Skip to content

Gigantic: Community Work

April 16, 2015

Herandar was first to point at the beautiful art design of this game. Yesterday, while aimlessly checking my reddit stops I came across the above interview that further reinforced this view. EDIT: I have swapped out the video for the PAX Prime 2014 which I hadn’t watched previously but from which all the footage was taken. Forget what the guy is saying, just play the video in the background with the volume off. The narration is now Motiga themselves and they describe the game – useful info.  LOL

Next, check out the fan created Hero Builder that allows gamers to experiment with the talent/skill trees for each playable “hero” in the game. It is quite impressive and demonstrates the community’s love for this game (and the developer’s support or at least non-interference). I may be remembering things wrong, but it seems to me that anything like that in the Gears days and Epic would have been all over our asses with the cease and desists. Anyway, if any of you are curious about the game or characters, take a peek at the Hero Builder. It provides a detailed outline of all the skills/talents/weapons etc. for the characters of the game.

10 Comments
  1. Herandar permalink
    April 16, 2015 8:36 am

    I refuse to be ensnared by hype, but I am interested in Gigantic. I know I dismissed it before because it is a MOBA, but having a Third-Person Shooter interface makes all the difference for me.

    • April 16, 2015 4:31 pm

      Herandar, I agree with you 100% about hype. Since Brink I have been more cautious. Since Evolve, I am now allergic. With its Alpha AND Beta, I thought for sure the experience would be solid upon release, but it wasn’t. That inspired the articles on selling unfinished games as the new model, so that gamer expectations are reasonable, and hype never has a chance to take root. Can’t hype something that people can try for themselves.

      Having said that, I am still interested in games, especially ones that offer new experiences and/or have creative art direction, even more so when they fall into the teamwork-low skill requirement category.That is why I am following and posting about this one. Not hyping, just cautiously curious. And art work can be praised without too much fear of it falling flat on launch. What you see in the case of Gigantic, is almost certainly what you will get. (Not so with The Division, which we will not know for sure until the game releases – Ubisoft cannot be trusted.) Also, the main point of the post was to highlight the community character builder. Very cool work.

      (Not being defensive here – I didn’t feel attacked – I am just clarifying and agreeing with you.) 🙂

  2. Blankman permalink*
    April 16, 2015 8:15 pm

    I don’t really know how I feel about Gigantic right now except that I dig the art style.

  3. April 16, 2015 9:12 pm

    As with PC-only Overwatch, and PvZ:GW, it lacks “story”. Yet unlike PvZ:GW it doesn’t have universal awareness or a huge following, nor does it have the built in “charm/humor”. That will prove to be a barrier.

    Developing some short movies with/about the characters to help promote the game and build a back story would not harm their cause. (Thanks for lookin’ at it, Kenny.)

  4. April 17, 2015 12:26 am

    Gigantic looks really good (nice vid). Most MOBAs take a lot of time and dedication to be competitive… don’t know if I will have the time to commit for a while.

    Off Topic:

    The new Star Wars trailer is epic. Even if the movie ends up being a stinker, the trailer is well done.

    Battlefront trailer coming this friday I think. Press seem to be indicating it is one of the first new games to visually stand out among the rest (runs of frostbite I believe).

    • April 17, 2015 12:28 am

      Snippet (low quality) of reveal gameplay: https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=AwAIjnVnwUE

    • April 17, 2015 2:16 am

      Thanks for the trailer, Zos. Looks good. Hard not to get excited about revisiting the universe where you can throw luggage with your mind.

      Having said that, my biggest/only fear for the upcoming movies is that the first is being helmed by J.J. Abrams. His “red herring”, pull plots threads from his ass, manner is horrific. He is this movie and this franchises greatest liability. That ridiculous light saber was just the tip of the iceberg of his “capabilities”.

      As for the footage/screenshot of the DICE Frostbite engine Battlefront game, if that is real, then it is going to make an entire generation of Star Wars fans go crazy. It looks photo realistic. I am going to say it now, unless I actually play a free Beta that is as solid as BF:BC2’s “beta”, I will not be buying it launch day. EA has taught me caveat emptor. On the other hand, if ever it becomes fun to play, I am sure I will gladly hand over my money. The footage/image are mindblowingly pretty.

      Let’s somebody post that in a new post on the site as soon as it goes live tomorrow. Star Wars, much as it has been maligned since the second trilogy was released, is in so many ways a significant part of our culture. Over 13 million views for that trailer in only a few hours. Crazy!

    • April 17, 2015 3:38 pm

      Looks incredible. I wonder how it will fair on consoles? Even close to that, and it could survive the broke-ass/graphics ratio.

Trackbacks

  1. Star Wars Battlefront Official Trailer | The Stranded

Comments are closed.

