Skip to content

Tokens for ALL GEARS Games For Those Who Play GoW:UE Before Dec 31st!

August 3, 2015
by

OH SNAP!!!!

We are honored to confirm not only will the entire series of Gears of War games for Xbox 360 come to the Backward Compatibility program when it becomes generally available, but that we’ll also be giving tokens for the collection to everyone who plays Gears of War: Ultimate Edition on Xbox Live between August 25 and Dec 31st 2015. More information about the backward compatibility program generally can be located at http://www.xbox.com/xbox-one/backward-compatibility.

For a limited time, purchase and play Gears of War: Ultimate Edition and get the entire Xbox 360 Gears of War collection for use on Xbox One!*

*Includes Xbox 360 titles Gears of War, Gears of War 2, Gears of War 3 and Gears of War: Judgment. Each title will work as part of the Xbox One Backward Compatibility program upon Backwards Compatibility general availability – expected fall 2015. To qualify purchase and play Gears of War: Ultimate Edition on Xbox Live between August 25, 2015 and December 31 2015. Must be 17+. Xbox One, broadband internet (ISP fees apply) and Xbox Live membership required. Dates, content, and features subject to change. Not available in all markets. Xbox One Backward Compatibility feature works with select Xbox 360 games, see http://www.xbox.com/xbox-one/backward-compatibility. Xbox 360 accessories and Kinect, and games requiring those accessories, are not compatible with Xbox One consoles. Xbox Live and broadband internet required for initial download of game to console.

Also, another video from the Remaster series!  I give you The COG.

Note: It should be viewable as soon as they change the settings from private to public. (Someone revealed too quickly, me thinks).

I don’t think there is any way that The Coalition could have pleased me greater regarding this franchise.  All I ever wanted was Gears 1.5, and we get that, and all the rest, too!  SOOOO HOT!

In hindsight, maybe I should have named this post, “Rod is my favorite ginger”, but then again, maybe that would have been going too far.  Herandar, your 40 bucks for UE just got a lot less debatable.  Enjoy!

7 Comments
  1. August 3, 2015 10:39 am

    Also, there are rumors that Digital Deluxe (and maybe all digital pre-orders) will get 1 week early access to the game. One can only hope.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/GearsOfWar/comments/3fm53g/gamecouk_offering_gears_deluxe_ue_one_week_early/

    One other thing, my digital download in the dashboard is now showing 0 GB, where it used to be showing 44.6GB. I think they auto-flushed the one we already downloaded to update it. I don’t know. It was a little disheartening, but maybe a little hopeful at the same time.

    • Blankman permalink*
      August 3, 2015 4:04 pm

      I doubt any version of the game, digital or physical, will break the street date. I can’t think of any game that’s done that “officially.” I wouldn’t doubt that the rumor is spreading on reddit. Can’t believe everything that you read on the Internet. If it is indeed true, it’s only in the UK apparently. If I were MS/The Coalition, I wouldn’t want people to get an unfair jump on honing their skills. It’ll make wrecking noobs easier, and that’s not how you win hearts and minds. A week’s worth of game time is a lot in gaming. Adapting to the speed & game mechanics of the UE takes a bit of relearning, as in regards to muscle memory.

      BTW: Sorry if I missed you last night on XBL, Suns. I was completely zonked after returning from New York. I went to sleep at 9:30 PM PST because of the three-hour time difference of NYC & the lack of sleep the night prior to returning. I XBL messaged with Zos, but he never got back on after his nap. He’s been feeling under the weather for the entire weekend. 😦

    • August 3, 2015 4:39 pm

      Agreed about the rumor and the undesirability. I might have dismissed it outright, if my pre-order copy hadn’t been erased off my drive. Still don’t know what that is about.

      Understood about being tired after the trip. I was so tired after work yesterday, I ended up sleeping for 3 hours after I messaged you. Good to have you back. Look forward to hearing all about New York.

  2. August 3, 2015 4:52 pm

    The video is finally public. Chris Perna is my other favorite OG dev for this game, and in the gaming industry. It is one thing to have an idea, it is a whole other thing to be able to bring that idea to life, and that is what he did with the world of Sera. Hands down, my overall favorite art direction for any game.

    Also, it looks pretty obvious that they used Chris’ face for the model of Marcus. I had never caught the similarities before.

    They sure “butch”-ified Anya! Wow, they took away all her pretty.

  3. August 3, 2015 11:21 pm

    Remastered Fuel Depot. Wow, is it pretty (even though the video is very dark).

    And Process

    Tyro Station

    Raven Down

    • RoBBins permalink*
      August 7, 2015 1:09 am

      Process looks amazing! “Lookit all dat juice!”

  4. zender55 permalink
    August 8, 2015 12:09 am

    Nice!

Comments are closed.

