Skip to content

Halo 5 MP: You Can Literally “Dodge This!”

August 9, 2015
tags:
by

I already mentioned the Gamescom 2015 Halo 5 Invitational in a comment, but having had some time to actually watch it, I can’t not write about it. The full Twitch feed is here, and I highly recommend it because in between matches there is an interview with a gameplay designer from 343. He discusses the addition of “movement” as a major gameplay element.

Cornie is getting excited about the game for that very reason because, whereas he doesn’t have the ability to aim (his words not mine) like some of the pros, he is very good at using movement in games like Titanfall and Destiny to gain advantage over the enemy. In just the limited time in the Beta last January, Johann and Cornie were apparently already getting the hang of “boost strafing”. I wasn’t able to see it from their perspective and I didn’t really know what they were talking about. I certainly wasn’t doing it myself, and I never played against them to see it in action. Watching this Invitational footage, however, gave me insight into what the big deal is. Microsoft is advertising Halo 5 as “Combat Has Evolved”, and no doubt this is the biggest revision to Halo MPvs gameplay since the first game in the series.

Like an old man at a baseball game, I can no longer get out there and play, but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy watching the game being played well. Embedded above and below are some individual games from one of the semi-final matches. Give it a watch if you have any time at all. If you want to watch more, that YouTube channel has all the matches uploaded, or, you can just watch the unedited Twitch feed linked above. Cheers!


One Comment
  1. August 9, 2015 6:04 pm

    I watched the rest of the tournament and wasn’t disappointed. The games actually get closer and better, though some of the new moves were most easily witnessed in the vids embedded above.

    Also, I came across this Halo 5 music vid today. Still playing on Marty’s old theme, but with a lot of new orchestral to go with it. Very listenable. Cheers!

Comments are closed.

