Skip to content

MOBAs Coming To The One

March 12, 2015

I had to look up the meaning of MOBA the other day. Smite, Gigantic, and Battleborn (Gearbox) are all coming to the Xbox One and the first two will be “free-to-play”. If you want to get an early taste, you can sign up for the Smite Beta right now. All they want is an e-mail address. I don’t think that Smite will be the game that holds my attention because of its similarities to fantasy RPG games like Diablo. However, Gigantic almost certainly will. Since both Smite and Gigantic are going to be free-to-try, I will be downloading and testing them out as soon as they are available. I have gone ahead and made a page for these for quick reference. In the meantime, check out the gameplay vids embedded above and below.

EDIT: I just need to add that regardless of your interest in these games, bringing this genre to the consoles, especially to our console of choice, is a boon, and hopefully a sign of (more good) things to come.

More vids after the jump.

10 Comments
  1. March 12, 2015 7:28 pm

    I have heard great things about Smite, excited to check it out. I have played a bit of DOTA2 on PC, and enjoyed it quite a lot. But it is very hardcore. Same with League of Legends.

    But what Diablo 3 taught me, is that that type of control scheme can be VERY good on gamepad.

    • Blankman permalink*
      March 13, 2015 12:04 am

      People at PAX East got their hands on Smite for the XB1 & had many good things to say about it. Many gaming sites have already confirmed that the game works well with controllers.

    • March 13, 2015 12:41 am

      From one of those videos, I learned that you can set it to auto-buy etc., so you can just spend all your time playing, not managing. I am sure that there are times when a person would want to make a better choice, but for those times when that isn’t necessary, WOOT!

      Gigantic is also getting great reviews and watching the video with the fox, at first looked wacky (in a PvZ:GW Peashooter kind of way), but hearing the dev describe the game as he played, it sounded good!

    • Herandar permalink
      May 21, 2015 12:18 pm

      Anyone want a Smite Xbox One Beta code?? They sent me two.

    • May 21, 2015 3:29 pm

      I got two as well. (That can’t give that shit away!) In fairness, their tutorial was poorly conceived. The game actually looks very cool, just how in the world do you get into it?!

    • Herandar permalink
      May 22, 2015 9:06 am

      Well, I’m terrible at the game. Only played with AI so far, and though I/we technically won both games, it was a long attrition-filled slog against non-aggressive quasi-competent AI. In the second game, a 3v3, I ended up with a K/D of 2-27.

      The problems are that I don’t quite understand where I’m supposed to be when I engage, exactly, The AI never strayed from the main path, and I could not kill the buff camps on my own. Oh, and the game doesn’t pause, so you can’t truly take the time to learn what your abilities do or how the items work, unless you study outside of the game. These are not flaws of the game, I’m just not sure I want to sink the time into the title yet.

      And I don’t want to play with randoms until I have a basic level of proficiency. It’s really quite unforgiving and twitchy. There is no auto-aim. We should have some practice sessions together this weekend, Suns.

    • May 22, 2015 8:53 pm

      Herandar, sincerely, thank you for the invite, but I don’t think I will be able to push past the tutorial. One thing I will definitely try with you, however, is Gigantic when it becomes available. The learning curve on that will be on par with Evolve as regards character abilities and customization – but will play more like a team shooter than a MOBA.

  2. Blankman permalink*
    March 13, 2015 2:08 am

    OT: Frickin’ warms your heart when you read about stuff like this: http://www.superherohype.com/news/333363-robert-downey-jr-delivers-iron-man-inspired-bionic-arm-to-young-boy

    • March 13, 2015 2:40 am

      Yes, he way he treats that kid! And of course, the 3D printed limb! Great stuff!

    • FrenkoFrenik permalink
      March 13, 2015 5:43 pm

Comments are closed.

