Skip to content

Houshi – A 47 Generation Family Run Hotel

May 12, 2015
by

This is a documentary about a family run hot springs resort hotel located just a few miles south of where I live. I may have even stayed there in my earlier years here but I can’t remember because in those days, none of the names were familiar and I stayed at a lot of the local resorts.

Anyway, I think the story is pretty typical of the family business struggles in all of Japan. It is not easy to watch in parts because the choices and behaviors are hard to believe/stomach. However, it is representative of Japan on so many levels – with the “peace” that you see at the hotel being bought for a huge price of personal sacrifice on the part of each family member. Even the father, truly Lord of his house, will have had to lay down any personal goals at one point, to take the helm. Certainly, with 47 generations running the business, there had to be some fathers who didn’t want to be a part of it.

6 Comments
  1. Blankman permalink*
    May 12, 2015 9:54 pm

    This reminds me a lot of the excellent documentary of Jiro: Dreams of Sushi. It’s on Netflix and I watched it about two months ago. The Japanese culture is one of the most fascinating for me. I will visit Japan one day.

    • May 12, 2015 11:10 pm

      If you do, you will stay at my house and break bread with the Guenters.

    • Blankman permalink*
      May 12, 2015 11:24 pm

      Deal! 😀

    • May 13, 2015 3:06 pm

      He will stay, but instead of bread, wind will be broken.

    • May 13, 2015 6:52 pm

      Ah, and then you shall witness the firepower of this fully armed and operational battle station.

    • Blankman permalink*
      May 13, 2015 7:51 pm

      I will make sure to pack my gas mask with fresh filters! LOL

Comments are closed.

