Skip to content

PSA: Evolve Servers are Resetting Players’ Levels

February 12, 2015

danger-will-robinson3Update: The much anticipated patch that prevents progression loss & fixes the shadow/lighting bug has gone live on XBL as of 7:45 P.M. PST.

It’s been confirmed by TRS that there is a bug/glitch with the 2K servers which are inadvertently resetting players’ levels & progression. MacMan (TRS’ Chris Ashton) gave an ETA of several weeks for the next consoles update/patch due to certification by the MS & Sony. Meanwhile, PC gamers will be getting their fix in a few days because they don’t have to go through that restrictive process.

Suns has already been reset once, but luckily he only lost one level of progression. Also, there’s a bug concerning the shadow & lighting system that will also be addressed along with the confirmation that the new mastery requirements (TRS lowered them because it took way too long to advance to the next level) did NOT get included with the Day One 3gb update. Sheesh, what happened to all of the polishing and bug fixing that was supposedly taking place since January after the game went gold?!?

Play Evolve at your own risk until the upcoming patch is released. There are many irate players posting that their levels have been reset on the official forums. Much of this is happening when you accept an invite into another game while your progression is still being calculated at the conclusion of the game that you’ve just played. So, in order to minimize the chance that you’ll be reset; wait until everything is finished calculated before quitting or accepting invites. The current server mess is on 2K’s side because they are hosting the dedicated servers. This specific issue isn’t necessarily TRS’ fault.  However, it’s terrible news nonetheless. Consider yourself warned.

15 Comments
  1. February 12, 2015 10:03 pm

    Knowledge is power. Thanks, Blank.

    Yes, 2K’s stats stuff is a mess. As I wrote in a message to you at TRS, 2GN, Frenik and I kicked public ass last night. And then when we checked our stats, the boys had ten wins with a 2.0 WLR etc. etc. I had one Win and 0.25 WLR! WTF?!

    All of the matches, however, were viewable on the App, so go figure.

    Anyway, trust me to see the glass half full, but as far as I am concerned, this gives me a chance to practice the shit out of all the classes without any consequences. Then, when the stats are reset, I can hit the ground running.

    As for our work in the Mobile App, that may be reinstated, and if it isn’t, it is a risk we were fully aware of before the game launched.

    I love this game. In hindsight, I should have had Cornie reach over and press the buttons to record the game because we played one round that had some moments that were right out of the “intelligent” monster movies. Absolutely EPIC!

  2. Herandar permalink
    February 13, 2015 7:18 am

    Eh, it’s just levels. Not that big of a deal, and not necessarily something that would be caught in a short beta. If your level got reset during a beta, would you think it was a bug?

  3. Blankman permalink*
    February 13, 2015 2:42 pm

    DamJess, TRS community manager, officially posted & pinned this statement on the forums this morning, “My progress was erased (Xbox One}!
    We are currently working on a fix for players losing their progression, if you’re impacted by this issue please come to 2K Support. ( http://support.2k.com3)
    This can be caused by changing Xbox One systems or can occur randomly (we’re working hard to figure out actions cause this).
    Please go here for more information: http://support.2k.com/hc/en-us/articles/204653767-Playing-Evolve-On-Multiple-Consoles-With-The-Same-Account
    My leaderboard rank was reset (Xbox One)!
    We are currently working on a fix for players losing their rank, if you’re impacted by this issue please come to 2K Support. ( http://support.2k.com3)”

    • February 13, 2015 4:22 pm

      I’m going to contact and say I was a lvl 25

  4. Blankman permalink*
    February 14, 2015 10:39 pm

    Many gamers who have been reset due to the server glitch have received word from 2K support that they can unlock characters that were lost, but they cannot restore levels, mastery perks, or ranking. What a mess…

  5. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    February 15, 2015 4:34 am

    I’m not worried so much about the ‘reset’ but the added mess that Preferences are in matchmaking, just makes it hard to play the game normally without cheesing defend over and over.

    Love playing with a team but options are very limited if you want to play other characters, etc.

    Without other characters the game gets tiring pretty quick, and now almost every match has a Wraith.

    As for the “Levels” they are extremely important. They give out global bonuses when you rank up. That’s pretty much the only way the game will have depth in the long run because you can then mix and match classes better and change strategies.

    But the road to get to 40 and to 3 star every character is very tedious so far, more so than I ever expected.

  6. February 15, 2015 9:13 pm

    Having played basically every moment that I could this weekend, I can honestly say that I don’t find anything tedious about the game. That may be because learning a game always takes me so much longer than another person (so the challenge stretches out more), I don’t know. I just know that the more I play the better I like it.

    On Friday night, I played with Herandar, Kenai, Flenser, and one other of their friends. And while there was an element of no-country-for-old-men there, it was incredibly fun, laid back, and yet razor sharp close. Herandar has a film of Flenser’s kill a split second before Kenai as the wraith was able to take out the generator. The rest of us hunters were all dead.

    Before that, I played two long evenings (Wed/Thurs) with J, C, and Frenik, both full evenings were awesome.

    And then last night, I got in with ZORB and later with J, C, and B, and I enjoyed every minute of it.

    Tryin’ to figure out how I can hustle some gaming time when I get home tonight.

    • FrenkoFrenik permalink
      February 16, 2015 6:11 am

      well that’s the thing. Want to learn and take characters in new directions other than what has already been established with the easier characters but the game bottlenecks that progress.

      I uninstalled the game, done with it until there’s a patch.

      Here’s the scenario that got me there:

      After losing a game that I joined while in-progress, that gave me a character that I didn’t want I stuck around until the room cleared and my preferences finally kicked in and got the class I wanted and selected my Character.

      After running around the map. My character fell through the map(glitched completely out of the map) not only did I have to wait for my character to die but had to wait for the dropship. Needless to say my team didn’t win the match.

      Then next game I get a different Class from the bottom of my preferences.

      I am not going to jump through the hoops just to complete characters.

      I had glitched out in the beta before but nothing like this. Plus the random graphical glitches where the shawdows appear on top of the level.

      It just needs a patch quickly.

      but until then will definitely play more stable games that i can progress without jumping through hoops and possibly being reset.

      Good thing there’s plenty of co-op.

      When Left 4 Dead was a mess I had no choice but to play it, but right now there are plenty games.

      Done with further beta testing the retail version 🙈

  7. Herandar permalink
    February 16, 2015 8:12 am

    I think it’s a state of mind thing. If you are focusing on the unlocks, then it could be frustrating since you can’t reliably play who you want with other players. The fact that the most vocal resident fan of the endless Destiny grind is upset with the grind I find to be mildly amusing.

    To me, the unlocks are afterthoughts and the gameplay is everything. Had a couple of extremely non-aggressive stealth Goliath matches last night that were enlighteningly refreshing. He would hide in bushes and let us walk past him, literally within feet in some cases. If we did not have Daisy, we never would have found him. Makes me want to play as the monster.

  8. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    February 18, 2015 9:27 am

    Yep I agree it’s a state of mind. I don’t find the gameplay to be the complete substitute for progression and a way to avoid frustration with all the areas of the game that is lacking, not by a long shot since this is in many ways just a unlocked version of the Beta.

    Silly me for expecing to play the character class I put down as preference.

    I would love to play monsters too, you know when was the only time I got to play them in multiplayer? When I didn’t want to play them and put them down as a bottom preference.

    Now what does my Destiny grind have to do with anything? If they didn’t let me play the character I wanted to progress with or reset my stats, then maybe you have a point. But none are the case. So what exactly is your point?

    That grinding Destiny a lot should put a foot in my mouth compared to Evolve?

    I don’t think it should for what I already mentioned. Gameplay much less would absolve the game after 30 hours. Just play it, get past the “Honeymoon Phase” and revisit this point months from now.

    If after that mark you still enjoy playing russian roulette with character preferences, and the gameplay still feels interesting. Hey then by all means more power to you.

    Me, I would much rather max out every character I can whenever I go back to playing so that hopefully I can run the multiplayer regularly, and be able to carry more weight if needed thanks to the extra bonuses.

    Also the other thing is I want to stay competitive in other games, while learning strategy and grinding this game is only great for playing Evolve, it does very little in the way of sharpening skills in other games. It wastes the time already spent elsewhere.

  9. Herandar permalink
    February 19, 2015 9:15 am

    My point was that you obviously don’t mind grinding in games. No more and no less.

    I haven’t played a single round of the completed game without being in a party, and nearly all of those rounds have had a party of at least four players. I’ve never been forced to play a class I didn’t want to. That luxury will undoubtedly disappear over time.

    “since this is in many ways just a unlocked version of the Beta.” Should the beta not be representative of the final game product?

  10. February 19, 2015 5:17 pm

    I will conceded this, the matchmaking preferences for party-less matchmaking is completely pooched. Unfortunately, TRS has too much on their plate with the bugs, to even start looking more seriously at the “features” that don’t work.

    Herandar, agreed, play with friends. We have a big enough crew that most of the time last weekend, there were two fully-populated rooms going. And before the weekend, I played two evenings in a row with Frenik last week and I thought we had a blast ( I think he did, too, but don’t tell him that) 😉

    For sheer hours of time put into games, Frenik is the hardest of core in this bunch. And that is saying one heck of a lot considering we have Mr. C (aka The Blankman) in our raggedy bunch. Frenik is seldom wrong, but often grows temporarily weary of a game before I have even scratched its surface. In one week, he will have played a new game more than I will in two months of weekends.

    Frenik, we look forward to partying up with you once the game is patched. Herandar, I will almost certainly play with you again this weekend, though I will be getting on late both nights.

  11. Blankman permalink*
    February 22, 2015 5:43 pm

    Terrible birthday present in having your progress reset from twenty-three back to one, Suns. 😦 Very unfortunate that I sent that game invite to you. It’s kind of instinctual to just hold on the controller jewel button as it’s intended to work. If you didn’t love this game so much, I know you would have bailed on it already. Kudos for your Zen approach, brutha.

    • February 23, 2015 5:49 am

      You are correct. If the game had been a single player campaign, that would have been the end of it. Never again.

      For Evolve, however, the “Defend” mode is so entertaining (especially when trying to get good at a new character), and so quick to progress us, that “grinding” doesn’t feel at all like grinding. In fact, leveling up makes the mode richer. There is going to be a certain “stillness” about reaching level 40 and not having any new stuff unlock anymore.

      Thank you for helping me hit level 10 in about 3 hours of gaming, by the way!

      Lots of fun!

      And digging deeper in the strats:

      http://www.reddit.com/r/EvolveGame/comments/2wunxp/support_and_trapper_team_up/

    • February 23, 2015 9:10 am

      If they don’t come up with a higher level cap, they should come up with “something”. At least a prestige type system (similar to Titanfall), and maybe give some “boosts” for each prestige. Perhaps a 1% increase on certain abilities for each prestige level.

      Gamers are kids at heart, and all kids need “candy”.

Comments are closed.

