Skip to content

The Behemoth’s 4th Game – Biablo!

May 27, 2015

That name is my own, inspired by the gameplay shown in the 20 minute gameplay video embedded below.  Very unexpectedly, The Behemoth’s 4th game is a real-time strategy game (Oh no!) that is so entrenched in narrative (YES!) that it reminds me more of Diablo than Command and Conquer.  In fact, the antagonist in their new game is a giant Bear who behaves like the Devil.  So, Biablo.  Watch, but more importantly listen!

UPDATE: It is henceforth to be called “Pit People“, website here.

8 Comments
  1. May 27, 2015 6:43 pm

    OT From Bizzard’s Overwatch, one of the more intriguing characters (though not one that I would be using). Tracer reminds me very much of the loadout that Cornie always plays with in Destiny. If only Destiny had a similar art style and support classes that didn’t require twitch skills.

    I cannot imagine Microsoft not doing all they can to ensure that this game comes to the One (even if not as an exclusive). Furthermore, with the Blizzard’s success with Diablo which is a much more difficult game to port, it surprises me that they haven’t already announced they will port it. The only reason I can think of is that Blizzard wants to keep the PC fanbois happy and resting assured that their platform is the “lead” platform.

  2. May 28, 2015 5:49 pm

    Back on topic, Microsoft has announced that the free games this month are PoolNation (for the third month in a row – obviously, they can’t give that shit away), and…Massive Chalice. Watch that video, then go back to The Behemoth’s 4th game and get a lesson in how not-to, and then how-to make a great RTS game.

    • Herandar permalink
      May 29, 2015 7:47 am

      What do you mean exactly by this?

      “Massive Chalice. Watch that video, then go back to The Behemoth’s 4th game and get a lesson in how not-to, and then how-to make a great RTS game. ”

      First off, they both (I believe) are turn-based strategy (TBS) games, not real time. Secondly, how can you be so dismissive of this game based on a 78 second video? I heard of Massive Chalice a long while ago, and didn’t follow up on it because it was (I thought) PC Only then. Double Fine makes a variety of games, and I don’t remember any of them being bad.

  3. May 29, 2015 1:56 pm

    Callin’ me on my shit, are you, Herandar? 😀

    I am not familiar with the differences between TBS and RTS. The 4th Game is being marketed as RTS (I read it somewhere), and so when I went from that to MC, looking the same, I thought it was also RTS. So, that is where that bit of bullshit may have come from.

    Back in the day, it was Double Fine that made Psychonauts, right? So, they have done great thing [sic], no doubt.

    The video above of MC was the best I could find! Is there anything compelling about any aspect of that game?! To me, everything in that video looks less interesting than the D&D scenarios that my cousin and I created and played in elementary school. I just watched it a second time to make sure I wasn’t being too harsh. The guy’s voice is cool, but the woman’s is just more “Cortana” and they only show about 5 seconds of actual gameplay, the rest is tree house story-telling narration over utterly flat-textured cutscenes. As is, that it does not make me want to download the game for free, let alone try that genre, whatever it is. That is their launch trailer!

    In contrast, I am not sure how many times I have watched both the debut teaser and the 20 minute gameplay video for 4th Game. The cutscenes, music, narration, sound-effects, and the first 20 minutes of unedited gameplay (with “temp art and temp audio”) make me want the game now, not tomorrow, and I have no interest in that genre normally. In fact, when I read that it was RTS, my heart sank, but when I saw and heard the gameplay I was all smiles and laughter. There are some to who it will not appeal, I am sure, in the same way that not every one likes Monty Python or South Park. I happen to like both so I am ready to jump genres to play this thing.

    I will concede that maybe I should have worded it “…in how not-to, and then how-to make a great RTS game promotional video”. Otherwise, I stand by my dismissive claims. I would rather not play games than spend more time on MC than I already have. 😉

    Signed,
    Your once-again Raging Gamer 😉

  4. Herandar permalink
    May 29, 2015 4:31 pm

    TBS is Final Fantasy Tactics, or XCOM, and battleground grids. RTS is Warcraft (not the World of), quick thinking, and a lot of clicking at the elite level.

    Massive Chalice has a 300 year long war where the commanders at the start are succeeded by their children who are succeeded by their children for a generations long conflict. I’ll give you my honest opinion after playing it. No MPvs, so I doubt it would meet your personal criteria.

    • May 29, 2015 6:27 pm

      Great examples (I think you meant Starcraft) demonstrating the difference between two genres. I now understand completely. Thank you. 🙂

      And, I hadn’t thought about it, but in fact, 4th Game does come with a vs mode! Sweet!

      I look forward to hearing/reading your impressions of Massive Chalice.

  5. Herandar permalink
    May 31, 2015 10:01 pm

    I meant Warcraft, as it came first, and I actually played Warcraft II nearly 20 years ago. Also I put literal hundreds of hours in Final Fantasy Tactics and each of the direct sequels.

    • June 1, 2015 2:14 am

      Ah, so that is where your interest/knowledge comes from. So getting into RimWorld was a no-brainer for you. Got it. Thanks for enlightening the thread, Herandar! 🙂

Comments are closed.

