR right now! I didn’t know you could just link that stuff so easily. I thought it had to be saved. Very nice! (It isn’t perfect. Sometimes it doesn’t save, or only saves half of the 30 seconds, etc., but it is great when it works).

    • August 28, 2015 6:48 pm

      There was a bug at release specifically with Gears UE. I believe it should be fixed now (all saves in the last day have worked for me).

      They did a bunch of server maintenance yesterday for Gears, which seemed to temporarily break voice chat. Should be interesting to see where it is at tonight.

  11. August 28, 2015 4:37 pm

    ot

    CoD Beta will be open Beta Tomorrow at 4 pm Pacific or 8 pm East.

    One thing I missed is you can customize weapon skins this time around. It doesn’t paint the whole thing but you can still customize enough.

    The other thing if you press start while playing it gives you a real time diagnosis of your connection ping, etc.

    It’s on till Sunday

    • August 28, 2015 4:39 pm

      Nice, i’ll def give it a go

    • August 28, 2015 5:11 pm

      Uplink with a good crew is crack. Holding the satellite and wall running while being shot at defines adrenaline in this game.

  12. August 28, 2015 4:54 pm

    OT: “LawBreakers” Cliff’s next game (well, BossKey’s)

    Looks like UT, TF2, and that new Blizzard Shooter.

    That being said, a lot of interesting mechanics in a fast shooter could be fun.

    • August 28, 2015 5:14 pm

      Looks pretty cool. Seems like the future is class based shooters. 👍🏻

    • August 28, 2015 6:46 pm

      Thanks for the heads-up. For those who don’t know, it is PC only.

      I would not bite even if it were for console. Cliffy is an idiot savant. Great in ideas, horrific in execution. Also, “Adapt”. Anyone who thinks patches/fixes of exploits are something to joke about, well, that is the arena for politicians, not game designers.

    • August 28, 2015 7:27 pm

      Yeah, this will definitely be a wait an see game. Regarding console, their stance has been “PC First”. Phil Spencer was already tweeting at Cliff today asking for them to meet/discuss. I doubt any exclusivity, but he is likely wanting to ensure Sony doesn’t slip in with another PC/PS4 timed exclusivity.

  13. August 29, 2015 12:01 am

    More OT:

    Anyone who wants a code for the Rainbow Six Beta, you can get them at Penny Arcade. They have a sponsored code generating machine. Cheers!

    http://www.penny-arcade.com/static/rainbow

Comments are closed.

