Skip to content

For Gears Lovers: Netflix’s Daredevil

April 12, 2015

I would say it isn’t for the faint of heart, but I don’t think there are any faint of heart here. It is very visceral. Bowling has been forever changed for me. I have only watched the first two episodes but my worries of too much revenge pron are, at least temporarily, allayed.

And this request is legit. Netflix really needs to consider the publicity and good will they could buy with making that happen.

Hit the jump to see the Honest Trailers of (and hate on) Ben Affleck’s 2003 movie.

14 Comments
  1. Blankman permalink*
    April 13, 2015 3:03 am

    I watched the entire first season of Daredevil this Saturday & Sunday. I can’t stop raving about how good this series is. Like I already told Suns, the story follows very closely & faithfully to Frank Miller’s version of Daredevil before he brought the same formula to The Dark Knight, and we know how successful Nolan’s DK flicks were. Daredevil has always been more akin to Batman than he is to Spider-Man. While Spidey is for general public consumption, DD is the direct opposite.

    The acting is solid as well as its storytelling. The action is very raw & visceral which is what the comic version of Daredevil is all about. I’m especially pleased that they didn’t go for the cartoon violence, instead favoring the more realistic fisticuffs with martial arts/MMA/street fighting. The violence is similar to what was in Old Boy (both the original & remake). Near the final episodes of the first season, I caught myself sitting upright at the edge of my seat soaking in the action, drama, & machinations of the Hell’s Kitchen underground.

    The British actor, Charlie Cox, playing Matt Murdock/Daredevil was what worried me about the show when it was initially announced. Worry no more because he brought it in spades. His nemesis, Kingpin, played by Vincent D’Onofrio (Full Metal Jacket, Law & Order) is outstanding, and Scott Glenn (won’t spoil his character) practically steals the three episodes that he’s in. In fact, the entire ensemble cast all have serious acting chops as opposed to the garbage Affleck-Daredevil big screen offering. This series needs to be watched & truly solidifies Netflix as a major player in bringing quality shows on their service (House of Cards, Orange is the New Black, Marco Polo, Peaky Blinders, & Daredevil). If you’re a Netflix subscriber and don’t intend to watch this show, you have no idea what awesomeness you’re missing. Seriously. Netflix pulled no punches with this series. They went for R-rated & knocked it out of the park. I cannot wait for the next season. Wow, just wow!

  2. April 13, 2015 11:32 am

    Can’t wait to binge, I’ll prob make it through this week while working on projects.

    Related:

    http://www.ign.com/articles/2015/04/13/netflix-boss-believes-global-service-will-cut-down-on-piracy

    • April 13, 2015 4:54 pm

      “The key thing about piracy is that some fraction of it is because [users] couldn’t get the content. ”

      Ya think?!! With their IP filtering and DVD region coding, they cost themselves tens of billions in potential revenue over the past 20 years. I very much look forward to getting Netflix with the same offerings as those in North America are currently enjoying.

      As for Daredevil, for those who don’t know, it is this guy from Full Metal Jacket who plays Kingpin. And Charlie Cox as Matt Murdock is indeed, outstanding. I don’t know if it is him doing the kung fu, but the fighting is incredible. More later when I have the time to write. Only up to episode 4 still.

      Thanks for the spoiler free review, Kenny! Still only up to episode 4.

  3. April 13, 2015 6:37 pm

    Episode Four SPOILER:

    I wrote a comic in my head this morning.

    Frame one:
    Kingpin as a young lad about to slaughter a pig, not having much luck as the dull blade slides ineffectually across the neck of the swine.

    “Mom, this knife is really dull!”

    Frame two:

    Light bulb appears above his head, happy surprise on his face.

    Frame three:
    Smiling and grunting as he wacks the car door repeated against the pig’s almost severed neck. Shouts out,

    “Never mind!”

  4. April 13, 2015 8:37 pm

    Spoilers for episode 1 and 2.

    http://observer.com/2015/04/daredevil-stunt-coordinator-on-designing-a-one-shot-fight-scene-for-a-blind-hero/

    By the way, in True Detective there is a one-shot scene that is considerably more impressive than even this one. Far, far more involved. Goes without saying that to watch it would be to spoil yourself for the show.

  5. April 24, 2015 10:43 pm

    Just finished this on yesterday. So much better than I anticipated. Every character is so well done. Cant wait for Season 2!

    • April 25, 2015 12:32 am

      Hey, RoBBins! Glad to hear you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

    • April 25, 2015 12:50 am

      Hey Suns! Hopefully everyone is enjoying it as much as I did as well! I dont think anyone has posted the news yet, but I posted to Blank and Zos on twitter that Gears 1 is being remastered for Xbox One. The developers of Brink are teaming up with Black Tusk Studios for it, and I couldnt help but crack a couple of jokes seeing as how bad Brink turned out to be, but I think some of you guys know that already πŸ˜‰

      Hope to catch up with you guys in a lobby or two when the remaster drops! Been super busy the last year and a half with IRL stuff. Miss you guys!

    • April 25, 2015 1:29 am

      Yeah, I heard about it and did some laughing on my own as well! Of all the teams to do the remaster, the netcode idiots! Unbelievable.

      Hey, take care and stay in touch! Jump into the party anytime! Great to hear from you!

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 26, 2015 5:18 pm

      Nice to see you on here, RoBBins! I just finished watching Daredevil for the second time with my wife. Speaking of wives, how’s married life treating you? πŸ™‚

    • RoBBins permalink*
      April 26, 2015 8:43 pm

      Married life is good! No talks of babies just yet, but everything else is moving alone smoothly! I keep telling myself to check in on the site as much as possible, but I’ve been so busy that’s it’s been tough for me. Hopefully I’ll be able to visit more often now though πŸ˜€

    • April 26, 2015 9:52 pm

      Great to hear about things are going well with marriage, and lookin’ forward to seeing you around more in the future. πŸ™‚

  6. RoBBins permalink*
    April 27, 2015 10:29 pm

    I’ll try my best to stay in touch on here! Also, I’ll stop posting from my iPhone… I just noticed the stupid auto corrects in almost every post πŸ˜›

  7. June 9, 2015 6:43 pm

    So for season 2, we get the Punisher who is gonna make the Daredevil seem saintly, I suppose. Lookin’ good!

    http://www.comingsoon.net/tv/news/448701-jon-bernthal-to-play-the-punisher-in-marvels-daredevil

Comments are closed.

