Skip to content

Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege Official – Inside Rainbow #1 – British Counter Terrorist Unit [US]

April 23, 2015
by

Ubisoft will almost certainly be releasing The Division in 2016 or later, not in 2015. So this autumn it is all about RS:S.

I have some major concerns about the title, or at least, our having fun playing it. I am going to continue posting updates on the game but don’t mistake that for “hype”. I am simply interested in following the progress of development, not promoting this among our community. My intention is to hold off buying it until everyone else has, and has continued playing it for several weeks, and still wants to play it. I am not naturally talented in this genre, and unless the crew loves it and needs a 5th wheel desperately, this one won’t last long for me. (How’s that for “hype”? More like anti-hype. LOL) I love the “idea” of the game, but I’m concerned about the fun this slow-to-respond, fumble-with-controls counter-terrorist might have.

3 Comments
  1. Herandar permalink
    April 24, 2015 8:50 am

    The few videos I’ve seen of regular commentators playing the Alpha all agree that the game is compromised by the inclusion of “popular shooter” mechanics, like hit markers. It’s easy to find the guy in the other room by strafing the wall in front of you.

    If Ubisoft tries to mainstream this niche shooter, I don’t see it lasting long. Remember Ghost Recon Future Soldier?? Go ahead and look it up, I can wait… No one on my friends list was playing it two weeks after launch.

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 26, 2015 5:14 pm

      Agreed. If Ubisoft wants to return Rainbow Six to its roots, it cannot include many elements found in modern FPS games. Otherwise, it negates that simulation aspect of the game. By appealing to the masses, you wind up ruining the longevity of the game for “flash in the pan” sales. Here I was thinking that R6 was going back to what made them awesome in the past. 😦

      In regards to The Division being delayed until 2016, I called that when Ubisoft was pushing for R6: Siege for holiday ’15. They won’t allow either game to cannabalize each other because it’s a stupid financial strategy. The Division is more of a long-term play & thus, R6:S is sent out to satiate the mil-sim gamers. Darn it, Massive/Ubisoft blew their wad on The Division hype way too early. This will be the third E3 since it was announced. The Division is the new Alan Wake.

    • April 26, 2015 8:38 pm

      LOL It hasn’t hit Alan Wake proportions yet, but fear isn’t unreasonable, and caution for hoping is absolutely necessary. (And, you did call it! 🙂 )

      Again with The Division, I think that we don’t care so much about how long it will take, just that it comes out right, and not like we got the ugly, stunted version for the consoles.

Comments are closed.

