Skip to content

Remastering Gears of War – Gameplay

July 29, 2015

9 Comments
  1. July 30, 2015 6:05 am

    Before you read this comment, please start the youtube video so the music is playing in the background.

    So, watching all these Gears videos got me wantin’ to play. I threw in the Gears One disc and jumped into a full room of Raven Down.

    The good news is that I was top of my team. At the end of a long, first-to-10-wins match, I was top of the board for COGs. Go double D ‘Suns!

    The bad news is that Gears of War (original) is absolutely unplayable after being spoiled by the UE Beta. Like, I mean, I don’t ever want to try that original MP again. What a difference the framerate and servers make, not to mention the update in graphics. Seriously, the very first round it was entirely obvious who was host: Mr. Super Mario with the four kills. Every other Locust on his team had all donuts. Second, I suppose it is possible that Super Mario lives on the East Coast, but man, I didn’t remember the drop in framerates, the catches on anything and everything, and utter freezes while the enemy runs up and kills you.

    Believe me, The Coalition has improved so much more than just what they are officially announcing. So great was our/my love for the original, I had no idea how bad the game really was. I am still quivering as I write this. I think I might have to go for a cry in the shower.

    • August 1, 2015 11:16 am

      Yeah, GOW (original) is full of buggy movement and a long list of other issues. But it is also nearing 10 years old (which is crazy). I still can’t believe that we are getting such a great “remaster” all these years later. I was just hoping for a “re-release” before backwards compatibility was announced.

      PS: Windows 10 is really great. Using it as my primary OS now, and no regrets. The Xbox features are very cool, and it makes me excited for XBOX overhaul.

  2. July 31, 2015 5:56 pm

    I have a question, what were the house rules we played by?

    No active sniper downs. If downed by mistake, let the player get back up.
    No melees, the saw was forgiven if used very sparingly.

    What else did we have? I know that on occasion, we would allow the enemy to shoot us if the game very clearly made a mistake (e.g., a dud torque bow arrow) but that was an honor gesture, not a house rule.

    There were also the rules for the player who was host, but that will be completely irrelevant for the UE.

    • Blankman permalink*
      July 31, 2015 6:51 pm

      There are no rules anymore in UE. THIS. IS. SPARTA!!!

    • July 31, 2015 10:04 pm

      I’m likin’ that attitude!

  3. August 2, 2015 8:50 pm

    I preordered it. Microsoft owed me $50 for Bing searches. I think I’m part of the problem…

  4. August 2, 2015 9:29 pm

    Dang! That Bing really pays off!

    Great news, Herandar! Very much looking forward to gaming with you in the Gears universe.

    • August 3, 2015 8:00 am

      It really does. Microsoft has given me about $350 over the past three years, though they slashed how much I could earn this year down to about $0.26 a day. I used to average about $0.41.

    • August 3, 2015 10:45 am

      Crazy cash!

Comments are closed.

