Skip to content

Evolve: Strats – and Interview with “MaddCow”

April 1, 2015
by

Here is a good read on some strats for playing Evolve more effectively:

I noticed you avoided selecting the Kraken’s aftershock ability. Can you outline your approach to choosing and upgrading the monster’s skills?
I dislike using aftershock at the moment because it doesn’t help clear out Markov’s mines or Maggie’s harpoon turrets. This can get you into some hot water against a lot of the current team setups at the tournament, as they ran both Maggie and Markov. As for my build, I always think about what skills are best for farming food and preventing damage should I get domed at Stage one. Kraken’s Vortex and Banshee mines fulfill this purpose very well. Both are good at farming food and slowing down/pushing the Hunters around should I engage in a Stage one dome. After that, I max out Lightning Strike at stage two to be my primary source of damage.

And in other news, the tier 4 Hunters play quite differently from the previous 12 in that they don’t need to be played so close to each other and they allow for more activity/participation from each hunter in taking down the monster. It felt very fresh, and was a lot of fun because there was much less “waiting” until your specific ability is required. (I played Sunny, Torvald, and Crow, and I feel comfortable with all of three. Blank played a lot of Slim, the Medic.)

4 Comments
  1. April 1, 2015 9:27 pm

    Maxed Torvald and was working on Crow when I just got burnt on the game. I like the new characters but grinding the masteries for completion is not what I want to do right now.

    I think i’m just going to wait until I am done with other games. I have the sandbox fever right now and GTA is actually more fun now that I am done with the heists. Just unscripted madness and wasting cash away.

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 1, 2015 9:39 pm

      Wait, you already three-tiered all of his masteries? Dayum!!! I’m still having a fun time with the new content, but I wish that we could get an entire room filled. 😦

      MaddCow is a regular TRS forum member, and I’ve exchanged post convos with him on several occasions. His Kraken-play is ridiculous, but he’s strictly a PC-gamer. Too bad. Haha!

    • April 1, 2015 10:07 pm

      I’m up for playing, just not grinding masteries. Yeah I maxed it this morning. Big map for the mortars, small map for the shotgun/mine.

    • April 2, 2015 11:15 am

      Hey! We’ll be on tonight, and all weekend. Been a tough week at work, and then home to plow through homework with kids before they are off all next week on spring break.

Comments are closed.

