Skip to content

Bungie Solve’s Gears of War Execution Problem

May 14, 2015
by

ArCtiC takes a brief 5 minutes to outline what Black Tusk needs to do to make Execution work as a gametype, not only for custom matches but for competitive play. He gives all credit to Bungie for figuring out how it should be done. I actually wasn’t even aware of the problems for the competitive level, just aware that the mode is low priority in development. Now I think I know why.

This puts the ball directly in Black Tusk’s court. They have no excuses for not implementing that gametype – other than, like Epic, they absolutely REFUSE to listen to their community of fans of the game. Have been involved with developers who DO engage with their communities, I find myself with much less patience for those who don’t. Thanks for the heads-up, Johann!

Also, in other news, Twitch has announced that, henceforth, streamers have the choice to toggle stream delay. Actually, I am not sure what this means because they talk about reducing lag from 4 to 2 seconds, but I don’t know anything about no 4 seconds. Every time I watch Twitch, it is no less than 30 seconds. If anyone can explain this to me, I would be much obliged.

8 Comments
  1. May 14, 2015 7:43 pm

    Apparently, there was a massive Gears Remaster game footage leak, and one of the unveils was the fact that they have moved the discharge of the guns from center screen to the barrel of the gun. Really?!

    I don’t know if there is anything about this “remaster” that retains the original Gears of War feel. It is surprising, to say the least. Fortunately, I absolutely love the art design and the campaigns of all four games were solid enough that Black Tusk will have to work really hard to blow that part of the game for their iteration. Gears 4 is still a pre-order for me, but dang, I have no confidence at all in Black Tusk right now.

    • Blankman permalink*
      May 14, 2015 9:51 pm

      The Gears remake is not a Black Tusk production. They aren’t responsible for the entire Gears franchise like 343 is with Halo.

    • May 14, 2015 10:51 pm

      Kenny, thanks for reminding me. I keep forgetting that fact, and I want someone to blame!

      The coding doubts are one thing, game design mistakes, however, are unacceptable. I’ll bet Splash Damage never even played the original Gears.

    • May 14, 2015 10:52 pm

      I am not sure these suggestions are really that impactful in terms of our private matches, but it is definitely a benefit for public matches.

      Regarding the GOW1 remaster, it is still too early to make any judgement call on gameplay changes. Looks gorgeous and exciting! Hopefully we find out more info soon.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      May 14, 2015 11:50 pm

      The only things that really bother me in terms of keeping the Gears 1 “feel” are the bullets being shot from the barrel of the gun and not the center of the screen, the audio for the Gnasher apparently has been changed from what I heard, and according to the controller layout screenshot, there’s going to be spotting in the remake like Gears 3.

    • May 15, 2015 12:20 am

      Zos, you are right, but the reason it is important to get the competitive thing going is because, at this point, they haven’t announced an Execution mode. So, we wouldn’t even be able to play it in private.

      As for the spotting, I am not a fan of that for Gears 1. It takes away a ton of the Oh Shit! moments. Great for BF, not so cool for Gears, in my opinion.

      Anyway, glad that people are interested enough to be reading up on it and talkin’ positive. I will try to keep my fears under control. 😉

  2. May 24, 2015 6:45 pm

    A well presented comparison of the graphic fidelity of the two versions of Gears 1.

  3. May 26, 2015 5:08 am

    Trials of Osiris in Destiny is better than Execution in Gears except it doesn’t change sides. It is masterfully well done. It is only unlocked on the weekends so it doesn’t get stale. you only need 9 wins to unlock all the stuff. 3 loses and your wins reset, so it forces you to stay competitive.

    Win #5 and win #9 are some of the most exciting moments in all multiplayer matchmaking history. I think I can finally stop comparing everything to the shotgun battles on execution in Gears, it’s done. Destiny has shotgun battles, and more weapons/armor combinations/Character subclasses…etc.

    Bottom line is it takes something simple like round based LMS, throws in lots of different elements to it, but doesn’t overly complicates it, it just rewards putting time into it.

    Prison of Elders on the other hand is a competent Horde mode. I still think Mass Effect 3 is the best horde mode and this certainly reminds me a bit of that. But it’s just a basic horde mode with rotating enemies and game modifiers. The difficulty and sense of accomplishment is there but the fun on the horde mechanics is lost. However the loot system is great.

    I think this is the best time to pick up Destiny. My son went from level 26 to 33 after the dlc hit, just by playing PoE and buying new armor.

    All the new stuff is easier to upgrade so the never ending grind of upgrading weapons is almost done for me.

    Plus the raids become easier and less tedious. I just wish every game that came out followed Bungie. Release a good foundation and just build on it over time, forget sequels just keep that foundation strong with expansions.

Comments are closed.

