Skip to content

GoW:UE Regeared For A New Generation

August 17, 2015
by

Microsoft slipped up.  They made a promotional video by editing clips from the beautifully redone cutscenes of Gears of War:Ultimate Edition, putting them to the Gary Jules song and then called it the Mad World Launch Trailer.  It is unfortunate because the original Mad World trailer was a mini-movie and was unprecedented in advertising in the gaming industry.  When I first saw the title of this new trailer, I was thrilled to think that the original had been revamped.  It starts out the same, but then just turns into a montage of various cutscene footage we have already seen.  Very beautiful, but so off the mark of what should be.  It is such a squandered opportunity, that I can’t help thinking The Coalition must still have the redone mini-movie waiting in the wings.  Anyway, the song is good, and the clips are pretty.  So that can be enjoyed.  Just don’t watch it thinking you are going to see that iconic trailer redone for the One.

By my calculations, the Coalition still has three videos left in their remastering series.  Look for them in this thread when they are released.

9 Comments
  1. Blankman permalink*
    August 18, 2015 12:59 am

    Zos and I were just talking about the major letdown in the new “Mad World” trailer while playing a few games of PvZ tonight. How do you NOT just redo what made the initial trailer so successful? Instead, they put a mish mash of random scenes from the game to the music. Fail & missed opportunity to wow people again. Even if it were shot scene for scene with updated graphics, it would have been way better than what they shoveled out there. 😦

    • August 18, 2015 1:26 am

      Exactly! And so many others in other forums feel the same. (In fact, the only ones who don’t are those who never saw the original – or didn’t understand it….lol!)

  2. August 18, 2015 5:16 pm

    As promised. The next video in the series.

  3. August 18, 2015 11:24 pm

    More Gears news. Competitive UE play to be broadcast on Friday. it is going to be one final chance to confirm how the UE is going to play and to what extent the exploits/bugs have been eliminated – before we actually play it ourselves next Tuesday.

    I will be watching as soon as I have access (no work this Saturday, WOOT!).

    http://www.twitch.tv/GearsofWar/

    • August 21, 2015 10:58 am

      MBFAM! Good news on the free weekend! I’ll be out till about midnight tonight. See you on the flipside when get home tonight.

    • August 21, 2015 12:07 pm

      Awesome. Just call if I am not on. Hope you can stomach some more PvZ. Been having a crazy good time trying out new classes with Cornie etc. etc. etc. shutting shtuff down with him as the Fire Flower and me as the Fire Cactus. An incredibly deadly in-Garden combo. He is ending rounds with 17 revives and shtit.

  4. August 20, 2015 5:30 am

    I am telling you, Tuesday cannot come soon enough!

  5. August 21, 2015 2:50 am

    I agree with why they did it. I remember back in the day it was a big topic of how the trailer was awesome yet it wasn’t representative of the game. At least in VGR.

    The trailer as a stand alone is a classic, but as a representation of the game it was very different.

    It was moody, it was dark, it had destroyed beauty all around.

    Yet in the campaign the “Action Movie” pace, one liners, etc. felt like a different experience.

    I think the new trailers eschews the minimalism and destroyed beauty, and centers itself on memorable moments.

    It’s uneven since it will not match the original’s sentiment but in a way it’s better not for the nostalgia, but for like what you guys are mentioning: Newcomers.

    I think is telling, this isn’t our Gears, it’s the re-introduction. It’s for us, but certainly not exclusively. Sometimes at the cost of what we loved about.

    Even if I am not buying it day 1, I can’t wait to see the finished product. Hopefully it is Gears as it should have been.

    • August 21, 2015 12:04 pm

      Good comments, Frenik. As I have mentioned before, my only worry now, is that international lag doesn’t make it impossible for me (and others) to enjoy my presence in the room. There is so much less of the wacky stuff, but shooting in a place where the player no longer is positioned was very alive and well in the few games I played on a west coast server (all other games were Japan servers). Cornie has actually been putting in some pretty big hours playing the original, original. WHEW! Crazy stuff. I tried it again yesterday, but had a PTSD reaction. LOL So, tonight, when I came home and saw him playing, I just watched. Later, he joined me in some PvZ:GW. And we learned some new things, but that is for a different thread.

Comments are closed.

