Skip to content

You will be missed, Christopher Lee

June 11, 2015

imageThe news this morning of the passing of Sir Christopher Lee made me sit up in bed & shout out to my wife that an acting legend had passed away. Apparently, his passing was on Saturday, but his wife asked for the media not to release the news until all of his immediate family was notified.

My first introduction to Christopher Lee was the Hammer horror film, Dracula. Lee was essentially type cast and didn’t see much work until Tim Burton cast him in Sleepy Hollow. Burton worked with Lee on many of his other films such as the re-make of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Alice in Wonderland. From there, he saw a resurgence in his career and was cast as the unforgettable Saruman the White in Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings & The Hobbit trilogies. Lee also went on to star in Lucas’ Star Wars films as Count Dooku/Darth Tyrannus. I’m glad that this generation’s youth was exposed to Lee’s amazing body of work. You will be missed, Christopher Lee. May you find peace now.

5 Comments
  1. June 11, 2015 6:17 pm

    Thanks, Kenny. I read about this news here, first! 😀

    P.S. I won’t “Like” the death of Christopher Lee. 😉

  2. Herandar permalink
    June 12, 2015 8:45 am

    I thought he was good for another ten or twenty years. This death really affected me. And then I told my co-worker, and she had to look up who he was… Listening to his albums all day today.

    • June 12, 2015 11:41 am

      Such an “epic” person, in all regards.

  3. June 12, 2015 1:50 pm

    R.I.P. just glad my kid knows who he is, that’s how awesome he was to still be relevant to this day.

  4. June 12, 2015 6:04 pm

    From Peter Jackson’s Facebook post today

    It is with tremendous sadness that I learnt of the passing of Sir Christopher Lee. He was 93 years old, had not been in his usual good health for some time, but his spirit remained, as always, indomitable.

    Christopher spoke seven languages; he was in every sense, a man of the world; well versed in art, politics, literature, history and science. He was scholar, a singer, an extraordinary raconteur and of course, a marvelous actor. One of my favourite things to do whenever I came to London would be to visit with Christopher and Gitte where he would regale me for hours with stories about his extraordinary life. I loved to listen to them and he loved to tell them – they were made all the more compelling because they were true – stories from his time with the SAS, through the Second World War, to the Hammer Horror years and later, his work with Tim Burton – of which he was enormously proud.

    I was lucky enough to work with Chris on five films all told and it never ceased to be a thrill to see him on set. I remember him saying on my 40th Birthday (he was 80 at the time), “You’re half the man I am”. Being half the man Christopher Lee is, is more than I could ever hope for. He was a true gentleman, in an era that no longer values gentleman.

    I grew up loving Christopher Lee movies. For most of my life I was enthralled by the great iconic roles he not only created – but continued to own decades later. But somewhere along the way Christopher Lee suddenly, and magically, dissolved away and he became my friend, Chris. And I loved Chris even more.

    There will never be another Christopher Lee. He has a unique place in the history of cinema and in the hearts of millions of fans around the world.

    The world will be a lesser place without him in it.

    My deepest sympathies to Gitte and to his family and friends.

    Rest in peace, Chris.

    An icon of cinema has passed into legend.

Comments are closed.

